Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5278 (Misses' Jacket w/ Shawl Collar) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1726 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/07 5:14 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
I like it in the WM muslin! TOO CUTE! Yours looks so much better than the envelope
1/3/07 5:25 PM
Nicoal said...
This is gorgeous--although I'm short-waisted as well, so I'm going to take your advice and just admire it!
1/3/07 5:31 PM
Marji said...
well, it's very cute on the hanger
1/3/07 5:52 PM
kkkkaty said...
It's very pretty, and I love the fabric. I think perhaps you bought the wrong pattern size, though. A 10/12 in RTW (which I also am) is a 14/16 in pattern sizes for the big four pattern companies. That may have caused your fitting problem... great job on the jacket and picking the fabric!
1/3/07 6:10 PM
Lori V said...
I like your jacket, I will have to pick that pattern up at the next Joann's sale.
1/3/07 7:03 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous jacket. Thanks for an excellent review and I have noted the tip re the shotness to waist. Enjoy wearing it, I'll bet it looks wonderful on :)))
1/3/07 7:46 PM
Sharon M said...
Oooo, this is cute! I like the peplum and the collar. Too bad you don't like the way it looks on you. Maybe you just need to get used to silhouette of the jacket if you've never worn anything like that before. It sure is cute on the hanger :-)
1/3/07 8:01 PM
Lhan said...
Aha! I have looked long and hard at this pattern to decide whether I like it or not - your version is much more enticing than the pattern picture. Do post a picture of you in it! You might be surprised at the comments, and it is SOOO helpful to we readers. kkkkaty might well be right - I use size 14 in the big 4 patterns, but I wear 10 in US rtw - I thought that they might use pattern sizing specific for different countries, because I wear 14 in rtw here in Australia as well - ditto in NZ and the UK. Not sure now. In the right size, it might well look a lot better on you. I remember my mother wearing a coat with a big collar just like this - in a hideous shade of mushroom mind you, but it was cuddly!
1/3/07 8:32 PM
coloreyec said...
Now that is too cute. I can see it with a mid calf pencil skirt and a large brooch or flower on the collar.
1/3/07 8:34 PM
said...
Very Pretty.
1/3/07 8:38 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for your helpful and motivational comments! Please see plea below the conclusion.
1/3/07 10:09 PM
Marji said...
under "knowledge base" up top is a wealth of information. The stitch you will want to use is called a "fell stitch" and the technique is illustrated here, although you won't see the stitches if they are done properly, ie, inserting the needle back down into the 1st layer directly under the previous stitch. I think they are so visible in the illustration just to show where they go. Have fun with it. You've done a great job already.
1/3/07 10:16 PM
KarmenG said...
Love the look. You did a great job. Thanks for the inspiration. I have a piece in my stash is screaming to be this jacket! I also vote Yes - please post a picture with you modeling ; ) I bet it looks better than you think.
1/3/07 11:11 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Beautifully made jacket, love the style. there's a BWOF pattern with similar collar and no peplum that i plan to make, may be better for us short waisted people!
1/3/07 11:18 PM
Erica B. said...
What an adorable jacket. This is one of those patterns that I flipped by. Yours is so cute, I may have to look again.
1/3/07 11:37 PM
pterion said...
This is absolutely darling. I love the styling of this pattern and houndstooth was a perfect fabric choice.
1/4/07 0:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket. Love the fabric choice.
1/4/07 5:35 AM
LBJ said...
I love it! I have been eyeing this pattern. Thanks for the review and I like yours tons better than the Marc Jacobs!
1/4/07 9:54 AM
krystalkaes said...
I love the jacket! I also am short waisted and abundant in posterior so I also will take your advice and admire the work you have done and stay away from this particular pattern. Thank you for the review. Good job.
1/4/07 10:01 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Kkkkaty's observation that you try a larger size is right on: I'm 5'2" , wear a size 10RTW and sew size 14. The design of this jacket is fabulous and I think shorties like us could carry it off in a solid colour. I'd recommend finding some delicious fabric and going for it again. It'll be easier and faster the second time around.
1/4/07 10:28 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Nice job, and better than the envelope! Try bagging the lining to insert te linin all by machine, and use a reference book like JFRP or Connie Long's linings book.
1/4/07 1:08 PM
OP Gal said...
Cute design, and I love that houndstooth. It's so "in" now. Thanks for the review.
1/4/07 2:02 PM
Nancywin said...
Yours looks much nicer than the pattern envelope. I think it looks really sharp! Nice job.
1/7/07 1:17 AM
HenriettenDK said...
I can't tell you how much I like this!
2/7/07 9:13 AM
nicegirl said...
Don't know how I missed this when you first posted! Saw it in the Fabric Stash contest gallery and had to tell you how cute it is. I adore a peplum and a shawl collar. I'm sure you look better in it that you think.
2/12/07 0:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Burda 6912 Dresses
photo
Review by Cant Decid... on 4/5/14
Read Review

McCalls 5550 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )
McCalls 5550 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9780
photo
Review by KarmenG on 3/9/07
Read Review

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us