SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> Paris Promenade Dress261 (Paris Promenade Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1823 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/07 7:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
miausiau said...
I have one of these and if you tie it in the front and back instead of the sides you get a fabulous 20's flapper effect. I too have the older version, and it has 2 sets of attached sashes.
8/8/12 6:05 PM
Alison Cummins said...
Ann, I would love to see your dress, but your flickr links seem to be gone. Would it be possible to update again?
4/5/10 10:07 PM
mmcp said...
Just a note about the part at the top--if you made this dress many years ago, you probably made the orginal pattern which was produced under license from the Met. Museum. At some point Folkwear went under or something, and Taunton bought them--I don't remember the whole saga, but they lost the permissions for the Met dresses. They altered this pattern just enough to say it wasn't the same. It was not improved.
7/9/09 6:37 PM
orodwen said...
Thanks for the review. I am wondering if you could update the photo links since they no longer work? Also, I have gained weight since buying this pattern and that is why I am curious about how it appears. Again, thanks!
2/19/08 1:07 PM
missy d said...
Thank you so much for digging this one out! I have the pattern and I'm thrilled to see one made.
1/7/07 4:58 PM
Sharon M said...
I always loved that Folkwear pattern but never got around to sewing it up. It is a lovely version that you made, I can see why you kept it. Beautiful use of the fabric.
1/6/07 12:57 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a cool dress! Great canvas for your fabric.
1/6/07 10:42 AM
cecelia said...
Ann, I think the dress is beautiful. I too will give you my address if you want to get rid of it!
1/6/07 10:27 AM
carolynw said...
Much as you may think it is not flattering with the extra weight I have to disagree - it looks fine. The fabric is beautiful so maybe if you really don't want to wear the dress now you can re-cycle? If my geography is right you do have pretty warm summers so this would be a cool thing to wear then? Anyway Ann if you really don't want it I will send you my address and pay postage too LOL. Nice to have this review.
1/6/07 10:15 AM
blue mooney said...
I'm so glad you posted this! I'd love to see other people's adventures with Folkwear - then maybe I'd make some of my patterns up! Hang on to this one - you may still have occasion to wear it, and it still looks nice.
1/6/07 7:42 AM
Enid E said...
well, Ann, I think it still looks quite lovely on you. I think I would love this dress and would feel comfortable wearing it.
1/5/07 10:55 PM
PhyllisC said...
I like it Ann - it's a great summer beach dress.
1/5/07 9:35 PM
Lhan said...
I really like this! I am always a sucker for dramatic fabrics, and I think this is a great use of it. You could easily have made it today, even though large dresses are not strictly fashionable. I think touran's idea of an evening beach style is perfect. It would suit Sydney at the moment, in the rayon you used. Thanks for the review Ann - always a pleasure to read yours.
1/5/07 9:23 PM
AMarie said...
I've been wanting to sew this dress for a long time. If I ever get to it, I'll post my pics. Thanks for sharing your pictures of the finished product.
1/5/07 9:07 PM
touran said...
Thank you so much for bringing this out. I think it'd be a perfect dress for a beach lifestyle, in the evenings. It's still very pretty on you.
1/5/07 8:41 PM
Susan R said...
Well, I think this looks great on you! Love the fabric.
1/5/07 8:16 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Thanks for posting this, Ann. I wonder if there is anything you can do to cut it back and salvage the fabric?
1/5/07 7:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Other Clean Slate pant/short

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
Sure-Fit Designs Children\'s Kit

photo
by: sew4grands

Review
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Buy Now