SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Saf-T-Pockets> 9600 (Journey Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1617 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/02 11:24 PM
Last Updated:12/6/02 0:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terry McCormick said...
Can't tell you how much I appreciate this review! I bought this pattern about 5 years ago (!) and have never quite gotten around to it - I think I'm going to get it out and do something serious with it thanks to you. I have seen this jacket in a quilt store in Seattle seriously embelllished - and it looks stunning - perfect style for fabric manipulations of many sorts - Your coat is very elegant looking - could be worn so many places and very practical.
12/14/02 2:27 AM
Barbara LeDucq said...
Margaret, would you elaborate on the interfacing tip for hems on heavy coat fabrics under tips/techniques some day? Beautiful coat (I've been jealous of the inside pockets in men's coats also) and a great review. Thanks for sharing. Barbara
12/7/02 1:09 PM
MissCelie said...
I think this coat is so nice! The drape at the top is wonderful.
12/6/02 4:55 PM
Femme said...
Thank you for the detailed review; it's very helpful to me because I've been thinking about trying this pattern line. And your coat turned out beautifully!
12/6/02 10:19 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Margaret, you have made yourself a very beautiful coat.
12/6/02 4:30 AM
Margaret said...
... btw, thanks for the nice comments, everyone.
12/6/02 2:34 AM
Margaret said...
Yes, I expect it would be less stovepipe-y in drapey fabric; mine was somewhere between suit and coat weight with some drape but not really as much as the pattern wants. Also, a drapey, self-lined coat (for example) is going to be significantly less work than this wool one was, and would mean the unlined sleeves would make perfect sense, so I think I would recommend that idea over what I did for an easier (but likely less warm) coat.
12/6/02 2:33 AM
Cheryl Schwarz said...
Margaret, you wrote a very nice and detailed review. These are the kinds that are helpful. This coat made in a drapey fabric (saw and tried on one in ultrasuede light at a sewing expo) does not have a stovepipe look...cheryl
12/6/02 1:55 AM
Maria Hatfield said...
hey margaret, i think the coat looks very nice and its also different. give yourself a pat on the back for this one. its neat.
12/6/02 0:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Simplicity 2874

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

More Info
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

More Info