SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Saf-T-Pockets> 9600 (Journey Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1617 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/02 11:24 PM
Last Updated:12/6/02 0:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terry McCormick said... (12/14/02 2:27 AM) Reply
Can't tell you how much I appreciate this review! I bought this pattern about 5 years ago (!) and have never quite gotten around to it - I think I'm going to get it out and do something serious with it thanks to you. I have seen this jacket in a quilt store in Seattle seriously embelllished - and it looks stunning - perfect style for fabric manipulations of many sorts - Your coat is very elegant looking - could be worn so many places and very practical.
Barbara LeDucq said... (12/7/02 1:09 PM) Reply
Margaret, would you elaborate on the interfacing tip for hems on heavy coat fabrics under tips/techniques some day? Beautiful coat (I've been jealous of the inside pockets in men's coats also) and a great review. Thanks for sharing. Barbara
MissCelie said... (12/6/02 4:55 PM) Reply
I think this coat is so nice! The drape at the top is wonderful.
Femme said... (12/6/02 10:19 AM) Reply
Thank you for the detailed review; it's very helpful to me because I've been thinking about trying this pattern line. And your coat turned out beautifully!
Marita Kinnula said... (12/6/02 4:30 AM) Reply
Margaret, you have made yourself a very beautiful coat.
Margaret said... (12/6/02 2:34 AM) Reply
... btw, thanks for the nice comments, everyone.
Margaret said... (12/6/02 2:33 AM) Reply
Yes, I expect it would be less stovepipe-y in drapey fabric; mine was somewhere between suit and coat weight with some drape but not really as much as the pattern wants. Also, a drapey, self-lined coat (for example) is going to be significantly less work than this wool one was, and would mean the unlined sleeves would make perfect sense, so I think I would recommend that idea over what I did for an easier (but likely less warm) coat.
Cheryl Schwarz said... (12/6/02 1:55 AM) Reply
Margaret, you wrote a very nice and detailed review. These are the kinds that are helpful. This coat made in a drapey fabric (saw and tried on one in ultrasuede light at a sewing expo) does not have a stovepipe look...cheryl
Maria Hatfield said... (12/6/02 0:05 AM) Reply
hey margaret, i think the coat looks very nice and its also different. give yourself a pat on the back for this one. its neat.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Simplicity 1664

photo
by: sunflower2...

Review
McCall's 6793

photo
by: ChicagoCal...

Review
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Pattern Details