SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Saf-T-Pockets> 9600 (Journey Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1622 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews: 300 (patterns: 279)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 52 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/02 11:24 PM
Last Updated:12/6/02 0:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terry McCormick said... (12/14/02 2:27 AM) Reply
Can't tell you how much I appreciate this review! I bought this pattern about 5 years ago (!) and have never quite gotten around to it - I think I'm going to get it out and do something serious with it thanks to you. I have seen this jacket in a quilt store in Seattle seriously embelllished - and it looks stunning - perfect style for fabric manipulations of many sorts - Your coat is very elegant looking - could be worn so many places and very practical.
Barbara LeDucq said... (12/7/02 1:09 PM) Reply
Margaret, would you elaborate on the interfacing tip for hems on heavy coat fabrics under tips/techniques some day? Beautiful coat (I've been jealous of the inside pockets in men's coats also) and a great review. Thanks for sharing. Barbara
MissCelie said... (12/6/02 4:55 PM) Reply
I think this coat is so nice! The drape at the top is wonderful.
Femme said... (12/6/02 10:19 AM) Reply
Thank you for the detailed review; it's very helpful to me because I've been thinking about trying this pattern line. And your coat turned out beautifully!
Marita Kinnula said... (12/6/02 4:30 AM) Reply
Margaret, you have made yourself a very beautiful coat.
Margaret said... (12/6/02 2:34 AM) Reply
... btw, thanks for the nice comments, everyone.
Margaret said... (12/6/02 2:33 AM) Reply
Yes, I expect it would be less stovepipe-y in drapey fabric; mine was somewhere between suit and coat weight with some drape but not really as much as the pattern wants. Also, a drapey, self-lined coat (for example) is going to be significantly less work than this wool one was, and would mean the unlined sleeves would make perfect sense, so I think I would recommend that idea over what I did for an easier (but likely less warm) coat.
Cheryl Schwarz said... (12/6/02 1:55 AM) Reply
Margaret, you wrote a very nice and detailed review. These are the kinds that are helpful. This coat made in a drapey fabric (saw and tried on one in ultrasuede light at a sewing expo) does not have a stovepipe look...cheryl
Maria Hatfield said... (12/6/02 0:05 AM) Reply
hey margaret, i think the coat looks very nice and its also different. give yourself a pat on the back for this one. its neat.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Butterick 5997

photo
by: ButtonFait...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 100492-1046

photo
by: petro

Review
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Pattern Details