SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4076 (Misses' Knit Tops)

206 more reviews
Viewed 1711 times 
Reviewed by:krinn
photo

 
 
About krinnstar
NJ USA
Member since: 7/9/06
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:1/6/07 7:05 PM
Last Updated:1/6/07 7:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
coloreyec said...
That is a knockout of a knockoff!!!! Great use of pattern and fabric!!! And the good thing about the pattern in the back being slightly off center - it is enough off center that it seems like a design element. Great job!
1/6/07 7:30 PM
JuliaS said...
I think it came out cute, too! :)
1/6/07 7:46 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice top.
1/6/07 7:47 PM
cindy-lou said...
Sew Gorgeous! And you did a great job of lining everything up. How does it feel to make a $355 sweater??
1/6/07 8:19 PM
mastdenman said...
Great top. And it does pay to sew.
1/6/07 8:35 PM
Vonnevo said...
Totally Fabulous !!! A beautiful top and excellent review. Thank you for all the extra photos :))
1/6/07 8:36 PM
touran said...
This is an excellent knock-off. It looks very high-end and stylish.
1/6/07 8:56 PM
Puddin Pop said...
Are you sure you are an advanced beginner? That material couldn't have been easy to sew. It is beautiful.
1/6/07 10:27 PM
blue mooney said...
a real showpiece!
1/7/07 8:19 AM
Linda E. said...
A beautiful sweater.. excellent job on the details.
1/7/07 9:00 AM
AnneM said...
Neat. The back is enough off-center to look deliberate. And look how much money you saved over buying that sweater! :)
1/7/07 9:31 AM
Nata said...
It's gorgeous. Simply love it!
1/7/07 9:35 AM
carolynw said...
Looks lovely - thanks for the review - very timely as I am about to cut this out!
1/7/07 9:59 AM
OP Gal said...
I agree with the off-center pattern looking like a design element and the fact that you should pat yourself on the back for tackling such a complicated fabric. Not to mention all the design changes. Do not pass Go, go directly to Intermediate! :-)
1/7/07 2:19 PM
Dale C said...
Terrific knockoff. I saw this on Bluefly too and thought it'd be fun to try making. Where did you find the fabric? It's perfect for the design. What a savings you made!
1/7/07 3:49 PM
krinn said...
Thanks, everyone, for the kind compliments! The fabric actually wasnt that much harder to sew; I used the suggested stich for lace from Sandra Betzina's "More Fabric Saavy" - a really tiny zigzag stitch (1.5 mm long, .5 mm wide). The fabric did get caught in the machine, but only about 3 or 4 times - a lot less than I expected!
1/7/07 4:04 PM
krinn said...
Oh and Dale C, I bought the fabric at Rag Shop.
1/7/07 4:09 PM
Heatherrique said...
Beautiful!!!!!!
1/7/07 6:11 PM
nicegirl said...
Totally adore it!
1/8/07 9:52 AM
Markie1 said...
This is just flat-out beautiful. Great job on all counts--and yes, I like the "design feature" on ther back!
1/8/07 9:36 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Wowza..did this ever turn out beautiful. I much prefer your's over the original. Apparently, I have this pattern in my collection, thanks so much for reviewing it and bringing it to my attention.
1/9/07 1:08 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Lovely! And I LOVE this fabric! Where on earth did you find it?
1/11/07 1:41 AM
Marji said...
I like your top better than the CM original! It's so delicate looking. Nice job on the details too.
3/1/07 4:41 AM
Leora said...
Knockout sweater! I like yours better than the original :)
3/2/07 8:49 AM
taylormade said...
Your garment looks beautiful!
3/2/07 1:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1312

photo
by: JillyBe

Review
StyleArc Layla Dress

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Buy Now