SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4076 (Misses' Knit Tops)

203 more reviews
Viewed 1711 times 
Reviewed by:krinn
photo

 
 
About krinnstar
NJ USA
Member since: 7/9/06
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:1/6/07 7:05 PM
Last Updated:1/6/07 7:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
taylormade said...
Your garment looks beautiful!
3/2/07 1:40 PM
Leora said...
Knockout sweater! I like yours better than the original :)
3/2/07 8:49 AM
Marji said...
I like your top better than the CM original! It's so delicate looking. Nice job on the details too.
3/1/07 4:41 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Lovely! And I LOVE this fabric! Where on earth did you find it?
1/11/07 1:41 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Wowza..did this ever turn out beautiful. I much prefer your's over the original. Apparently, I have this pattern in my collection, thanks so much for reviewing it and bringing it to my attention.
1/9/07 1:08 PM
Markie1 said...
This is just flat-out beautiful. Great job on all counts--and yes, I like the "design feature" on ther back!
1/8/07 9:36 PM
nicegirl said...
Totally adore it!
1/8/07 9:52 AM
Heatherrique said...
Beautiful!!!!!!
1/7/07 6:11 PM
krinn said...
Oh and Dale C, I bought the fabric at Rag Shop.
1/7/07 4:09 PM
krinn said...
Thanks, everyone, for the kind compliments! The fabric actually wasnt that much harder to sew; I used the suggested stich for lace from Sandra Betzina's "More Fabric Saavy" - a really tiny zigzag stitch (1.5 mm long, .5 mm wide). The fabric did get caught in the machine, but only about 3 or 4 times - a lot less than I expected!
1/7/07 4:04 PM
Dale C said...
Terrific knockoff. I saw this on Bluefly too and thought it'd be fun to try making. Where did you find the fabric? It's perfect for the design. What a savings you made!
1/7/07 3:49 PM
OP Gal said...
I agree with the off-center pattern looking like a design element and the fact that you should pat yourself on the back for tackling such a complicated fabric. Not to mention all the design changes. Do not pass Go, go directly to Intermediate! :-)
1/7/07 2:19 PM
carolynw said...
Looks lovely - thanks for the review - very timely as I am about to cut this out!
1/7/07 9:59 AM
Nata said...
It's gorgeous. Simply love it!
1/7/07 9:35 AM
AnneM said...
Neat. The back is enough off-center to look deliberate. And look how much money you saved over buying that sweater! :)
1/7/07 9:31 AM
Linda E. said...
A beautiful sweater.. excellent job on the details.
1/7/07 9:00 AM
blue mooney said...
a real showpiece!
1/7/07 8:19 AM
Puddin Pop said...
Are you sure you are an advanced beginner? That material couldn't have been easy to sew. It is beautiful.
1/6/07 10:27 PM
touran said...
This is an excellent knock-off. It looks very high-end and stylish.
1/6/07 8:56 PM
Vonnevo said...
Totally Fabulous !!! A beautiful top and excellent review. Thank you for all the extra photos :))
1/6/07 8:36 PM
mastdenman said...
Great top. And it does pay to sew.
1/6/07 8:35 PM
cindy-lou said...
Sew Gorgeous! And you did a great job of lining everything up. How does it feel to make a $355 sweater??
1/6/07 8:19 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice top.
1/6/07 7:47 PM
JuliaS said...
I think it came out cute, too! :)
1/6/07 7:46 PM
coloreyec said...
That is a knockout of a knockoff!!!! Great use of pattern and fabric!!! And the good thing about the pattern in the back being slightly off center - it is enough off center that it seems like a design element. Great job!
1/6/07 7:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Jalie 2920

photo
by: Lucy in Vi...

Review

Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

More Info