Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2006-121 (Sheath Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1040 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/07 1:42 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Skye said...
thanks for the review - really nice dress and cute fabric. I agree about the LBD
1/14/07 2:11 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very cute dress and useful information about using fusible tape to draw in the armholes and neckline. You really should post that in a tip -- it's a great idea.
1/14/07 2:16 PM
Diane E said...
Barbara, what a pretty dress! Love the fabric. I'll have to give this pattern another look. It's in a magazine pile somewhere........
1/14/07 2:25 PM
blue mooney said...
You're all ready for summer! Nice to see a review of this dress; it was one of my favorites in that issue.Good tip on the seam tape, too.
1/14/07 2:41 PM
sewbehind said...
Barbara, that is a beautiful dress. Looks lovely on you. About that stabilizing fusible tape, could you make your own with Steam a Seam light and cut it on the bias? The ready made stuff is not available to us here in the Great White North. I haven't been able to find it. I know it is available online, but I have the Steam a Seam on hand.
1/14/07 3:18 PM
lmg said...
Very nice. I like the tip about the fusible tape. I made this dress but did not get around to reviewing it. Burda has released the other view as an envelope pattern #7954
1/14/07 3:20 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very cute dress. With the freakish weather we've been having, you may not have to go to warmer climes to wear it, either!
1/14/07 3:23 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
So glad to see this made up and so beautifully! Loved it in the BWOF--the curved lines make me smile. :-) Thanks for all the construction details--I always learn from your reviews.
1/14/07 3:33 PM
jnamcd said...
Great dress--and I loved the tip on the fusible seam tape and the "cupping"--awesome! I'm going to have to give it a try sometime! Thanks for the great review! Amy
1/14/07 4:12 PM
JDpenelope said...
Ohhhh! Summer! Lovely dress and great tips. Seeing your Burda pattern made up really motivates me to give this one a whirl.
1/14/07 4:17 PM
drsue said...
That dress is lovely! I can't beleive you can wear it in PA!!!! It's 50 degrees here in my "warm climate" neighborhood. I may have to visit the east coast to get away from the cold.
1/14/07 5:56 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous ! I have always liked this pattern and glad to see it so beautifully made.
1/14/07 7:08 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks so much for your kind comments! Drsue, I should have written that I made this to wear on an upcoming warm climate trip. I was shivering this morning while wearing it outside here in Pennsylvania. But it is warmer here today than it is in California, for sure! Sewbehind, I would not recommend using the steam a seam -- instead, you could stabilize the edges the 'old fashioned' way. Just use a strip of self fabric, cut on the straight of grain, or the bias, depending on the stability you're after. Baste it into the seam line first, then sew the seam right on top of the stabilizer.
1/14/07 7:09 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Thank you for the tip on dispensing with drawing in the neckline and sleeves. I made this dress last year and loved it so much I got fabric to make another this year and will try the tip on that one.
1/15/07 3:34 AM
Skymom said...
Ahh! It makes me happy just to look at this dress. I love the fabric and the pattern, and it all looks wonderful on you. HOpe you have fun wearing it on your trip to the warm place.
1/15/07 10:23 AM
edube said...
I bought this same fabric and it is aging in my stash for this spring. It's very inspiring to see it made up, especially in your beautiful dress! Thanks for the tips too.
1/15/07 1:53 PM
Jane S said...
Beautiful dress on you . Yes, it would be perfect LBD.
1/15/07 3:44 PM
Lisette said...
I am about to work on this pattern and remembered that you had lined your version . You used silk charmeuse with cotton lycra, do you wash by hand or do you dry clean?
5/28/07 2:12 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Lisette, I will dry clean this dress. The main reason is I don't want to destroy the structure. The silk is actually prewashed by hand. And I machine pre-washed the cotton lycra.
5/29/07 9:39 AM
Lisette said...
Thanks for the info!
5/29/07 12:51 PM
Meredith P said...
Thank you for the very helpful review. I loved this dress in the mag, and I'm glad to see it made up. Yours turned out beautifully. Any special tips on getting your band to match when inserting the invisible zipper. Yours look so nice! I'm putting this one on my list for *next* summer.
7/28/07 8:34 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks, Meredith. To get the seam points at the zipper to match, I sewed in one side permanently. THen, I basted the other side, made small adjustments to alignment, then sewed it in permanently. The basting was the key! Good luck.
7/29/07 3:21 PM
Meredith P said...
Thanks, Barbara!
8/1/07 10:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Self Drafted Pattern 12379-1007
photo
Review by Annette1 on 9/30/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3674 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3674 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2836 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2836 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9853
photo
Review by Ronda Rae on 11/24/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Wonder Wallet
Wonder Wallet

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us