Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Master Pattern Book: Bold Bags - Mod Bag (Mod Bag) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 2120 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/07 4:38 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancia said...
Your bag is fabulous! Looks very professional. Love the colour.
1/17/07 5:11 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Oh, wow! Your bag looks fabulous. I live near the Leisure Arts Co. Great idea to use the moc-croc sheets. I had not seen them before.
1/17/07 5:16 PM
Debbie Cook said...
That is one cool little bag! I love the zipper placement -- it makes a great accent.
1/17/07 5:21 PM
Peggy L said...
Great bag! I had never heard of these sheets before.
1/17/07 5:28 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Deepika, you sewed it "last night"? Cool! Is it ever a nice purse!!
1/17/07 5:56 PM
j222b said...
I like this cute bag. Tell me about the handles, though--did you make them? buy them somewhere? etc...
1/17/07 6:01 PM
PVA said...
Very professional look! Thanks for this review, Deepika. I think the bag is darling! I love that it's from a book with designs by the Lazy Girls designer -- I'm a *big* fan!
1/17/07 6:11 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Wow. I haven't been interested in sewing my own bags, but with that mock crock and no lining or interfacing, I'm now more than interested. Thanks for the infor about this wonderful stuff.
1/17/07 6:16 PM
kim*brown said...
Great color and style for fall! Love it, very professionally made! And yeah....no fear of zippers, just hate them, but like you're finished product, they are usually worth the hassle. :0)
1/17/07 6:31 PM
Lhan said...
Wow! This is great! There seems to be a run on bags on PR lately - this book is a great tip. Thanks Deepika.
1/17/07 6:39 PM
Sharon M said...
This is really cute! I've been reading about the book on the Lazy Girls designer's blog and have been considering purchasing the book. I think your bag and helpful hints just sealed the deal.
1/17/07 6:59 PM
Tany said...
Lovely bag!
1/17/07 7:22 PM
ChoctawCharli said...
I really like to make purses but was hesitating about getting this book. This review pushed me over the edge. Get it I shall!
1/17/07 7:22 PM
drsue said...
great job! Very professional looking.
1/17/07 7:34 PM
Avril said...
Better than store bought! I love it.
1/17/07 8:04 PM
JDpenelope said...
Oh Man! Now here's something *else* I want to do. You make it sound so easy, but I think you're modest about your own skills. Still, the faux croc sheets are something I *must* have and this pattern looks like a winner.
1/17/07 8:31 PM
Ody said...
I make bags!! I must have this pattern!! That purse is gorgeous! Love it! love it!
1/17/07 11:14 PM
AnitaJ said...
What a nice looking little bag! I really like that vertical zipper and I think I'm going to have to try out those mock croc sheets. Thanks for all the info.
1/18/07 0:33 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Thanks for sharing information about this resource. Neat idea.
1/18/07 5:30 AM
Jacqui315 said...
Great looking bag and I LOVE the red moc croc!
1/18/07 10:09 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautiful - Just Beautiful. Another job well done - this looks so professional and like you paid hundreds for it. Good tips too.
1/18/07 11:30 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Love it!! Hope my moc croc bag turns out even remotely as cute as yours!
1/18/07 1:01 PM
Joan Hawley said...
Deepika, Your Mod Bag is fabulous in the burgundy croc. I love it! Here's a link to Leisure Arts with pictures of all seven bags in the book: http://tinyurl.com/ynt3ea Great job!
1/18/07 2:18 PM
Deepika said...
tessiesgal I am so jealous. You live near Leisure Arts. Take a look at some of their other leaflets as well. They seem pretty cool. j222b I updated my review and added some info about the handles. Another Leisure arts product. These sheets are not cheap, ($3.99 for a letter size sheet) but it's totally worth it. penelope, you'll be surprized at how easy this bag really is. I am not kidding! Leslie I am pretty sure that your bag will be WAY cuter than mine. Can't wait to see what colors you use. They have so many nice colors, deciding which one to use was the hardest. Joan thanks! I really enjoyed making this bag. I have the wristlet ready to be sewn on my cutting table.

Thanks everyone for such nice comments! It really made my day.
1/19/07 8:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

You Sew Girl BO830 Mod Bag
photo
Review by MrsBeckins... on 12/29/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2011-104 Net top
photo
Review by KatC83 on 1/23/12
Read Review

Burda 8186 Pattern
Burda 8186 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5830 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
Butterick 5830 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us