SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Great Copy> 2420 (Bristol Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 934 times 
Reviewed by:BeckyC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BeckyCstar
MN USA
Member since: 5/8/04
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/07 8:58 AM
Last Updated:1/18/07 8:58 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
I have a sort of rectangle top with a slightly peary hip and I have learnt to avoid boxy styles too. Maybe you can reuse the collar shape on a more shaped jacket body to get a look you would like.
1/18/07 9:16 AM
kkkkaty said...
I have the same fitting issues, and I think I need to do a major closet purge! I came across a clothing line by TravelSmith called "Seam Slimmer", and bought one of their jackets. It really lives up to it's name, a bit longer, nice flattering cut and seam placement. I asked for advise on this site (boards)about patterns with similar characteristics, and was directed to one, but I think it's construction might be beyong my skills. If you are interested, though, you might search for "travelsmith" on the boards.
1/18/07 9:53 AM
kkkkaty said...
Fashion Sewing Group 1945. It does look quite similar to the TravelSmith jacket.
1/18/07 10:00 AM
j222b said...
I really like this jacket & I like it on you. How about a black zipper in the front or frogs....I know what you mean about the boxy look, though, I feel the same-I'm going to search for the Travelsmith, as kkkaty suggests.
1/18/07 1:19 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Very good review, Becky. Thanks
1/18/07 2:24 PM
BeckyC said...
Thank you for all your kind words and suggestions for my jacket. kkkkaty I love the slimming lines of FSG jacket! Thanks for bringing it to my attention. For those interested, here is the website where you can see the jacket: http://members.tripod.com/NE_fashionsewing/1945jacket.html Thanks marylynn -- good to see you around again!
1/18/07 2:33 PM
SarahWeb said...
Thanks for this review. I am the same way--I like curves rather than a boxy silhouette. But sometimes a boxy style can be a very functional and comfortable piece, and I really think it looks good on you. I especially like the color.
1/18/07 2:40 PM
ryan's mom said...
I know it's not your fave, but I sure think it looks great! Wonderful fabric too!
1/18/07 7:41 PM
PattyGee said...
Thanks for the great review. I think it looks really nice on you, but I understand about boxy - family genes you know. Can't wait to see what else your sewing up.
1/19/07 0:05 AM
OP Gal said...
Sorry the pattern didn't work for you. I love the fabric. Thanks for the review.
1/19/07 1:18 PM
AnneM said...
Boxy jackets can be very useful for a casual occasion. Your jacket certainly looks nice, even if not the best style for you.
4/11/07 4:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sew Liberated Fleece Hoodie

photo
by: Lucy in Vi...

Review
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
ModKid Patterns Julia

photo
by: DeJa Chic

Review