SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Great Copy> 2420 (Bristol Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 943 times 
Reviewed by:BeckyC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BeckyCstar
MN USA
Member since: 5/8/04
Reviews: 35 (patterns: 27)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/07 8:58 AM
Last Updated:1/18/07 8:58 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said... (4/11/07 4:51 PM) Reply
Boxy jackets can be very useful for a casual occasion. Your jacket certainly looks nice, even if not the best style for you.
OP Gal said... (1/19/07 1:18 PM) Reply
Sorry the pattern didn't work for you. I love the fabric. Thanks for the review.
PattyGee said... (1/19/07 0:05 AM) Reply
Thanks for the great review. I think it looks really nice on you, but I understand about boxy - family genes you know. Can't wait to see what else your sewing up.
ryan's mom said... (1/18/07 7:41 PM) Reply
I know it's not your fave, but I sure think it looks great! Wonderful fabric too!
SarahWeb said... (1/18/07 2:40 PM) Reply
Thanks for this review. I am the same way--I like curves rather than a boxy silhouette. But sometimes a boxy style can be a very functional and comfortable piece, and I really think it looks good on you. I especially like the color.
BeckyC said... (1/18/07 2:33 PM) Reply
Thank you for all your kind words and suggestions for my jacket. kkkkaty I love the slimming lines of FSG jacket! Thanks for bringing it to my attention. For those interested, here is the website where you can see the jacket: http://members.tripod.com/NE_fashionsewing/1945jacket.html Thanks marylynn -- good to see you around again!
MaryLynn in Long Beach said... (1/18/07 2:24 PM) Reply
Very good review, Becky. Thanks
j222b said... (1/18/07 1:19 PM) Reply
I really like this jacket & I like it on you. How about a black zipper in the front or frogs....I know what you mean about the boxy look, though, I feel the same-I'm going to search for the Travelsmith, as kkkaty suggests.
kkkkaty said... (1/18/07 10:00 AM) Reply
Fashion Sewing Group 1945. It does look quite similar to the TravelSmith jacket.
kkkkaty said... (1/18/07 9:53 AM) Reply
I have the same fitting issues, and I think I need to do a major closet purge! I came across a clothing line by TravelSmith called "Seam Slimmer", and bought one of their jackets. It really lives up to it's name, a bit longer, nice flattering cut and seam placement. I asked for advise on this site (boards)about patterns with similar characteristics, and was directed to one, but I think it's construction might be beyong my skills. If you are interested, though, you might search for "travelsmith" on the boards.
RuthieSews said... (1/18/07 9:16 AM) Reply
I have a sort of rectangle top with a slightly peary hip and I have learnt to avoid boxy styles too. Maybe you can reuse the collar shape on a more shaped jacket body to get a look you would like.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Serendipity Studio Sew Serendipity Bag (book

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Folkwear 207

photo
by: rohien

Review
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details