SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Great Copy> 2420 (Bristol Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 933 times 
Reviewed by:BeckyC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BeckyCstar
MN USA
Member since: 5/8/04
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/07 8:58 AM
Last Updated:1/18/07 8:58 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
I have a sort of rectangle top with a slightly peary hip and I have learnt to avoid boxy styles too. Maybe you can reuse the collar shape on a more shaped jacket body to get a look you would like.
1/18/07 9:16 AM
kkkkaty said...
I have the same fitting issues, and I think I need to do a major closet purge! I came across a clothing line by TravelSmith called "Seam Slimmer", and bought one of their jackets. It really lives up to it's name, a bit longer, nice flattering cut and seam placement. I asked for advise on this site (boards)about patterns with similar characteristics, and was directed to one, but I think it's construction might be beyong my skills. If you are interested, though, you might search for "travelsmith" on the boards.
1/18/07 9:53 AM
kkkkaty said...
Fashion Sewing Group 1945. It does look quite similar to the TravelSmith jacket.
1/18/07 10:00 AM
j222b said...
I really like this jacket & I like it on you. How about a black zipper in the front or frogs....I know what you mean about the boxy look, though, I feel the same-I'm going to search for the Travelsmith, as kkkaty suggests.
1/18/07 1:19 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Very good review, Becky. Thanks
1/18/07 2:24 PM
BeckyC said...
Thank you for all your kind words and suggestions for my jacket. kkkkaty I love the slimming lines of FSG jacket! Thanks for bringing it to my attention. For those interested, here is the website where you can see the jacket: http://members.tripod.com/NE_fashionsewing/1945jacket.html Thanks marylynn -- good to see you around again!
1/18/07 2:33 PM
SarahWeb said...
Thanks for this review. I am the same way--I like curves rather than a boxy silhouette. But sometimes a boxy style can be a very functional and comfortable piece, and I really think it looks good on you. I especially like the color.
1/18/07 2:40 PM
ryan's mom said...
I know it's not your fave, but I sure think it looks great! Wonderful fabric too!
1/18/07 7:41 PM
PattyGee said...
Thanks for the great review. I think it looks really nice on you, but I understand about boxy - family genes you know. Can't wait to see what else your sewing up.
1/19/07 0:05 AM
OP Gal said...
Sorry the pattern didn't work for you. I love the fabric. Thanks for the review.
1/19/07 1:18 PM
AnneM said...
Boxy jackets can be very useful for a casual occasion. Your jacket certainly looks nice, even if not the best style for you.
4/11/07 4:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

McCall's 6599

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5782

photo
by: InbalSN

Review