Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2007-109 (Shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1255 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 144
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
patterns reviewed: 139
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/07 11:29 AM
Last Updated:4/14/08 3:40 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Wow, that neckline treatment does look a little tricky, so thanks for all the pictures. This is a very attractive and different looking top.
1/21/07 12:06 PM
Lynngray said...
Great review. Thanks for all the pictures also
1/21/07 12:07 PM
Nata said...
I love your color combinationation.
1/21/07 12:41 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Love it, great colours. Thanks for all the neckline tips.
1/21/07 12:46 PM
cecelia said...
Love it--it's so very different, and I like your colors you chose.
1/21/07 3:20 PM
Linda G said...
Sure glad that you put the details of the neckline on your pic site...Thanks. I like this top...the neckline looks somewhat low in the picture in the magazine did you adjust that at all?
1/21/07 4:00 PM
CherylStillSews said...
Thanks for the tips on the neckline - I was a bit worried it would be too low but your looks fine.
1/21/07 4:52 PM
SusiM said...
I was just looking at this pattern in the mag wondering how it would turn out. So thank you for taking the time to post the photos and the steps you took. It's wery helpful.
1/22/07 0:11 AM
Margie T said...
Excellent review. Your top looks better than the one in the magazine.
1/22/07 2:51 AM
Sigrid. said...
Thank you all for your compliments. And I did not change the neckline. I also was afraid that it might be too low, but when a had traced the pattern I thought it was high enough for me, which it is.
1/22/07 3:23 AM
jbrewer said...
This is a really cool top! I love the color combo.
1/22/07 7:23 AM
krystalkaes said...
Thank you for the extra pictures as this is one I was thinking of trying. I like the colors you chose.
1/22/07 9:59 AM
Patzee said...
What a helpful review! So glad you figured this out and are kind enough to share this!
1/22/07 1:02 PM
beangirl said...
Thank you so much for your photos of the neckline. I've been puzzling that over while reading in bed (WOF is my bedtime reading) and I could not figure it out! The photos are brilliant and your top looks great.
1/22/07 8:57 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Thank you for your detailed review. I am planning on making this top very soon. I think it looks very nice on you!
1/27/07 10:08 PM
tweedcurtain said...
Thanks for the update! Very helpful. What fun fabric you used this time!
4/14/08 3:32 PM
Nancy K said...
Love this top Sigrid! I want one too. I think that I will make my Ottobre t first before I make another knit from BWOF. The sleeves on this top fit so much better than the BWOF sleeve in your first review
4/14/08 3:59 PM
loohoo44 said...
I really like the shirring detail Sigrid!
4/14/08 4:00 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Fun top Sigrid!
4/14/08 7:55 PM
Heatherrique said...
Cool top, Sigrid! Great work as always!
4/14/08 9:39 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Fabulous top, Sigrid, in this fun and lovely fabric (I really love pink and orange together). Your use of lingerie elastic for the shirring technique was brilliant and instantly solved a problem I have waiting in my sewing room, where my shirring using elastic thread looks weak. I'll immediately replace with lingerie elastic, as the shirring on your lovely top is perfect. Thank you, Lily
4/15/08 1:33 PM
Mahler said...
Beautiful colors for spring (it must be tulip time in NL) ! Your review is very lively and well explained thank you. You made me smile with that part about you not reading your own reviews ;-). I also share with you the difficulty of sometimes rating patterns with the existing rating levels.
4/16/08 12:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Butterick 4290 T Shirt tops
photo
Review by Sandi S on 2/27/09
Read Review

Burda 9448 Pattern
Burda 9448 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )
Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3095 jacket
photo
Review by shard on 4/24/04
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us