SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Park Bench patterns> 8 (Central Park)

4 more reviews
Viewed 636 times 
Reviewed by:cecelia
photo

 
 
About ceceliastar
CT USA
Member since: 5/4/06
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/07 2:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moushka said...
Very pretty jacket. I've been curious about these patterns. Nice to see another review. Sue
1/21/07 10:36 PM
Peggy L said...
Nice jacket - fabric is really pretty. I have never tried one of these patterns but they always catch my eye.
1/21/07 11:16 PM
carolynw said...
I love the colors of this - have looked at Park Bench patterns but never tried them. Nice to see a review - your top looks very nice.
1/22/07 9:14 AM
10Ksteps said...
Nice job; I have several of these patterns and love Park Bench fashion shows where Mary Lou shows these garments in a wonderful array of fabrics. Thanks for the good review and a good example of the jacket.
1/22/07 12:35 PM
suzanrossi said...
I like this a lot. The fastener is a lovely touch.
1/24/07 11:25 PM
SueKing said...
Hi Cecilia - after reading your review, I wonder if you would share with me how to make your own shoulder pads? I have just finished a Loes Hinse jacket which calls for store-bought shoulder pads. I want something not so big. The pattern has a piece to cover the store pads - woud I use this? but what do you make them out of and does it have to be shaped/curved? thanks, SueKing (satwater@gmail.com)
1/26/07 3:05 PM
cecelia said...
Sue, I modified the technique done by Nancy Zieman in her book, "Sewing Express," where you draw the shape/size of the shoulder pad desired, use fusible interfacing (top & bottom) and fusible fleece layers (to the thickness desired) shaped & fused over a pressing ham. Then zigzag/serge the outer edges together, cover with your fabric, & tack it into the garment. You could also use velcro to make a removable pad. I used 2 layers of fusible fleece, but you could use more or less. If you need more info, PM me. Hope this helps!
1/27/07 10:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Buy Now