SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Park Bench patterns> 8 (Central Park)

4 more reviews
Viewed 637 times 
Reviewed by:cecelia
photo

 
 
About ceceliastar
CT USA
Member since: 5/4/06
Reviews: 60 (patterns: 52)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/07 2:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cecelia said... (1/27/07 10:55 AM) Reply
Sue, I modified the technique done by Nancy Zieman in her book, "Sewing Express," where you draw the shape/size of the shoulder pad desired, use fusible interfacing (top & bottom) and fusible fleece layers (to the thickness desired) shaped & fused over a pressing ham. Then zigzag/serge the outer edges together, cover with your fabric, & tack it into the garment. You could also use velcro to make a removable pad. I used 2 layers of fusible fleece, but you could use more or less. If you need more info, PM me. Hope this helps!
SueKing said... (1/26/07 3:05 PM) Reply
Hi Cecilia - after reading your review, I wonder if you would share with me how to make your own shoulder pads? I have just finished a Loes Hinse jacket which calls for store-bought shoulder pads. I want something not so big. The pattern has a piece to cover the store pads - woud I use this? but what do you make them out of and does it have to be shaped/curved? thanks, SueKing (satwater@gmail.com)
suzanrossi said... (1/24/07 11:25 PM) Reply
I like this a lot. The fastener is a lovely touch.
10Ksteps said... (1/22/07 12:35 PM) Reply
Nice job; I have several of these patterns and love Park Bench fashion shows where Mary Lou shows these garments in a wonderful array of fabrics. Thanks for the good review and a good example of the jacket.
carolynw said... (1/22/07 9:14 AM) Reply
I love the colors of this - have looked at Park Bench patterns but never tried them. Nice to see a review - your top looks very nice.
Peggy L said... (1/21/07 11:16 PM) Reply
Nice jacket - fabric is really pretty. I have never tried one of these patterns but they always catch my eye.
moushka said... (1/21/07 10:36 PM) Reply
Very pretty jacket. I've been curious about these patterns. Nice to see another review. Sue
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: Steph huck

Review
New Look 6130

photo
by: Jessica De...

Review
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Pattern Details