Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Fashion Sewing Group: 1963 (Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1112 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 267
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/07 6:01 PM
Last Updated:1/21/07 7:24 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda G said...
Great looking coat. Your construction looks really good!
1/21/07 6:08 PM
Tiner W said...
Oh, that is beautiful!
1/21/07 6:28 PM
leigh7911 said...
The thumbnail looks great, but I can't see most of the bigger pictures! I think you've got an extra http// in the urls. ... And there they are! Wow, very nice.
1/21/07 6:30 PM
Seaspur said...
What a gorgeous coat!
1/21/07 6:34 PM
Tany said...
Gorgeous coat, I love the fabric too!
1/21/07 7:07 PM
Nancywin said...
Thanks Leigh - I got that fixed.
1/21/07 7:26 PM
blue mooney said...
super job matching the fabric pattern. You should be proud!
1/21/07 7:30 PM
mistrydesigns said...
Wow, that is a really pretty coat!
1/21/07 7:40 PM
coloreyec said...
Beautiful coat. Great fabric and the matching of the pattern makes the coat look better than a RTW one. Good job.
1/21/07 7:42 PM
AliceB said...
Wonderful coat... for a first project you did an amazing job. I am VERY IMPRESSED with your pattern matching in the front..WOW!!
1/21/07 7:48 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous
1/21/07 8:00 PM
Sewliz said...
I love it! I admired this fabric at Fabricmartfabrics.com and the buttons caught my eye at Joanns. Your coat is really beautiful.
1/21/07 8:11 PM
Motorposus said...
Very neat fabric, and a great job on that coat. You've even had some cold weather to go along with it!
1/21/07 8:14 PM
suzanrossi said...
Wow! I think you matched the fronts perfectly - just HOW do you do that?
1/21/07 8:51 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great job on your first coat. Everything looks just perfect -- the matching, the pockets, the fit. Very impressive.
1/21/07 9:00 PM
Nancywin said...
I was really careful in trying to match the fabric, but had no idea if it would work. I made two copies of the front pattern piece and laid it out on a single layer of fabric. I had marked the center front line on the pattern and found recognizable shapes that I could place on that line. I moved over to the repeat on the other half of the fabric and placed the center line on the same shapes. It worked!
1/21/07 9:39 PM
CarolynD said...
Fabulous coat-you matched the design of the fabric so well. It is spectacular.
1/21/07 11:02 PM
Peggy L said...
Beatiful job, Nancy!!!
1/21/07 11:06 PM
nicegirl said...
Gorgeous!!!! I can't believe you got the pattern to match up at the front. Just fantastic.
1/21/07 11:19 PM
Marji said...
your pattern matching on the CF is so good I had to look twice and then again to make sure there was an opening and buttons. Congratulations on your first coat, it looks great.
1/22/07 0:18 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Your coat is gorgeous, beautiful fabric and pattern matching. I wonder though whether the buttons could have been spaced to fit in with the pattern somehow?
1/22/07 6:03 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Gorgeous coat, great job matching center front designs.
1/22/07 6:52 AM
MarilynB said...
Nancy, your coat is lovely. You did a wonderful job of matching the design on the fabric. I made this coat four years ago and am still wearing it. It is very timeless.
1/22/07 6:57 AM
moss said...
That is awesome, I made a coat of this fabric too and I love to see someone else's interpretation. You did a FANTASTIC job on the pattern matching!!
1/22/07 7:54 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful coat - you did a wonderful job on this.
1/22/07 9:00 AM
Jane S said...
What a fantastic coat! ANd you did a wonderful job using that amazing Fabric Mart fabric to make something very special.
1/22/07 9:13 AM
krystalkaes said...
I love your coat! Congratulations on your beautiful welt pocket. Wonderful job.
1/22/07 10:18 AM
joan said...
Beautiful coat and I agree with others complimenting you on your perfect matching the fabric pattern. I am also a FSG enthusiast and I will be looking forward to more reviews of her patterns from you.
1/22/07 10:51 AM
Pinkytoo said...
YOU STOLE MY FABRIC! I just ordered this same fabric online for a coat I'm doing for the RTW Knock-Off contest - I'm glad to see it is as nice as it looked! Great job! p.s. My coat is not going to look like yours so don't worry. :-)
1/22/07 11:31 AM
Karen said...
Excellent matching of the print. Well done!
1/22/07 11:49 AM
Avril said...
Great! Love the fabric.
1/22/07 12:18 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Love your coat and am very impressed with the matching of pattern. Can't believe this is your first coat: very professional looking and super-attractive.
1/22/07 12:21 PM
Laurie Lou said...
All I can say is ditto to an excellent job. I love the pattern, the fabric selection and WOW what a beautiful example of professional workmanship. AND thanks for the website info.
1/22/07 1:55 PM
JudyP said...
Your coat is beautiful!!! I also have this fabric and now I'm anxious to sew it!
1/23/07 9:27 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
What a fantastic coat. The beautifully matched front reminds of the wonderful stuff I used to see when snoop shopping at Harrod's in London. You did a wonderful job. I would never have guessed it was your first coat!
1/23/07 3:49 PM
xstpenguin said...
MY first coat did NOT look like this ;-D Like everyone else has said, fabulous job on the pattern matching. The whole thing looks just great. Well done!
2/27/07 3:41 AM
PattyU said...
Beautiful! I love the fabric. You did a great job!
3/12/07 5:05 PM
nyla 49 said...
I've made this coat also, but have to say I am very impressed with how you matched the pattern of the fabric at the front. Bravo!
1/16/09 7:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Other 4565 Vintage Dress
photo
Review by Sickofitci... on 11/2/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9491 Pattern
Burda 9491 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7969
photo
Review by Secretsuga... on 1/24/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us