SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Fashion Sewing Group> 1963 (Coat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1119 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 273
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 229
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/07 6:01 PM
Last Updated:1/21/07 7:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda G said...
Great looking coat. Your construction looks really good!
1/21/07 6:08 PM
Tiner W said...
Oh, that is beautiful!
1/21/07 6:28 PM
leigh7911 said...
The thumbnail looks great, but I can't see most of the bigger pictures! I think you've got an extra http// in the urls. ... And there they are! Wow, very nice.
1/21/07 6:30 PM
Seaspur said...
What a gorgeous coat!
1/21/07 6:34 PM
Tany said...
Gorgeous coat, I love the fabric too!
1/21/07 7:07 PM
Nancywin said...
Thanks Leigh - I got that fixed.
1/21/07 7:26 PM
blue mooney said...
super job matching the fabric pattern. You should be proud!
1/21/07 7:30 PM
mistrydesigns said...
Wow, that is a really pretty coat!
1/21/07 7:40 PM
coloreyec said...
Beautiful coat. Great fabric and the matching of the pattern makes the coat look better than a RTW one. Good job.
1/21/07 7:42 PM
AliceB said...
Wonderful coat... for a first project you did an amazing job. I am VERY IMPRESSED with your pattern matching in the front..WOW!!
1/21/07 7:48 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous
1/21/07 8:00 PM
Sewliz said...
I love it! I admired this fabric at Fabricmartfabrics.com and the buttons caught my eye at Joanns. Your coat is really beautiful.
1/21/07 8:11 PM
Motorposus said...
Very neat fabric, and a great job on that coat. You've even had some cold weather to go along with it!
1/21/07 8:14 PM
suzanrossi said...
Wow! I think you matched the fronts perfectly - just HOW do you do that?
1/21/07 8:51 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great job on your first coat. Everything looks just perfect -- the matching, the pockets, the fit. Very impressive.
1/21/07 9:00 PM
Nancywin said...
I was really careful in trying to match the fabric, but had no idea if it would work. I made two copies of the front pattern piece and laid it out on a single layer of fabric. I had marked the center front line on the pattern and found recognizable shapes that I could place on that line. I moved over to the repeat on the other half of the fabric and placed the center line on the same shapes. It worked!
1/21/07 9:39 PM
CarolynD said...
Fabulous coat-you matched the design of the fabric so well. It is spectacular.
1/21/07 11:02 PM
Peggy L said...
Beatiful job, Nancy!!!
1/21/07 11:06 PM
nicegirl said...
Gorgeous!!!! I can't believe you got the pattern to match up at the front. Just fantastic.
1/21/07 11:19 PM
Marji said...
your pattern matching on the CF is so good I had to look twice and then again to make sure there was an opening and buttons. Congratulations on your first coat, it looks great.
1/22/07 0:18 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Your coat is gorgeous, beautiful fabric and pattern matching. I wonder though whether the buttons could have been spaced to fit in with the pattern somehow?
1/22/07 6:03 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Gorgeous coat, great job matching center front designs.
1/22/07 6:52 AM
MarilynB said...
Nancy, your coat is lovely. You did a wonderful job of matching the design on the fabric. I made this coat four years ago and am still wearing it. It is very timeless.
1/22/07 6:57 AM
moss said...
That is awesome, I made a coat of this fabric too and I love to see someone else's interpretation. You did a FANTASTIC job on the pattern matching!!
1/22/07 7:54 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful coat - you did a wonderful job on this.
1/22/07 9:00 AM
Jane S said...
What a fantastic coat! ANd you did a wonderful job using that amazing Fabric Mart fabric to make something very special.
1/22/07 9:13 AM
krystalkaes said...
I love your coat! Congratulations on your beautiful welt pocket. Wonderful job.
1/22/07 10:18 AM
joan said...
Beautiful coat and I agree with others complimenting you on your perfect matching the fabric pattern. I am also a FSG enthusiast and I will be looking forward to more reviews of her patterns from you.
1/22/07 10:51 AM
Pinkytoo said...
YOU STOLE MY FABRIC! I just ordered this same fabric online for a coat I'm doing for the RTW Knock-Off contest - I'm glad to see it is as nice as it looked! Great job! p.s. My coat is not going to look like yours so don't worry. :-)
1/22/07 11:31 AM
Karen said...
Excellent matching of the print. Well done!
1/22/07 11:49 AM
Avril said...
Great! Love the fabric.
1/22/07 12:18 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Love your coat and am very impressed with the matching of pattern. Can't believe this is your first coat: very professional looking and super-attractive.
1/22/07 12:21 PM
Laurie Lou said...
All I can say is ditto to an excellent job. I love the pattern, the fabric selection and WOW what a beautiful example of professional workmanship. AND thanks for the website info.
1/22/07 1:55 PM
JudyP said...
Your coat is beautiful!!! I also have this fabric and now I'm anxious to sew it!
1/23/07 9:27 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
What a fantastic coat. The beautifully matched front reminds of the wonderful stuff I used to see when snoop shopping at Harrod's in London. You did a wonderful job. I would never have guessed it was your first coat!
1/23/07 3:49 PM
xstpenguin said...
MY first coat did NOT look like this ;-D Like everyone else has said, fabulous job on the pattern matching. The whole thing looks just great. Well done!
2/27/07 3:41 AM
PattyU said...
Beautiful! I love the fabric. You did a great job!
3/12/07 5:05 PM
nyla 49 said...
I've made this coat also, but have to say I am very impressed with how you matched the pattern of the fabric at the front. Bravo!
1/16/09 7:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Vogue Patterns 2561

photo
by: lauramae

Review
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now