Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5203 (Cowl Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1029 times 40 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/07 1:54 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
Sometimes patterns just won't work out, so it's better to get rid of it and move on. Life is too short to waste time on something you're not really going to like-and then you have an excuse to buy new patterns:).
1/24/07 1:58 PM
cecelia said...
Peggy, I think the "dropped shoulders" in this pattern don't help us shorties. Yours looks better than mine did though!
1/24/07 2:03 PM
giblet said...
I really like the creative license solution to the shortened sleeves. That's a nice touch.
1/24/07 2:15 PM
Re Becca said...
Wow, you are on a roll! I think that it looks good on your neck, and I like the ribs in the knit.
1/24/07 2:35 PM
Peggy L said...
Well, it does cover up the "turkey neck" but I really don't like the "50s and pregnant" look!
1/24/07 2:38 PM
beangirl said...
I like it, but I know what you mean about patterns you just don't like to wear. Oh well, it looks good-- someone will sure appreciate it in the Goodwill box!
1/24/07 2:50 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Peggy, your figure is *so* much cuter than that top shows. Excellent item for donation!
1/24/07 3:19 PM
carolynw said...
hat's toobad Peggy - I actually like the way it looks around your neck but do understand - sometimes you just don't feel "good" in what you have sewn and so it's best to donate.
1/24/07 5:10 PM
j222b said...
I love the neck on you. Your sleeve cuff design is very good- I will keep this idea for other ls t-shirts. I do not like the length, though--maybe shorten the top & add the shortened area back as a rib at the waist? I think this pattern is worth fiddling with. Really. Also it would look good under a jacket or sweater.
1/24/07 5:55 PM
ayin said...
One more person who thinks it looks nice on you.
1/24/07 7:09 PM
BettyMike said...
I really like the cowl neck, but I agree with Leslie, your figure is too cute for this top!
1/24/07 9:20 PM
Em's Summer said...
I think it looks fine and I agree with those who think this neckline looks really nice on you. You might change your mind about the style if you try it in a print. Something fresh, maybe a mod-ish paisley print that's not too big, but not too small, either.
1/24/07 10:34 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Peggy, I didn't like this pattern as it was designed either. I shortened the cowl and too length off the top. I really didn't like the very wide hem and removed it. It just added bulk, which I suspect is what you don't like. In fact, chop the bottom off this top and recut the neckline and I'm sure you'll love it. Don't get rid of it as it fits nicely through the body and bust. Also, I'm finding the "Magic Wardrobe" really works. Things I didn't like at first are much better once they've been in the closet a while.
1/24/07 11:40 PM
Liane M said...
I agree with everything you said. I made this up in slinky and didn't use the cowl, just made it a jewel neck. I like mine very much after I made the changes. I have not made is again though, so maybe you're right to move on. I think the CJ BaseWear Two could be made into this top and would probably give you better fit and you could make it with a cowl and lengthen it. Just rambling on after a long day....
1/24/07 11:50 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Peggy, I love that cowl neckline on you! I think it looks too big as you look down, both in the sleeves and around the tummy. I'd be tempted to take in the side seams and wear it under a coat. The neckline and colour really suit you.
1/25/07 3:58 AM
FloraNature said...
Hi Peggy, I notice that the sleeves and hemline are on the same level horizontally, which makes you appear wider at the hips. Perhaps you could make bracelet length sleeves, or shorten the hemline for a better appearance. Best wishes, Nicky
1/25/07 4:49 AM
JDpenelope said...
I'm with those who think your top doesn't look That Bad, but "That Bad" is not what you are striving for! IMHO, it is too long, something we shorties need to avoid in tops, if you listen to the WNTW folks. I don't like to great big cowl necklines, either but this one doesn't look objectionable to me. Still, you know what feels right.
1/25/07 6:55 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I don't know that it's such a bad look. I actually like the neck on you. While I like your cuff, if this was my top I'd try shortening the sleeves to 3/4 - I think that might look more balanced.
1/25/07 7:06 AM
Peggy L said...
Thanks, everyone for all your pointers.
1/25/07 7:17 AM
NancyDaQ said...
My first impression was that this was a nice looking top on you. Sorry you don't care for it.
1/25/07 8:37 AM
blue mooney said...
Peggy, maybe you'd like it better if it were shorter? I actually think the neckline looks pretty nice on you.
1/25/07 1:08 PM
Ody said...
You are really putting out the tops in this contest. Sorry you don't like this one for you. Save it for when you paint the house.
1/27/07 0:25 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Good attempt, and could ultimately make someone who IS pregnant very happy! :-) P.S. The Goodwill guy now recognizes my car when I drive up, thanks to all my sewing "donations"!
1/30/07 10:41 AM
PegL said...
Sorry I'm late to the show...I like the collar on you very much! It's very flattering! I agree with others that making the sleeves shorter and taking in the sides at the bottom might make you change your mind!
1/30/07 7:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2150 Misses Jackets
photo
Review by seeshellse... on 10/27/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs 0041 The Tee
photo
Review by Fox51 on 3/22/14
Read Review

New Look 6480 Pattern
New Look 6480 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5733 Pattern ( Size One Size )
Butterick 5733 Pattern ( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us