SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6843 

Viewed 2161 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 352
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 287 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/02 3:30 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
I can see why your husband loves them. They look really comfortable, and you did a wonderful job matching the plaid on the front. Don't worry about the non-matching side seams; you'd never be able to buy a pair of these with matched plaids at the side, so you did a great job of copying ready-to-wear!
1/4/02 9:55 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I agree about the plaids. It looks good from the front anyway. My husband wants some of these too. I think you are beyond the beginner stage now.
1/4/02 10:28 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great job! They look far better than any RTW. For pants like these I would just overlap the side seams to eliminate any matching. Just like a pair of no-side seams.
1/4/02 11:57 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the encouragement all of you ! Gigi, I would have made the no seam pants too but I wanted to put side pockets, which would not have been possible then. And Mini I am still a beginner, there are so many things which I can't do still. You guys are pros, compared to you all I am nothing :-)
1/4/02 2:10 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika_P Great pants - I made several of these last year for sonss and hubby. Good looking and great quality flannel is hard to find. I didn't put pockets in mmine so maybe I could use Gigi's great idea of on side seam. Now I just have to find the pattern.
1/5/02 12:38 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
There will ALWAYS be something you don't feel you can do or do as well as other people. That doesn't mean you will ALWAYS be a beginner.
1/15/02 1:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, you are NOT a beginner anymore. Just look at all of the things you've made in less than a year. Plus you try new techniques regularly and you make fitting adjustments. ---- Those pants do look comfy.
7/14/02 6:41 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks mudcat, I have made three pairs so far and I just got another request from my brother in law so I guess I will be making another pair very soon. I am also thinking of making shorts from this pattern. Isnt it amazing how simple patterns like this can give you such great results. If only I had a serger, I would be able to make these in half the time. very soon very soon...
7/14/02 7:07 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now