Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 6843 - Type:Mens    printable version
Viewed 2160 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/02 3:30 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
I can see why your husband loves them. They look really comfortable, and you did a wonderful job matching the plaid on the front. Don't worry about the non-matching side seams; you'd never be able to buy a pair of these with matched plaids at the side, so you did a great job of copying ready-to-wear!
1/4/02 9:55 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I agree about the plaids. It looks good from the front anyway. My husband wants some of these too. I think you are beyond the beginner stage now.
1/4/02 10:28 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great job! They look far better than any RTW. For pants like these I would just overlap the side seams to eliminate any matching. Just like a pair of no-side seams.
1/4/02 11:57 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the encouragement all of you ! Gigi, I would have made the no seam pants too but I wanted to put side pockets, which would not have been possible then. And Mini I am still a beginner, there are so many things which I can't do still. You guys are pros, compared to you all I am nothing :-)
1/4/02 2:10 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika_P Great pants - I made several of these last year for sonss and hubby. Good looking and great quality flannel is hard to find. I didn't put pockets in mmine so maybe I could use Gigi's great idea of on side seam. Now I just have to find the pattern.
1/5/02 12:38 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
There will ALWAYS be something you don't feel you can do or do as well as other people. That doesn't mean you will ALWAYS be a beginner.
1/15/02 1:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, you are NOT a beginner anymore. Just look at all of the things you've made in less than a year. Plus you try new techniques regularly and you make fitting adjustments. ---- Those pants do look comfy.
7/14/02 6:41 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks mudcat, I have made three pairs so far and I just got another request from my brother in law so I guess I will be making another pair very soon. I am also thinking of making shorts from this pattern. Isnt it amazing how simple patterns like this can give you such great results. If only I had a serger, I would be able to make these in half the time. very soon very soon...
7/14/02 7:07 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

New Look 6160
photo
Review by Latricia on 10/22/03
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6844
photo
Review by Sheila457 on 2/9/14
Read Review

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 2931 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2931 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2801 Pattern
Jalie 2801 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us