Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4281 (MIsses' Jackets) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 854 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/07 9:15 AM
Last Updated:1/27/07 8:41 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Very cute jacket. It looks great on you, what a surprise to see my jacket linked in your review, thanks. It is a nice looking pattern.
1/27/07 9:26 AM
Nancywin said...
Your jacket is very flattering on you. I love your lining fabrics! The button treatment in the front is very stylish
1/27/07 10:26 AM
DoggyGirl said...
Okay, here's another one I have to go buy. This looks really nice on you. I love the fact that you've used colorful lining fabric - to me it's like a fun inside joke (pun definitely intended!).
1/27/07 10:43 AM
Elemenopeo said...
This looks really great on you.
1/27/07 11:54 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Very cute. However I think the back bunching, and the front bunching around the armhole, are both due to not having shoulder pads. You can't really omit them without adjusting the pattern, unless you have naturally square shoulders, the extra in the armhole height just does strange things when it collapses. Try pinning in a small one to see?

Also, do you have enough seams allowance in there that you can just let things out a bit around the waist? You can always take it in later if you really decide to live without cookies (although I personally fail to see how that'd be possible..). And meanwhile you'd be more comfortable :-). Sounds like you have a wee bit of room in the darts too. Even 1/8" in each of these would give you some ease, and 1/4" would be perfect. I don't think binding the front seam alone would do much, although it's a good idea. Don't you hate it when you go back to the pattern picture and see that your precise problem is there and you didn't notice??
1/27/07 1:02 PM

Heatherrique said...
Thank you fuzzygalore for the tips!
1/27/07 3:40 PM
FloraNature said...
I love this jacket!!! Thank you for the review - very helpful!
1/27/07 6:11 PM
AnneM said...
Love your buttons. Nice style; once again I like seeing it made up more than the pattern pictures.
2/1/07 12:31 PM
Ody said...
Great review and very interesting details. I think this jacket has great potential and the style is definitely right for you! I love the contrast in the subdued outer fabric and the wow knock em dead lining. That shows you have refined sophisticated taste, but aren't afraid to get out there and smack'em in the face with it. Actually, that is what French women are very good at with their clothes so you are on the right track.
2/7/07 1:14 AM
LiZ said...
Very nice jacket, I love the buttons
2/7/07 5:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

HotPatterns 1047
photo
Review by Debra H on 7/27/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 2718
photo
Review by lelliebunn... on 7/15/13
Read Review

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1292 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1292 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1427 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1427 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us