SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4281 (MIsses' Jackets)

1 more reviews
Viewed 859 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/07 9:15 AM
Last Updated:1/27/07 8:41 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Very cute jacket. It looks great on you, what a surprise to see my jacket linked in your review, thanks. It is a nice looking pattern.
1/27/07 9:26 AM
Nancywin said...
Your jacket is very flattering on you. I love your lining fabrics! The button treatment in the front is very stylish
1/27/07 10:26 AM
DoggyGirl said...
Okay, here's another one I have to go buy. This looks really nice on you. I love the fact that you've used colorful lining fabric - to me it's like a fun inside joke (pun definitely intended!).
1/27/07 10:43 AM
Elemenopeo said...
This looks really great on you.
1/27/07 11:54 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Very cute. However I think the back bunching, and the front bunching around the armhole, are both due to not having shoulder pads. You can't really omit them without adjusting the pattern, unless you have naturally square shoulders, the extra in the armhole height just does strange things when it collapses. Try pinning in a small one to see?

Also, do you have enough seams allowance in there that you can just let things out a bit around the waist? You can always take it in later if you really decide to live without cookies (although I personally fail to see how that'd be possible..). And meanwhile you'd be more comfortable :-). Sounds like you have a wee bit of room in the darts too. Even 1/8" in each of these would give you some ease, and 1/4" would be perfect. I don't think binding the front seam alone would do much, although it's a good idea. Don't you hate it when you go back to the pattern picture and see that your precise problem is there and you didn't notice??
1/27/07 1:02 PM

Heatherrique said...
Thank you fuzzygalore for the tips!
1/27/07 3:40 PM
FloraNature said...
I love this jacket!!! Thank you for the review - very helpful!
1/27/07 6:11 PM
AnneM said...
Love your buttons. Nice style; once again I like seeing it made up more than the pattern pictures.
2/1/07 12:31 PM
Ody said...
Great review and very interesting details. I think this jacket has great potential and the style is definitely right for you! I love the contrast in the subdued outer fabric and the wow knock em dead lining. That shows you have refined sophisticated taste, but aren't afraid to get out there and smack'em in the face with it. Actually, that is what French women are very good at with their clothes so you are on the right track.
2/7/07 1:14 AM
LiZ said...
Very nice jacket, I love the buttons
2/7/07 5:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Butterick 5185

photo
by: mochimo

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now