SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4281 (MIsses' Jackets)

1 more reviews
Viewed 867 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews: 302 (patterns: 302)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/07 9:15 AM
Last Updated:1/27/07 8:41 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LiZ said... (2/7/07 5:36 PM) Reply
Very nice jacket, I love the buttons
Ody said... (2/7/07 1:14 AM) Reply
Great review and very interesting details. I think this jacket has great potential and the style is definitely right for you! I love the contrast in the subdued outer fabric and the wow knock em dead lining. That shows you have refined sophisticated taste, but aren't afraid to get out there and smack'em in the face with it. Actually, that is what French women are very good at with their clothes so you are on the right track.
AnneM said... (2/1/07 12:31 PM) Reply
Love your buttons. Nice style; once again I like seeing it made up more than the pattern pictures.
FloraNature said... (1/27/07 6:11 PM) Reply
I love this jacket!!! Thank you for the review - very helpful!
Heatherrique said... (1/27/07 3:40 PM) Reply
Thank you fuzzygalore for the tips!
fuzzygalore said... (1/27/07 1:02 PM) Reply
Very cute. However I think the back bunching, and the front bunching around the armhole, are both due to not having shoulder pads. You can't really omit them without adjusting the pattern, unless you have naturally square shoulders, the extra in the armhole height just does strange things when it collapses. Try pinning in a small one to see?

Also, do you have enough seams allowance in there that you can just let things out a bit around the waist? You can always take it in later if you really decide to live without cookies (although I personally fail to see how that'd be possible..). And meanwhile you'd be more comfortable :-). Sounds like you have a wee bit of room in the darts too. Even 1/8" in each of these would give you some ease, and 1/4" would be perfect. I don't think binding the front seam alone would do much, although it's a good idea. Don't you hate it when you go back to the pattern picture and see that your precise problem is there and you didn't notice??

Elemenopeo said... (1/27/07 11:54 AM) Reply
This looks really great on you.
DoggyGirl said... (1/27/07 10:43 AM) Reply
Okay, here's another one I have to go buy. This looks really nice on you. I love the fact that you've used colorful lining fabric - to me it's like a fun inside joke (pun definitely intended!).
Nancywin said... (1/27/07 10:26 AM) Reply
Your jacket is very flattering on you. I love your lining fabrics! The button treatment in the front is very stylish
Lori V said... (1/27/07 9:26 AM) Reply
Very cute jacket. It looks great on you, what a surprise to see my jacket linked in your review, thanks. It is a nice looking pattern.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

No Pattern Used 2013-7

photo
by: katlew03

Review
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Pattern Details