Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: OOP 5022 Blouse (1970s Misses' Disco Blouse) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 943 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/07 10:54 PM
Last Updated:1/31/07 11:27 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dancingrabbit said...
Awesome top! I love your style!
2/1/07 0:28 AM
Elona said...
These old styles, collar extremes and so on notwithstanding, had fitting details like darts and higher armholes that are coming back in again, thank goodness.
2/1/07 0:39 AM
KiwiWendy said...
love the style :D
2/1/07 0:50 AM
leigh7911 said...
What a great top, love the fabric!
2/1/07 2:27 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
I like the '70's styling on this shirt but I LOVE the lairy fabric! Have you had this pattern all this time or did you track it down online? Thanks for the excellent review, your format is very easy to read.
2/1/07 2:45 AM
Tany said...
Lovely!
2/1/07 3:28 AM
fuzzygalore said...
That is -so- cute! Your mom would be proud of you :-). I don't think I like the belt, it's not 70s enough, but the fabric is totally kick-ass, and the collar.. perfect!
2/1/07 6:18 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great blouse!!! That's the second "groovy" top I've seen this week :) . It looks great buttoned or unbuttoned.
2/1/07 6:44 AM
OP Gal said...
Really cute top. Your comment about the lack of interfacing rings true. When I started sewing, back in the dark ages, patterns gave no instructions to interface anything. Also, your daughter is adorable. Of course, I see where she gets her good looks. :-)
2/1/07 7:49 AM
cecelia said...
Wow--1972 doesn't seem that long ago--LOL--very cute top (& daughter). I particularly like it unbuttoned. You found a terrific print for the pattern.
2/1/07 8:11 AM
AnneM said...
That is a nice style that you could "tame" with different fabric or keep wild.
2/1/07 8:38 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
How cute - both the top and your daughter. Love what you've done with this. It looks wonderful on you.
2/1/07 9:23 AM
cindy-lou said...
My DH and I have a Disco Party every year-- you've inspired me to search out a groovy old pattern and create something great for this year! (your dd loves it too! So cute!)
2/1/07 9:58 AM
Mini said...
LOL Johanna Travolta! I think the 70's were the last decade when patterns actually were drafted to fit real figures. It looks like you found a great basic pattern that is just retro enough to be fun, but not so extreme you will feel silly wearing it. Groovy fabric too:).
2/1/07 10:12 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Great review: super-useful. Love your top and fabric, and of course, your last picture. Will your daughter be a sewer too?
2/1/07 10:37 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for the sweet comments, everyone! <>. I also enjoy reading your reviews of other patterns and admiring your interpretations of the patterns! In response to Helen (near Sydney)'s question, I purchased this about 2 months ago on e-bay auctions after some surfing for some fun looking fashions. Found some Marcia Brady looking fashions that have been reincarnated on the fashion runway. In response to Harriet Roger's question, my daughter rather go to Joann's than the toystore (Mommy, mommy, ("Are we going to Joann's?" "Can I choose some fabric?" "Let's buy that pattern....", etc..). She's into crafts, legos, and puzzles than playing with dolls!
2/1/07 3:40 PM
PhyllisC said...
That's the way a-huh a-huh...I like it a-huh a-huh...That's the way... what a great shirt! I love 70's looks; they are so much fun to wear.
2/1/07 6:54 PM
Em's Summer said...
That top is soo groovy!
2/2/07 7:37 AM
suzanrossi said...
I've gotta say - you have the look down pat. Your fabric is great.
2/2/07 9:18 AM
cathy45 said...
Love the top! Your choice of fabric makes it such a versatile piece. Great job--a good review.
2/3/07 9:33 AM
madhatter said...
cute blouse! :)
3/19/07 7:37 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great retro style! It looks terrific on you!! I love your links and check out that pattern price too! Sure wish patterns were $1 *all* the time. (Well...maybe not--too much in my stash anyway LOL.)
8/22/07 4:50 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Very cute! As soon as I read famous trio from the seventies, etc, I immediately thought Charlie's Angels. LOL Where do you get such great fabric?
8/22/07 7:02 AM
ChristineX said...
I love the collar! Great jacket blouse!
11/30/07 9:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Cake patterns 0144
photo
Review by thecurious... on 8/5/13
Read Review

McCalls 6062 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6062 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 70883-1002
photo
Review by jannw on 2/10/10
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us