SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> OOP 5022 Blouse (1970s Misses' Disco Blouse)

Viewed 943 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/07 10:54 PM
Last Updated:1/31/07 11:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dancingrabbit said...
Awesome top! I love your style!
2/1/07 0:28 AM
Elona said...
These old styles, collar extremes and so on notwithstanding, had fitting details like darts and higher armholes that are coming back in again, thank goodness.
2/1/07 0:39 AM
KiwiWendy said...
love the style :D
2/1/07 0:50 AM
leigh7911 said...
What a great top, love the fabric!
2/1/07 2:27 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
I like the '70's styling on this shirt but I LOVE the lairy fabric! Have you had this pattern all this time or did you track it down online? Thanks for the excellent review, your format is very easy to read.
2/1/07 2:45 AM
Tany said...
Lovely!
2/1/07 3:28 AM
fuzzygalore said...
That is -so- cute! Your mom would be proud of you :-). I don't think I like the belt, it's not 70s enough, but the fabric is totally kick-ass, and the collar.. perfect!
2/1/07 6:18 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great blouse!!! That's the second "groovy" top I've seen this week :) . It looks great buttoned or unbuttoned.
2/1/07 6:44 AM
OP Gal said...
Really cute top. Your comment about the lack of interfacing rings true. When I started sewing, back in the dark ages, patterns gave no instructions to interface anything. Also, your daughter is adorable. Of course, I see where she gets her good looks. :-)
2/1/07 7:49 AM
cecelia said...
Wow--1972 doesn't seem that long ago--LOL--very cute top (& daughter). I particularly like it unbuttoned. You found a terrific print for the pattern.
2/1/07 8:11 AM
AnneM said...
That is a nice style that you could "tame" with different fabric or keep wild.
2/1/07 8:38 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
How cute - both the top and your daughter. Love what you've done with this. It looks wonderful on you.
2/1/07 9:23 AM
cindy-lou said...
My DH and I have a Disco Party every year-- you've inspired me to search out a groovy old pattern and create something great for this year! (your dd loves it too! So cute!)
2/1/07 9:58 AM
Mini said...
LOL Johanna Travolta! I think the 70's were the last decade when patterns actually were drafted to fit real figures. It looks like you found a great basic pattern that is just retro enough to be fun, but not so extreme you will feel silly wearing it. Groovy fabric too:).
2/1/07 10:12 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Great review: super-useful. Love your top and fabric, and of course, your last picture. Will your daughter be a sewer too?
2/1/07 10:37 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for the sweet comments, everyone! <>. I also enjoy reading your reviews of other patterns and admiring your interpretations of the patterns! In response to Helen (near Sydney)'s question, I purchased this about 2 months ago on e-bay auctions after some surfing for some fun looking fashions. Found some Marcia Brady looking fashions that have been reincarnated on the fashion runway. In response to Harriet Roger's question, my daughter rather go to Joann's than the toystore (Mommy, mommy, ("Are we going to Joann's?" "Can I choose some fabric?" "Let's buy that pattern....", etc..). She's into crafts, legos, and puzzles than playing with dolls!
2/1/07 3:40 PM
PhyllisC said...
That's the way a-huh a-huh...I like it a-huh a-huh...That's the way... what a great shirt! I love 70's looks; they are so much fun to wear.
2/1/07 6:54 PM
Em's Summer said...
That top is soo groovy!
2/2/07 7:37 AM
suzanrossi said...
I've gotta say - you have the look down pat. Your fabric is great.
2/2/07 9:18 AM
cathy45 said...
Love the top! Your choice of fabric makes it such a versatile piece. Great job--a good review.
2/3/07 9:33 AM
madhatter said...
cute blouse! :)
3/19/07 7:37 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great retro style! It looks terrific on you!! I love your links and check out that pattern price too! Sure wish patterns were $1 *all* the time. (Well...maybe not--too much in my stash anyway LOL.)
8/22/07 4:50 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Very cute! As soon as I read famous trio from the seventies, etc, I immediately thought Charlie's Angels. LOL Where do you get such great fabric?
8/22/07 7:02 AM
ChristineX said...
I love the collar! Great jacket blouse!
11/30/07 9:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

The City Bag

The City Bag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now
Other 1830s Corset

photo
by: MCBurbage

Review