SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> OOP 5022 Blouse (1970s Misses' Disco Blouse)

Viewed 943 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/07 10:54 PM
Last Updated:1/31/07 11:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChristineX said...
I love the collar! Great jacket blouse!
11/30/07 9:56 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Very cute! As soon as I read famous trio from the seventies, etc, I immediately thought Charlie's Angels. LOL Where do you get such great fabric?
8/22/07 7:02 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great retro style! It looks terrific on you!! I love your links and check out that pattern price too! Sure wish patterns were $1 *all* the time. (Well...maybe not--too much in my stash anyway LOL.)
8/22/07 4:50 AM
madhatter said...
cute blouse! :)
3/19/07 7:37 AM
cathy45 said...
Love the top! Your choice of fabric makes it such a versatile piece. Great job--a good review.
2/3/07 9:33 AM
suzanrossi said...
I've gotta say - you have the look down pat. Your fabric is great.
2/2/07 9:18 AM
Em's Summer said...
That top is soo groovy!
2/2/07 7:37 AM
PhyllisC said...
That's the way a-huh a-huh...I like it a-huh a-huh...That's the way... what a great shirt! I love 70's looks; they are so much fun to wear.
2/1/07 6:54 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for the sweet comments, everyone! <>. I also enjoy reading your reviews of other patterns and admiring your interpretations of the patterns! In response to Helen (near Sydney)'s question, I purchased this about 2 months ago on e-bay auctions after some surfing for some fun looking fashions. Found some Marcia Brady looking fashions that have been reincarnated on the fashion runway. In response to Harriet Roger's question, my daughter rather go to Joann's than the toystore (Mommy, mommy, ("Are we going to Joann's?" "Can I choose some fabric?" "Let's buy that pattern....", etc..). She's into crafts, legos, and puzzles than playing with dolls!
2/1/07 3:40 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Great review: super-useful. Love your top and fabric, and of course, your last picture. Will your daughter be a sewer too?
2/1/07 10:37 AM
Mini said...
LOL Johanna Travolta! I think the 70's were the last decade when patterns actually were drafted to fit real figures. It looks like you found a great basic pattern that is just retro enough to be fun, but not so extreme you will feel silly wearing it. Groovy fabric too:).
2/1/07 10:12 AM
cindy-lou said...
My DH and I have a Disco Party every year-- you've inspired me to search out a groovy old pattern and create something great for this year! (your dd loves it too! So cute!)
2/1/07 9:58 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
How cute - both the top and your daughter. Love what you've done with this. It looks wonderful on you.
2/1/07 9:23 AM
AnneM said...
That is a nice style that you could "tame" with different fabric or keep wild.
2/1/07 8:38 AM
cecelia said...
Wow--1972 doesn't seem that long ago--LOL--very cute top (& daughter). I particularly like it unbuttoned. You found a terrific print for the pattern.
2/1/07 8:11 AM
OP Gal said...
Really cute top. Your comment about the lack of interfacing rings true. When I started sewing, back in the dark ages, patterns gave no instructions to interface anything. Also, your daughter is adorable. Of course, I see where she gets her good looks. :-)
2/1/07 7:49 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great blouse!!! That's the second "groovy" top I've seen this week :) . It looks great buttoned or unbuttoned.
2/1/07 6:44 AM
fuzzygalore said...
That is -so- cute! Your mom would be proud of you :-). I don't think I like the belt, it's not 70s enough, but the fabric is totally kick-ass, and the collar.. perfect!
2/1/07 6:18 AM
Tany said...
Lovely!
2/1/07 3:28 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
I like the '70's styling on this shirt but I LOVE the lairy fabric! Have you had this pattern all this time or did you track it down online? Thanks for the excellent review, your format is very easy to read.
2/1/07 2:45 AM
leigh7911 said...
What a great top, love the fabric!
2/1/07 2:27 AM
KiwiWendy said...
love the style :D
2/1/07 0:50 AM
Elona said...
These old styles, collar extremes and so on notwithstanding, had fitting details like darts and higher armholes that are coming back in again, thank goodness.
2/1/07 0:39 AM
dancingrabbit said...
Awesome top! I love your style!
2/1/07 0:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

McCall's 6249

photo
by: ladyithis

Review
Vogue Patterns 8323

photo
by: globalgran

Review
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

More Info