SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4023 (Misses'/Misses'Petite Shirt)

Viewed 820 times 
Reviewed by:Chris Kelly
photo

 
 
About Chris Kellystarstar
WA USA
Member since: 10/2/05
Reviews written: 122
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/07 6:18 PM
Last Updated:2/7/07 6:18 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Beautiful. The lace really makes it a special top.
2/19/07 10:25 AM
Chris Kelly said...
Up just what I did.
2/16/07 7:31 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Lovely. Interesting way of putting the insertion in the princess seam. At least I'm assuming you sewed the seam, pressed it open and then put the insertion on top, stitched, cut the seam away from behind the lace (which would basically be two layers- right?), and also cut the excess SA on either side of the insertion "header/pull threads" (after you most likely did a close zigzag to secure the lace? -it's hard to tell. I LOVE heirloom sewing, but I've never done anything for myself. This is definitely one to consider.
2/15/07 11:33 AM
LiZ said...
Your shirt is absolutely beautiful.
2/9/07 4:13 AM
Patzee said...
Thanks for all the photos. I've never seen heirloom sewing in progress, so this was a very interesting and informative review. I just love your blouse!
2/8/07 4:23 PM
OP Gal said...
Very pretty. I've done a little heirloom sewing myself--mostly nightgowns, and just love the look. I'll have to tackle a blouse sometime. You've inspired me!
2/8/07 2:05 PM
Levone said...
Lovely top....thanks for the step by step construction photos as well.
2/8/07 12:51 PM
Puddin Pop said...
Placing the lace over the seam and then cutting the seam out behind it is so cool!
2/8/07 12:42 PM
PVA said...
This is really lovely -- thanks for the review. I too haven't done any heirloom sewing in a long time. I've loved what I have done & still subscribe to Sew Beautiful. Hmmmmmmm. . . .
2/8/07 11:35 AM
Irene Q said...
Just beautiful! And I love how the lace insertion replaces the princess seam - might steal that idea sometime.
2/8/07 10:52 AM
Rhoda K said...
Just gorgeous! Ditto all the above!
2/8/07 10:31 AM
cecelia said...
Very pretty and feminine--and I didn't want an embroidery machine, dumb me!
2/8/07 10:16 AM
carolynw said...
Very beautiful - I love your work on this shirt - a real heirloom!!
2/8/07 9:18 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a very elegant and Victorian type top! Thanks for the instructions. I might have to try it! Great job!
2/8/07 8:12 AM
Tany said...
Thank you for a wonderful review!!
2/8/07 3:59 AM
Linda G said...
beautiful and nice review.
2/7/07 10:34 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful! I haven't done any heirloom sewing in a long time.
2/7/07 9:45 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Ooooo, Ahhh, pretty. And impressive.
2/7/07 9:18 PM
Ody said...
Absolutely awesome review PT!! The only thing I have done heirloom are pillowcases and wedding hankies with envelops---OK, tomatoes too. I have wanted to try the lace insertion technique and I think you did a fantastic job with the embroidery. Your design is well done, not too heavy for the fabric, and posistioned so that you have great balance on the blouse without overwhelming the project. My only complaint is how neat your new sewing room looks. Now I am going to have to start organizing and cleaning down here again just because of you! Super review!!
2/7/07 8:10 PM
cindy-lou said...
I have seen this heirloom technique in Sew News and have really wanted to try it. You make me want to even more-- your version is just beautiful. VERY nice professional work!
2/7/07 7:58 PM
Elemenopeo said...
It's beautiful without being over the top. Very well done.
2/7/07 7:04 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Very pretty. I love the lace insertion and the embroidery.
2/7/07 7:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Burda 3403

photo
by: NorasNotio...

Review

Pattern

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-137

photo
by: MissCelie

Review
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now