SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 60432-1004 (Ferretti Inspired Dress)

Viewed 1770 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 316 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/17/07 4:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RUBYCT said...
By far one of the most professional pieces I've seen here. I'm by far no ace my self but I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed reading your description of your whole thought process and clear description and including photographs. I felt as though I was reading a novel, I was sad that ended. But when I saw again what you had created at the end of that process, well, I was just taken aback. You truly have created here not merely "knocked off" I do hope you capitolize on the spark that you have. Don't let the embers lose their glow, fan them until they brighten.
3/19/07 11:16 PM
Marji said...
I've loved reading about your design process. Had to laugh out loud about the print knit in a wrap dress part - I applaud you for liberating the print from the wrap! It's a great dress and wonderful knock-off.
3/1/07 4:32 AM
AnneM said...
Great take on the designer original. I like your's better. It is more wearable. And I agree that the contrast takes advantage of the design more than the solid dark.
2/27/07 10:13 AM
Leora said...
Great job and the fit is perfect. Looks great on you! Well done.
2/27/07 9:23 AM
astrogal said...
Wow - well done. Looks fantastic. I'm really impressed the effort and the results. I found your slideshow inspirational.
2/21/07 7:53 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow, amazing job! I love your final dress, far more than the original, which looks dull and boring in comparison.
2/20/07 6:41 AM
SarahWeb said...
Amazing job. I aspire to your skills and patience in creating something of your own.
2/19/07 9:31 AM
Marhamner said...
This dress is really nice. I am jealous of your knock-off talent.
2/18/07 6:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
NiceGirl, you did it again! I adore your twist and interpretation of what's current! It is about time to create your own line of clothes and make a name for yourself! Also you definitely are beautiful that you can model almost anything! Your dress is creative genius! Thanks for being a wonderful inspiration for all of us! ~ Louella
2/18/07 3:04 PM
Ody said...
Well, you have done it again---taken a unused fabric from your stash and turned it into something fabulous!!! Great review and wonderful job on the dress, which you could replace that runway model with.
2/18/07 1:28 PM
cindy-lou said...
So, for real, have you considered Project Runway? I like yours way better than the Ferrari.
2/18/07 1:26 PM
suzanrossi said...
Wow - a very interesting narrative in the world of a definitly on the rise designer. Thank you!
2/18/07 10:20 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, wonderful dress and delightful review to read. Thanks!
2/18/07 7:49 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job!
2/18/07 7:37 AM
Stitchology said...
Awesome drafting job and you've almost nailed the model's sulky mean facial expression.
2/18/07 6:37 AM
PixieCat said...
Gorgeous dress!
2/18/07 5:49 AM
Maychi said...
Great job! You've made a beautiful dress!
2/18/07 4:36 AM
Nancywin said...
I admire your determination and perserverance. It looks like you "nailed" the binding pieces. The contrast looks nice.
2/18/07 1:05 AM
LauraTS said...
Looks great! Thanks for sharing the process and all the photos with us.
2/17/07 11:10 PM
Em's Summer said...
I love Grecian style dresses and your dress is gorgeous! You did a great job drafting the pattern Thanks for this great review!
2/17/07 10:00 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Dang girl. Bravo.
2/17/07 8:09 PM
Linda G said...
Great job and wonderful dress. I really like everthing about it.
2/17/07 6:34 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful!
2/17/07 5:49 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Another beautiful dress, nicegirl!! Thanks for the interesting review!
2/17/07 5:43 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Thanks for the great review. I loved reading about your process. I really like the wearable muslin as well - nice colours.
2/17/07 5:19 PM
Lynngray said...
WOW, what a great job. Looks great on you also
2/17/07 4:44 PM
Vivienne said...
It's GORGEOUS - the muslin and the final versions. The dress so feminine and suits you perfectly.
2/17/07 4:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

More Info