SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5303 (New York Dress)

11 more reviews
Viewed 2394 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 348 (patterns: 345)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 393 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/29/02 2:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DaneDogMom said... (4/15/05 11:54 PM) Reply
Thanks for the tip on using fusible interfacing to keep the neckline from stretching. I made this dress, and love it, with the one exception being that I thought the neckline was too low - my next version will try it with interfacing and see that makes a difference. Thanks!
Diane E said... (1/5/03 2:40 PM) Reply
Ann, this is beautiful! I agree with Sherril, such a terrific "little black dress"! Oh, cashmere would be too luxe for words and so so classy!
Nan said... (12/29/02 6:31 PM) Reply
Another lovely dress on you Ann!
Ann Smith said... (12/29/02 3:11 PM) Reply
Thanks for all your compliments! Rhonda: thank you for the tip. I have not seen that site before. Many tempting fabrics.....I may have to order that cashmere. Deepika: the V neck was not a problem on this fabric which is very forgiving. I just ironed on fusible bias tape, turned and topstitched. The ribs disguise any slight pucker at the V turn. I think the dress would be good in cotton/lycra but a bit of basting might be necessary at that V.
Sew Jane said... (12/29/02 2:00 PM) Reply
Beautiful dress! You look stunning! Thanks for yet another interesting review.
Deepika said... (12/29/02 1:27 PM) Reply
I have this pattern too! but I too have been wondering about the fabric to use. What do you think about cotton/lycra? Did you run into any problems with the v neck? was it simply turn and stitch?
Maria Hatfield said... (12/29/02 1:12 PM) Reply
Ann, you have some beautiful clothes on your site ! you did a great job on all of them.
Gigi Louis said... (12/29/02 11:41 AM) Reply
Ann, your dress looks great! Hmmm, I just happen to have this pattern AND some black ottoman knit....
Rhonda Noah said... (12/29/02 9:58 AM) Reply
Very nice! That is elegant but comfortable looking. And, www.dollarfabric.com has cashmere knit for $21.95/yard. (big grin) Now, THAT would be a scrumptious dress!!!!
Elona said... (12/29/02 3:15 AM) Reply
Gosh, Ann, the dress looks terrific on you!
Sherril Miller said... (12/29/02 3:06 AM) Reply
A wonderful "little black dress." Great to dress up or down, and you look very lovely in it.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Pattern Details
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Pattern Details
Colette Patterns 3004

photo
by: RainyDayPe...

Review