SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5303 (New York Dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 2378 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/29/02 2:54 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DaneDogMom said...
Thanks for the tip on using fusible interfacing to keep the neckline from stretching. I made this dress, and love it, with the one exception being that I thought the neckline was too low - my next version will try it with interfacing and see that makes a difference. Thanks!
4/15/05 11:54 PM
Diane E said...
Ann, this is beautiful! I agree with Sherril, such a terrific "little black dress"! Oh, cashmere would be too luxe for words and so so classy!
1/5/03 2:40 PM
Nan said...
Another lovely dress on you Ann!
12/29/02 6:31 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks for all your compliments! Rhonda: thank you for the tip. I have not seen that site before. Many tempting fabrics.....I may have to order that cashmere. Deepika: the V neck was not a problem on this fabric which is very forgiving. I just ironed on fusible bias tape, turned and topstitched. The ribs disguise any slight pucker at the V turn. I think the dress would be good in cotton/lycra but a bit of basting might be necessary at that V.
12/29/02 3:11 PM
Sew Jane said...
Beautiful dress! You look stunning! Thanks for yet another interesting review.
12/29/02 2:00 PM
Deepika said...
I have this pattern too! but I too have been wondering about the fabric to use. What do you think about cotton/lycra? Did you run into any problems with the v neck? was it simply turn and stitch?
12/29/02 1:27 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
Ann, you have some beautiful clothes on your site ! you did a great job on all of them.
12/29/02 1:12 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Ann, your dress looks great! Hmmm, I just happen to have this pattern AND some black ottoman knit....
12/29/02 11:41 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Very nice! That is elegant but comfortable looking. And, www.dollarfabric.com has cashmere knit for $21.95/yard. (big grin) Now, THAT would be a scrumptious dress!!!!
12/29/02 9:58 AM
Elona said...
Gosh, Ann, the dress looks terrific on you!
12/29/02 3:15 AM
Sherril Miller said...
A wonderful "little black dress." Great to dress up or down, and you look very lovely in it.
12/29/02 3:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

More Info
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

More Info