SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> OOP (1971 Misses' Boho Blouse)

2 more reviews
Viewed 627 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/19/07 8:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Soliel said...
I think the top style is OK...what makes it look "too girly" is the flower print in ingenue colors. But if the print was a bit more sophisticated, I still think it would work. The Butterick blouse you are eyeing is wonderful...but it's very girly too but with a more subdued, less little girl print.
6/5/07 8:25 PM
Soliel said...
I think the top style is OK...what makes it look "too girly" is the flower print in ingenue colors. But if the print was a bit more sophisticated, I still think it would work. The Butterick blouse you are eyeing is wonderful...but it's very girly too but with a more subdued, less little girl print. I love this keyhole look...If you want to sell it, I will buy! lv2breathe at AOL dot com.
6/5/07 8:24 PM
AnneM said...
Yes, not the best for you. Fuzzygalore has some good feedback, I think - better analysis than I could provide. :)
4/6/07 11:04 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great review! Sometimes we have to make an honest assessment with ourselves about what does and doesn't work. When I see a post by "Heather's Mom" I always think elegance and have to check out the review. (As opposed to I don't equate your name with "frilly" :) ).
2/24/07 7:37 PM
Ody said...
Great blouse and very interesting review. I think I would wear it if I were you. Save it for when someone has a Mammas and Pappas party. You are sewing up a storm girl!
2/20/07 5:16 PM
JenSews2 said...
Thanks for the tips. I think I'll skip the frilly look too, but I appreciate your review!
2/20/07 3:43 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thank you fuzzygalore! :-}
2/20/07 12:40 PM
bell N said...
I had a pattern very similar to the Simplicity vintage you linked to. The pattern you show has cording in the neck, and a neckline slit. Mine had a closed neckline with elastic all the way around, as well as elastic in the waist and sleeves. I made it in plain muslin, with the embroidery around the neckline, and in some sort of gauzey material. I wore it all the time - 30 years ago.
2/20/07 8:00 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I'm afraid I agree with you that the pink isn't the best color for you. Otherwise, I like it well enough, the waist casing was a good idea. But what's missing from the McCartney original is that the sleeves are a bit small. Hers are way bigger than that, and I think the larger sleeves would look more balanced on you. Plus notice how her fabric is very different from your cotton, a light crisp silk I think, that would probably work better. Do try this again, but in a grown-up color :-).
2/20/07 6:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 9475 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Macphee sewing workshop 67

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now