SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> OOP (1971 Misses' Boho Blouse)

2 more reviews
Viewed 627 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/19/07 8:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
I'm afraid I agree with you that the pink isn't the best color for you. Otherwise, I like it well enough, the waist casing was a good idea. But what's missing from the McCartney original is that the sleeves are a bit small. Hers are way bigger than that, and I think the larger sleeves would look more balanced on you. Plus notice how her fabric is very different from your cotton, a light crisp silk I think, that would probably work better. Do try this again, but in a grown-up color :-).
2/20/07 6:04 AM
bell N said...
I had a pattern very similar to the Simplicity vintage you linked to. The pattern you show has cording in the neck, and a neckline slit. Mine had a closed neckline with elastic all the way around, as well as elastic in the waist and sleeves. I made it in plain muslin, with the embroidery around the neckline, and in some sort of gauzey material. I wore it all the time - 30 years ago.
2/20/07 8:00 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thank you fuzzygalore! :-}
2/20/07 12:40 PM
JenSews2 said...
Thanks for the tips. I think I'll skip the frilly look too, but I appreciate your review!
2/20/07 3:43 PM
Ody said...
Great blouse and very interesting review. I think I would wear it if I were you. Save it for when someone has a Mammas and Pappas party. You are sewing up a storm girl!
2/20/07 5:16 PM
ryan's mom said...
Great review! Sometimes we have to make an honest assessment with ourselves about what does and doesn't work. When I see a post by "Heather's Mom" I always think elegance and have to check out the review. (As opposed to I don't equate your name with "frilly" :) ).
2/24/07 7:37 PM
AnneM said...
Yes, not the best for you. Fuzzygalore has some good feedback, I think - better analysis than I could provide. :)
4/6/07 11:04 AM
Soliel said...
I think the top style is OK...what makes it look "too girly" is the flower print in ingenue colors. But if the print was a bit more sophisticated, I still think it would work. The Butterick blouse you are eyeing is wonderful...but it's very girly too but with a more subdued, less little girl print. I love this keyhole look...If you want to sell it, I will buy! lv2breathe at AOL dot com.
6/5/07 8:24 PM
Soliel said...
I think the top style is OK...what makes it look "too girly" is the flower print in ingenue colors. But if the print was a bit more sophisticated, I still think it would work. The Butterick blouse you are eyeing is wonderful...but it's very girly too but with a more subdued, less little girl print.
6/5/07 8:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Butterick 5455

photo
by: jnageotte

Review
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Buy Now