SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 54337-1000 (Orwell Coat)

Viewed 1178 times 
Reviewed by:Tany
photo

 
 
About Tanystarstarstar
PORTUGAL
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/07 9:23 AM
Last Updated:2/21/07 9:28 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
47 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tany said...
Thank you, KathleenS!
9/16/07 4:43 AM
KathleenS said...
I also only just saw this review. Your coat is amazing!! All your hard work was worth it.
9/15/07 7:56 AM
Tany said...
Thank you Sunny_D! If the information I provide is helping others, this makes me very happy!
9/15/07 5:16 AM
Sunny_D said...
Tany, your blog is excellent. I have saved it as one of my Internet Explorer favourites, and will refer to it whenever I'm making a lined coat. You really should write a book! Sunny_D
9/14/07 5:31 PM
madhatter said...
just can repeat what i said in your blog: stunning, amazing, adorable!
3/2/07 4:42 PM
Vonnevo said...
A Magnificient coat Tany :)) I have been following the progress on your blog. Your dedication and time has been well worth it. Congratulations and thanks for a wonderful review :)
2/23/07 10:27 PM
Tany said...
Markie: I couldn't get the pattern either! I used another pattern and altered it! I guess you can use any side panel coat pattern to do the same! Click on the second link on the Pattern Description above to see how I did this
2/23/07 5:09 PM
Markie1 said...
Wow, Tany...this coat blows me away. Your workmanship is amazing, your descriptions are so complete and helpful. But mostly, the outcome is a showstopper. Which leads me to my question...how can I , an American GET THIS PATTERN??? I love what you have made.
2/23/07 2:29 PM
Tany said...
Skymom: I did most topstitching free handed, being very careful and doing it slow to be perfect. On the front edges I wanted to reduce bulk so I tried to topstitch first by machine with black thread and then using the stitches as a guide; it worked fine and the black topstitching doesn't show at all!
2/23/07 3:50 AM
Nancy K said...
Really impressive. The fit and detail are wonderful. You definitely should move yourself up to advanced.
2/22/07 5:41 PM
LorelleD said...
Wow! What a great looking coat. You did a fantastic job. I found your review and your blog very informative. Thankyou
2/22/07 5:04 PM
OP Gal said...
Wow! That is some gorgeous coat. I can't believe you're identifying yourself as an intermediate sewer. This definitely puts you in the advanced group.
2/22/07 3:59 PM
Skymom said...
I'm in awe. Do you have any tips to share on keeping the handstitching to even?
2/22/07 3:12 PM
Marhamner said...
This pattern is spectacular, and you did a fantastic job! I think I'm going to have to hunt down this pattern. Thanks for the detailed instructions.
2/22/07 2:05 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Unbelievable. Great coat, great review. Excuse me while I modify my profile to change myself to "Beginner" (capital B).
2/22/07 8:06 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Beautiful work and documentation, Tany!
2/22/07 7:35 AM
Lori V said...
THis coat is amazing. I have been following your progress on your blog. Thanks for the details and the pictures.
2/22/07 7:01 AM
Tany said...
My thanks to all of you, you are very kind! About promoting myself to advanced: I won't do that yet and I'll explain why: I sew only to myself! I've never fitted someone with severe fit issues! I admire those dressmakers who are able to do fit miracles and I've never proven myself in that way... Also there are so many techniques yet to try! Charlene: I started to sew when I was very young and I've learned some techniques (cutting, thread basting, grading seams, pressing) from a neighbour dressmaker. I started sewing BWOF patterns and I bought their sewing book (Portuguese edition) as soon as it came out (there is a new recent edition); I took the drawings seen at my blog from that book and also the welt pocket with flap technique (I own many sewing books, some of them are American and I couldn't find that particular technique in any of them - single welt pocket with flap). I've learned patternmaking skills through the years (I'm no expert but I can manage) and I also own many books on that subject; I refer often to the site http://vintagesewing.info/ where you can find free online vintage sewing books. I like the "Modern Pattern Design" by Harriet Pepin the best. Recently I purchased some more American Sewing books and I like "Couture Sewing Techniques" by Roberta Carr very much (see my blog entry about sewing books; the other two books listed there are also very interesting).
2/22/07 4:23 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh my heavens, that coat is just the most stunning thing I have seen in ages. Absolutely amazing work, extremely helpful comments on the construction. You definitely should be ranked as advanced IMHO. Thank you for a wonderful review. I sat at work with my mouth open in amazement at the level of skill displayed. You should enter this in the Threads Readers Wardrobe, I am certain they would publish it, its just gorgeous.
2/22/07 3:35 AM
lmg said...
A coat worthy of a runway! Just stunning. Thanks for all the detailed notes and wonderful review.
2/21/07 10:16 PM
PatM said...
congratulaitons on making such a beautiful coat. Just looking at your pattern alteratins impressed me. I hope you enjoy wearing this coat.
2/21/07 10:15 PM
Charlene McGill said...
VERY IMPRESSIVE. Thanks for the photos. I enjoyed seeing the detail instructions. I admire you skills. what books you have used to learn the techniques you have displayed?
2/21/07 9:15 PM
Zaneta said...
Tany..I am so inspired by you..I can't wait to sew jackets..
2/21/07 6:59 PM
hongkongshopper said...
OMG - THE COAT IS ABSOLUTELY STUNNING (and yes I am shouting!). Love the hand topstitching. I would love to try that. I already have a black bag and shoes with white stitching.........
2/21/07 5:36 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Totally fabulous coat. So nicely done. Tres Chic !!
2/21/07 3:56 PM
Jan B. said...
Fabulous!! This belongs on a runway.
2/21/07 3:29 PM
Deborah L said...
You go girl!!!, that coat is amazing, just awesome.
2/21/07 3:04 PM
Gold said...
Wow that coat looks chic. Great job.
2/21/07 2:36 PM
Kay Y said...
Your coat is a tour de force - just beautiful and so well executed. I have been reading your blog too and will go back later when I have more time to admire the great pictures there of all your steps. Someday maybe I will try hand-top-stitching, and if so will be sure to look again at yours. (I agree with the others - if only based on this project you should promote yourself to *advanced*.)
2/21/07 2:35 PM
Avril said...
Cool
2/21/07 2:32 PM
mirielgw said...
I love your coat!
2/21/07 1:46 PM
Linda G said...
Wowwie!!!! that is beautiful thanks for the review.
2/21/07 12:52 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I agree, you need to upgrade yourself to advanced! Your sewing is beautiful and so is this coat. Keep up your fantastic work.
2/21/07 11:54 AM
Mlle Laura said...
your coat is breathtaking! thank you for sharing so many detailed shots with us. I really can't say enough how fabulous it is!
2/21/07 11:43 AM
Marji said...
Just awesome Tany. I so enjoy reading your blog and the notes on your process. I'm going to have to get back there this evening when I have some time to spend there. Thanks for the great review.
2/21/07 11:34 AM
Chris Kelly said...
I bow to you!!!!!! Awsome and just beautiful!!!!!
2/21/07 11:21 AM
maybbm said...
You are my inspiration!! Great work.
2/21/07 11:03 AM
Kitty Couture said...
That's a fantastic coat, well done.
2/21/07 10:44 AM
Levone said...
Gorgeous coat and excellent review. I've been following along on your blog...thanks creating an English version also!
2/21/07 10:20 AM
Puddin Pop said...
How can you say you are just intermediate. I think you are very advanced. How meticulous you are on every step. You could be an author or a sewing book, if you wanted. What beautiful top stitching and how I would love to be able to make such a beautiful coat. It is gorgeous.
2/21/07 10:15 AM
melgosews said...
WOW!
2/21/07 9:54 AM
LMH said...
It really is the most amazing creation & the information you put on the blog is priceless.
2/21/07 9:52 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh Tany, that is beyond fabulous! What a great work, and thank you for all the wonderful documentation. -Ann
2/21/07 9:51 AM
Ody said...
Tany, I have read lots of your reviews and this coat is the best of the best! Are you sure your profile should not read advanced??
2/21/07 9:49 AM
TwilaO said...
Oh. My. God. You are amazing! I SO covet that coat.
2/21/07 9:40 AM
Maychi said...
Absolutelly stunning! Very impressive work!
2/21/07 9:31 AM
trinicity said...
as I said before,beautiful coat
2/21/07 9:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Merckwaerdigh BHST2

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

More Info