SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8131 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Pants)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1383 times 
Reviewed by:Chris Kelly
photo

 
 
About Chris Kellystarstar
WA USA
Member since: 10/2/05
Reviews written: 122
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/07 11:09 PM
Last Updated:2/21/07 11:10 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jodi B. said...
Thanks for the honest review of this pattern. I have the same 20 lb problem. :)
2/21/07 11:13 PM
Ody said...
I think they make your butt look cute!! Sorry they did not work out.
2/21/07 11:28 PM
hejest said...
you know what they say!....If you have hips sew the pockets shut! Then you have a nice line without losing the 20 lbs!hahaha
2/21/07 11:49 PM
Soliel said...
Well, I have larger hips than average...the widest part of my hip is like my upper thigh, not unlike you, I think. Even if I am skinny, I am still built this way and have to deal with it. I know, it's harder for us, but I have read for ways to deal with our "issue". Gayle Griggs Fabulous Fit book has good info on it. It's just something we have to learn to manage I guess. You did good by choosing wide legged pants, though. Maybe a little less weight will make a difference.
2/21/07 11:59 PM
ryansmumAria said...
You have a great sense of humour!!
2/22/07 1:08 AM
Lhan said...
I was so pleased to see this photo - your trousers look like mine do. And I think its time we stopped thinking the problem is us, and started expecting the damn patterns to fit - REAL Women!! You don't have to be overweight to have this shape - and even if you are, clothes should still fit. I think this is why lots of us never sew trousers - they seem to be made for men or models, and it takes lots of work to make them fit. I think most sewers who aren't skinny and otherwise hipless wonders spend a lot of time developing a sloper for them, and make the same trousers over and over. Shouldn't it be a bit easire than this? So thanks for the review - a great talking point, and I recognise those photos - I see them in the mirror. Cheers!
2/22/07 1:27 AM
Linda G said...
I think if I looked through my sewing closet, I could find half finished pants that have the same problem....
2/22/07 1:28 AM
sewinglinda said...
still great pants even with the pocket gape, my answer to this is usually sew the pockets closed and call them "mock pockets an then let out the side seams as much as possible to give more room.
2/22/07 2:09 AM
Kay Romo said...
If you read other reviews of this pattern, you will see you are being too hard on yourself!
2/22/07 2:36 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, don't go on talking about being fat, you're just fine! Just because Vogue hasn't yet understood how to fit a real body. Next time, get a Burda pattern instead (or a Sandra Betzina Vogue, with different sloper), and your self-esteem will come through unscathed...
2/22/07 4:01 AM
kismet007 said...
I think if you add some width in the hips and the thighs, add some length to the crotch that the pants would hang straight down and look very flattering. I think the fabric you chose is a good match for that pattern and I think if they fit better they would look good on you. I think the wide waist band makes your waist look small which is a good place to start.
2/22/07 6:39 AM
Christina W said...
I have exactly the same body shape and know the challenges! But you are so definitely not fat ! I agree with fuzzygalore: try a Burda next time - they fit so much better and the crotch curve is made for real women:> One easy alteration that sometimes works for me is to just "pretend" that my hip measurement is one inch bigger than it really is and then cut out/make my adjustments based on that. Somehow, the extra inch seems to accomodate the fact that the poor pants have to stretch from the fullest part of my booty to the full part of my front thighs while covering a vertical distance of only about 2 inches. If that makes any sense at all!! Anyway, I can see that your construction skills on the pants are great -- hopefully they are still salvageable!
2/22/07 7:44 AM
cindy-lou said...
pittwaitress, I have always thought, looking at your garments, that you are one little skinny minnie of a lady. I'm with Lhan: why can't the 'fake world' of models and design resemble the real world a bit better? My first thought looking at these is 'why isn't the waist lower?' I think a dropped waist (like 2 inches lower-- not crazy-low like the kids wear) would make the pockets behave. I'm a pants newbie so might be wrong, but I think this would be one KICKIN' pair of pants with a lower rise in front! BTW: I have a joey. Don't we all?
2/22/07 9:31 AM
Re Becca said...
I have found that Vogue patterns are very inconsistent in their ease and sizing. I have made some over a range of 2 or 3 sizes and depending on the designer, they can be either way to big or way too small. Thank you for showing us your picture! you have been helpful.
2/22/07 10:46 AM
Puddin Pop said...
I have the same problem, but we can wear those side pockets, just need a little more room. I am going to try the Sandra Betzina pants pattern. Now I am going to read other reviews on this pattern, since it is cut funny.
2/22/07 11:47 AM
Dale C said...
LOVE your review! Honestly... I would've thought this pattern would have more ease in it.. I guess the ease is in the lower leg, where most of us DON'T really need it.
2/22/07 3:59 PM
julesberry said...
Thanks for the very interesting review. The Kenneth King CD about trouser fit is illuminating, and makes it quite clear that all women are tricky to fit in the trousers department. I'd recommend buying something like that rather than losing weight to make the trousers fit, since you'll still be the same shape just 20lbs lighter!
2/22/07 5:42 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Thanks everone for the great ideas on fitting issues!!!!
2/22/07 9:07 PM
AnneM said...
Well, not your best look in pants. :P
4/5/07 6:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 6051

photo
by: sertyan

Review
KnipMode Magazine 07-2010-3

photo
by: treefrog

Review
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now