SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> MM Prim & Proper Jacket (Miss Moneypenny Prim & Proper)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1016 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews: 276 (patterns: 232)
Favored by: 127 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/07 11:47 AM
Last Updated:2/23/07 11:54 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said... (4/4/07 5:21 PM) Reply
This is one of the HP styles I seriously looked at (didn't end up w/ it, though). It is a great style. After reading other's experience with it, I'm glad I went w/ other HP patterns instead. I rather like that sunflower fabric for a different jacket - I can just see it at a garden party.
OP Gal said... (2/24/07 10:36 AM) Reply
Sorry you had such a miserable experience. But your review was very informative.
Nancy K said... (2/24/07 8:42 AM) Reply
This was an early pattern and it seems that it is not the only pattern with sleeve problems. I bought another jacket early on and when I measured the sleeve the largest one was still too small for me. i put it aside because I was not in the mood or redrafting. As you said, I don't want to spend $15 on a pattern that is that off. I already make quite a few alterations. I will suggest that you invest in a bolt of muslin with a 50% off coupon at Joann's The pain of tossing a muslin is far less when it only costs a buck a yd.!
j222b said... (2/24/07 0:20 AM) Reply
Thanks for this review--You've saved me some anguish.
CarolynGM said... (2/23/07 4:05 PM) Reply
I admire you for trying this, but maybe the Vogue 8189 that kismet007 suggested wll work better. Both jackets are a very cute style.
kismet007 said... (2/23/07 3:24 PM) Reply
I agree as well. I would love to embrace this pattern line but there are too many downsides. I have this pattern in my stash but I doubt that I will ever use it. Vouge has a similar pattern - 8189. I think they are quite close in design. I'm going to give this a try instead.
Marji said... (2/23/07 3:21 PM) Reply
Nancy, that is way too bad. You showed more perseverance than I would have with it. Re a jacket that has similar lines, have you looked at Vogue 2925? It's got French darts instead of the Princess seam, ...oh, and the CF meets instead of overlaps - nevermind, probably need too much re-drafting there too.
Linda G said... (2/23/07 1:23 PM) Reply
good information.
CSY said... (2/23/07 12:27 PM) Reply
I agree-$15. is too much to spend on a pattern that requires this much surgery.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Simplicity 1879

photo
by: Izybel18

Review
Simplicity 2692

photo
by: 3kids1036

Review
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Pattern Details