SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> MM Prim & Proper Jacket (Miss Moneypenny Prim & Proper)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1014 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 273
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 229
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/07 11:47 AM
Last Updated:2/23/07 11:54 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CSY said...
I agree-$15. is too much to spend on a pattern that requires this much surgery.
2/23/07 12:27 PM
Linda G said...
good information.
2/23/07 1:23 PM
Marji said...
Nancy, that is way too bad. You showed more perseverance than I would have with it. Re a jacket that has similar lines, have you looked at Vogue 2925? It's got French darts instead of the Princess seam, ...oh, and the CF meets instead of overlaps - nevermind, probably need too much re-drafting there too.
2/23/07 3:21 PM
kismet007 said...
I agree as well. I would love to embrace this pattern line but there are too many downsides. I have this pattern in my stash but I doubt that I will ever use it. Vouge has a similar pattern - 8189. I think they are quite close in design. I'm going to give this a try instead.
2/23/07 3:24 PM
CarolynGM said...
I admire you for trying this, but maybe the Vogue 8189 that kismet007 suggested wll work better. Both jackets are a very cute style.
2/23/07 4:05 PM
j222b said...
Thanks for this review--You've saved me some anguish.
2/24/07 0:20 AM
Nancy K said...
This was an early pattern and it seems that it is not the only pattern with sleeve problems. I bought another jacket early on and when I measured the sleeve the largest one was still too small for me. i put it aside because I was not in the mood or redrafting. As you said, I don't want to spend $15 on a pattern that is that off. I already make quite a few alterations. I will suggest that you invest in a bolt of muslin with a 50% off coupon at Joann's The pain of tossing a muslin is far less when it only costs a buck a yd.!
2/24/07 8:42 AM
OP Gal said...
Sorry you had such a miserable experience. But your review was very informative.
2/24/07 10:36 AM
AnneM said...
This is one of the HP styles I seriously looked at (didn't end up w/ it, though). It is a great style. After reading other's experience with it, I'm glad I went w/ other HP patterns instead. I rather like that sunflower fabric for a different jacket - I can just see it at a garden party.
4/4/07 5:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: jenleeC

Review
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2008-4

photo
by: CaraSkates

Review