SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 60432-1005 (Ruched Jersey Dress)

Viewed 891 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 317 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/25/07 1:45 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
venetus said...
Wow! I saw your entry in the contest & I thought that was great too. I really like the ruching!
4/8/07 8:49 PM
Levone said...
Great looking dress! I agree that the wrinkles look intentional. It was nice to read your review.
3/1/07 1:32 PM
nicegirl said...
Thank you everyone! JuliaS--I am more of a slave to fashion than I'd care to admit and I didn't like puffed sleeves until recently either (though I have kind of wanted them to come back for a while just to be Anne). RyansMom--My secret is no kids or boyfriend. Someday I'd like to have both but until then I'll take advantage of my free time.
3/1/07 8:52 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a great dress! (And I want to know your secret for finding time to make all these creations!)
2/28/07 7:29 AM
Karen6790 said...
Aww, thanks for the credit. Don't worry, I still can't get a square binding to lay flat either. I'm all for experiments, and I think this was a pretty successful one, all in all. I really like the ruching at the waist - it's a cute look.
2/27/07 10:00 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on your process in making this dress, even if it wasn't exactly what you hoped. The wrinkles in the back look intentional, given the ruching in the front. And it's a great moral, also - it's fun to experiment. (Your pics are always so cute; love the pose.)
2/27/07 10:07 AM
CarolynGM said...
Keep the experiments coming! You've really done some interesting, promising work with this dress.
2/25/07 5:06 PM
Kay Y said...
Even if you don't consider this dress wearable I think you should carry on and refine the gathering at neck & waist, and the puffed sleeves, and use these successful elements on better fabric. Keep on experimenting!
2/25/07 2:33 PM
JuliaS said...
Oh man, I love your reviews. I have hated puffed sleeves for years but this latest fad has made even me have an Anne of Green Gables moment or two.
2/25/07 2:27 PM
Christina Sonja said...
This is very inspirational!
2/25/07 2:24 PM
Tiner W said...
Wow! I wish I were as adventurous as you are!
2/25/07 2:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3818

photo
by: CissieW

Review
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

More Info
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

More Info
Lekala Patterns 4042

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review