Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 50591-1001 (Shirred Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 700 times
Reviewed by:squilts
photo
About squiltsstar
IA USA
Member since: 1/24/06
Reviews written: 47
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/07 2:07 PM
Last Updated:3/13/07 1:31 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Soliel said...
I've seen these shirred fabrics. I didn't realize the tops that could be made from them. Thanks for sharing. One question...I am just curious, can that shirring be made at home on the home sewing machine? I've been wondering that lately.
2/27/07 2:37 PM
squilts said...
To make a top, I just added shoulder straps cut from the extra length of the fabric. I think you can do the gathering to your own fabric, but I have never tried. I think it involves elastic thread...not sure?
2/27/07 5:47 PM
Amy Elizabeth said...
Yes, you can do it on your machine. You are supposed to wind elastic thread by hand on the bobbin, stretching it slightly, and you use regular thread on the top. I have the elastic thread, and am going to try this soon - I'll let you know how it turns out!
2/27/07 10:33 PM
cindy-lou said...
cute!!! All your tops are. You've been busy!!
3/13/07 2:51 PM
Linda G said...
Very cute and what a buy!!
3/13/07 6:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 1051
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 8/29/08
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern
Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8087
photo
Review by Maree P on 10/18/09
Read Review

McCalls 5498 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )
McCalls 5498 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us