SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4194 (Threads magazine collection)

5 more reviews
Viewed 2410 times 
Reviewed by:Verosews
photo

 
 
About Verosewsstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/1/04
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/07 10:29 PM
Last Updated:6/1/07 7:57 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 28 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
61 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Chris Kelly said...
All I can say is WOW....this is beautiful!! Very nice!
2/28/07 10:36 PM
Leora said...
I love how the flowers provide a wonderful textural compliment to the bodice overlay. What a Stunning Dress!!! You should consider entering it in the Simplicity contest!
2/28/07 10:41 PM
sewbehind said...
Wow! That doesn't look anything like the original Simplicity pattern. Beautiful job. Are some of those flowers wool? They appear matte like wool.
2/28/07 11:03 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
You did a fabulous job. Your dress is beautiful. Where are you going to wear it? Do you have a special event coming up?
2/28/07 11:32 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Well done in meeting the deadline. The knock off is gorgeous.
2/28/07 11:54 PM
MichelleE said...
That is AWESOME!!! I admire your creativity and ingenuity and with bargain fabric too - well done!!!
3/1/07 0:50 AM
ryansmumAria said...
I love it! Your quite creative and will be the belle of the ball. I would add a third flower to the bottom though to balance it out and help anchor the look.
3/1/07 0:56 AM
NeedleandThread said...
Wow! This is absolutely gorgeous, and I love the colour!
3/1/07 2:26 AM
marcre said...
I too love the colour Yhe outfit looks great and has that little bit of "attitude".I would love to see you in the dress. Happy wearing!!
3/1/07 3:54 AM
Marji said...
Fabulous 2 pc dress - lovely knockoff - I agree with Sewbehind, you should finish doing the rest of the embellishment that you'd planned, the hem etc, and enter this in the Simplicity contest too. BTW, the original Elie Saab you chose for inspiration is from the Couture collection shown in Paris, not the RTW collection, so I sincerely doubt you could buy the original for less than $10,000, and you'd have to go to the atelier in Paris to get measured for it! You go girl - you did a fabulous job.
3/1/07 4:02 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow that's stunning! You did an outstanding job. I love the colour you chose. That alone makes this a "wow" dress. So many people pick safe colours or go neutral/black. Love it! I agree, enter it in the Simplicity contest. And those shoes!!!!! What a find they were!
3/1/07 4:19 AM
Marie-Claude said...
I absolutely LOVE it! I am a huge fan of greens and your creating looks fantastic! Thanks for mentionning Helen Gibb's book, I was actually looking for such a book before... I'm on my way to ordering it ;-)
3/1/07 4:41 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! Stunning!! Mmmmm...love the color too!!! Vero, would mind PM'ing me with the name of the fabric flower book? I want to make sure I order the right one. Very helpful review BTW.
3/1/07 7:19 AM
squirrellypoo said...
WOWWW!!! That knockoff is a knockout!
3/1/07 7:42 AM
suzanrossi said...
Wow! How clever you are!
3/1/07 7:50 AM
nicegirl said...
Gorgeous!!! I love the color and all the details.
3/1/07 8:59 AM
Kay Y said...
Outstanding work, well done! I am sure Simplicity would love to see this interpretation of their pattern.
3/1/07 9:28 AM
carolynw said...
Stunning and I adore the shoes too. I'll bet that when you do wear it there will be a lot of heads turning - it's so beautiful!
3/1/07 9:36 AM
Nancy K said...
Absolutely fabulous! The flowers are really incredible.
3/1/07 11:19 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful! Good luck in the contest.
3/1/07 11:29 AM
StacyCK said...
Wow, that is beautiful - I love the color and you made a wonderful interpretation of the designer original!
3/1/07 12:25 PM
Soliel said...
Wow....amazing! I love how different it is from the pattern. I LOVE your little flowers! where are you going to wear it?
3/1/07 12:37 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Wow, I'm impressed. I'm going to check out that book.
3/1/07 12:55 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Somehow "beautiful" is not superlative enough of an adjective! What a wonderful creation, I can hear the compliments you will get when you wear this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3/1/07 12:58 PM
SueV said...
Very nice, you should consider entering this in Simplicity's contest which is now.... win a trip to Paris!
3/1/07 1:01 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
WOW!! WOW!! WOW!! WOW!! WOW!! WOW!! WOW!! WOW!! WOW!! WOW!!
3/1/07 1:14 PM
cindy-lou said...
WOW!! What a stunner! This one should sell in the thousands. I love it!
3/1/07 2:17 PM
sewfan said...
Can I echo everyone else here? WOW! Love everything about your outfit!
3/1/07 3:51 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulously stunningly gorgeous. The flowers are divine. LOVE the green, my FAV. You will have such joy wearing this :) :)
3/1/07 4:01 PM
Sharon M said...
Wow! What a beautiful dress! and the shoes are perfect. Great job! Yes, you should enter this in the Simplicity contest.
3/1/07 5:39 PM
sue77 said...
GORGEOUS!!!! I absolutely love this
3/1/07 6:35 PM
PattyU said...
This is one of the most stunning garments I've ever seen reviewed. I am so impressed! It's lovely.
3/1/07 8:04 PM
AnneM said...
I hope you send this in to the Simplicity contest that is going on right now. You would have a chance for Paris.
3/1/07 8:32 PM
krystalkaes said...
Holy Cats! Wow! Amazing! I love the shoes.
3/1/07 8:39 PM
Lori V said...
This is so gorgeous. You did an amazing job.
3/1/07 11:05 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is just beautiful! Love the color, the style and the shoes, too!
3/2/07 9:25 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
I'm sure my jaw dropped!!!, This is awsome, great job, congrats!!!! BEAUTIFUL color!!!! Marita
3/2/07 11:28 AM
Verosews said...
Thank you all for the wonderful comments. I do plan on entering it into the Simplicity contest, but need to finish up the bodice and make more flowers for the top and the skirt. I don't think I will place the flowers on the hem of the skirt, but may have them cascade down on one side. Again, Thank you all for the lovely comments. I can't wait to finish it up so I can wear it to my husband's cousin's 18th birthday bash in June (wow, that was a mouthful).
3/2/07 12:43 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Fabulous! The variety of flowers are beautiful with all the different textures!
3/2/07 1:59 PM
madhatter said...
adorable! i love the color and i surely love the matching SHOES!
3/2/07 4:38 PM
EveS said...
This dress ROCKS! Thanks for the great inspiration...I urge you consider removing the "beginner" from your skill level. WTG!!!
3/3/07 0:31 AM
Vonnevo said...
Absolutely fabulous !!!! I have been away for a few days and just read your review. The dress is incredibly wonderful. I am thrilled to see that you plan on entering it in the Simplicity contest too. Good luck :)))
3/4/07 1:56 AM
LiZ said...
Fabulous dress and Knock off. Good luck with the simplicity competition.
3/4/07 3:00 PM
Nancywin said...
Absolutely amazing! You shold definitely enter it in the Simplicity contest. It's just beautiful!
3/4/07 11:46 PM
Dr. Alice said...
What a work of art! Wow!
3/5/07 12:18 PM
CSM--Carla said...
I love your beautiful dress, verosews!! So professional looking -- elegant! Have fun wearing it someplace special to celebrate! Carla
3/10/07 7:17 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Stunning!!! You should send a photo of this to Threads magazine. They feature gorgous creations like this from home sewers! It belongs in a magazine! Then Cameron Diaz or Nicole Kidman will see it and want you to make them one for the red carpet. Let's see, how much profit would that be - 10,000.00 minus 25.00 in costs. Hmmm, 9975.00 for labor, not bad!
3/11/07 6:51 PM
Leora said...
Well?? Did you enter the contest???
4/10/07 11:36 AM
Erica B. said...
That dress is like "WOW"! It's beautiful. I really adore the flowers.
6/1/07 1:49 PM
mad4sewing said...
Stupendous! That is a really GREAT dress.
6/1/07 3:31 PM
Vonnevo said...
Ech-O-ing WOW ! Your outfit has become more magnificent. The colour choices suit you beautifully and the textures and embellishments are gorgeous.
6/1/07 3:51 PM
Verosews said...
Oops, I meant to update the photo for the review gallery and I guess it moved my review all the way up. Didn't mean to do that.
6/1/07 7:58 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Well I'm glad you accidently bumped it because I missed your dress - it's GORGEOUS!!!! WOW! :-)
6/1/07 8:44 PM
Marji said...
All the rest of the embellishment you did really enhanced the overall look. Sometimes more is just more, but in this case, more is just perfect. It's lovely. Did you end up entering it in the Simplicity Threads contest?
6/2/07 8:01 AM
susinok said...
Oh my gosh! That outfit and those SHOES are amazing! How beautiful!
6/2/07 8:41 AM
KaraKai said...
I see this is an older review, the dress is beyond STUNNING! Did you win the contest??? Absolutely gorgeous!
6/2/07 7:30 PM
zinnia said...
Absolutely Fabulous!!!!
6/2/07 7:44 PM
Annette1 said...
Just GORGEOUS! You should DEFINITELY promote yourself from "advanced beginner." Your dress looks SO much better on you than the inspiration dress does on that model. And the color is ooo-la-la!
6/4/07 3:16 AM
Dmd4106 said...
So loving the color! Fab knock-off. The florals are over the top.
6/5/07 1:58 AM
Verosews said...
Thank you all for the wonderful comments. You don't know how they make me feel. For those that asked, I did enter it in the Simplicity contest, but won't know if I made it to the next stage until mid July. I'll be waiting anxiously.
6/5/07 3:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Butterick 6955

photo
by: morzel

Review
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now