Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8021 (Shirtdress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2166 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/07 10:14 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
57 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Physics Girl said...
Cute dress! (Back in the late 90's I think half my wardrobe was corduroy!) I'm most surprised to find you are able to use a vintage buttonholer with a modern machine. I loved the Griest bottonholer I used with my mother's old singer and think the automatic programmed ones today can't compare! I wonder if anyone else is using these...
3/2/07 10:23 AM
CSY said...
That dress is too cute on you! Thanks for the review. I have a collection of those vintage buttonholer makers- they are awesome.
3/2/07 10:25 AM
Sharon M said...
This dress is so much better on you than the pattern drawing! You look fantastic! The belt and boots really pull it together. Thanks for pointing out this pattern
3/2/07 10:52 AM
2muchfabric said...
Darling dress! Thanks for the helpful review.
3/2/07 11:07 AM
jjwalker said...
I LOVE your style - (saw your newsboy cap review yesterday...!) The stripes turned out fab in your shirt dress and I'm currently obsessed with shirtdresses, and very easy patterns...too bad I HATE buttonholes...
3/2/07 11:56 AM
kiddo said...
Beautiful dress!!! You've really made the most of those stripes. It elongates you, especially when even lightweight cord can make a person look heavier.
3/2/07 12:08 PM
poplin said...
Griest Buttonholer? I'll look it up. Thanks for the review. Wonderful dress, and those boots and belt kick it up a notch! Great accessories!
3/2/07 12:23 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Great dress !!! Love it. I have this pattern too and plan to make some shirt dresses. I am reg size 12 and you say its fitted? Guess the darts help as I want it fitted. thanks so much for review. Enjoy your fab dress !
3/2/07 12:25 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Great dress, and I think it looks better with the purchased belt than it would with the self tie belt.
3/2/07 12:26 PM
melgosews said...
Real cute! Love the striped cord, love the pattern, love the accessories! Wondering what problems you had with the collar. Thanks for the review!
3/2/07 12:50 PM
SexiSadi said...
Great dress. Your fabric choice looks great on you!
3/2/07 12:57 PM
Puddin Pop said...
I love this dress on you. Funny black hole comment, know just what you mean. I will have to see this buttonholer. Post the other dresses you made from this, please.
3/2/07 12:57 PM
Carol Wisman said...
Another "Cute Cute Cute", looks great!
3/2/07 1:07 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
OMG, I can't even begin to tell you how much I love this. Beautiful job--perfect style and color on you!
3/2/07 1:18 PM
moss said...
OMG HOT i love the STRIPES!!
3/2/07 1:38 PM
Laurie Lou said...
That is a very cool dress and it looks great on you also. Nice use of stripes.
3/2/07 1:42 PM
Tany said...
Gorgeous!!
3/2/07 1:57 PM
Levone said...
This dress looks great on you! I love your belt also.
3/2/07 2:36 PM
Pinkytoo said...
SO cute - love it! Putting this one on my list and we'll see if it's still slimming for a size 18! ;-)
3/2/07 2:37 PM
Markie1 said...
This is ADORABLE on you! I would not have looked at that pattern, but I will get it today..The stripes really work and you look like a model in it. Great review!
3/2/07 2:48 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very classy look.
3/2/07 2:57 PM
Tiner W said...
Great dress!
3/2/07 3:09 PM
Huldra said...
The dress looks great on you, and the belt is perfect!
3/2/07 3:24 PM
Lori V said...
Love this dress, you look fantastic.
3/2/07 3:40 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Great dress. I just love those stripes. I knew there was another pattern I needed to add to my wish list and your dress convinced me that this is the one. Enjoy the compliments!
3/2/07 4:31 PM
Diane E said...
What a terrific dress! I want I want! Thanks for the great review.
3/2/07 5:01 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great loooking dress, great job. Never heard of vintage buttonholers, though.
3/2/07 5:30 PM
carolynw said...
Thisis lovely and looks so much better than the pattern. The stripes add a lot of flair to the dress!! The boots and belt make you look like a real fashion plate!!
3/2/07 6:08 PM
Merry G said...
very nice! looks great on you
3/2/07 6:33 PM
marjenann said...
Stunner!!! Great dress, great figure in dress!!!!
3/2/07 6:46 PM
Gold said...
Looks very nice on you and love it with boots and belt.
3/2/07 7:24 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Looks very classy on you..great job!
3/2/07 10:02 PM
sewbehind said...
Gosh that looks great on you! Beautiful dress on a most beautiful woman.
3/2/07 10:26 PM
cindy-lou said...
Looks ho-hum on the envelope, but great on you! I think the stripes and the sturdier fabric make the dress. You go, girl!
3/2/07 11:42 PM
SusiM said...
Thank you for the very informative review. I love the fabric choice. looks great on you.
3/3/07 0:58 AM
Heatherrique said...
Cidell, that's sizzling hot on you and very chic! Wowee! Definitely much more beautiful than what's on the pattern envelope! You wear it very well!
3/3/07 3:00 AM
Liana said...
Just darling on you!
3/3/07 4:17 AM
Chimene said...
Nice dress. Thumbing through the vogue catalog I passed this up. I may have to rethink it. It looks great! Great review
3/3/07 8:22 AM
SarahWeb said...
This pattern worked up great for you. The dress looks fantastic on you! I may have to get this pattern.
3/3/07 11:02 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Great looking dress: I love this style, and it looks absolutely smashing on you.
3/3/07 12:42 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice dress.
3/3/07 3:32 PM
SewTwin said...
I love your colors! It does indeed look slimming, and I think the belt co-ordinates better, also. You have great style in picking fabric and patterns to match. Good Luck on future endeavors, but I don't think you will need it, as great as you are doing so far!
3/3/07 7:22 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW! You look like a million bucks in this dress. They should use you for the model on the pattern, as I don't think I would have bought it based on their drawing, but having seen yours, I might have to change my mind. Very nice!
3/3/07 11:26 PM
Erica B. said...
That dress is the hotness! Love the fabric!
3/3/07 11:53 PM
LiZ said...
Great dress.
3/4/07 3:12 PM
nimble said...
Sheesh!! That dress is unbelievable on you!! It is in an entirely different league than the pattern drawings. You are tiny and this makes you look like you are about 5 inches wide! :)
3/4/07 8:51 PM
PhyllisC said...
Love it ! And thse colors are amazing on you.
3/4/07 8:55 PM
MissCelie said...
I'm blushing!! Seriously. I don't know if I can live up to this dress again. Thank you all so much. It's such a honor to hear this kind of praise from my sewing peers.
3/4/07 9:27 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a great dress! The pattern drawing is pretty 'meh', but your version is spectacular!
3/5/07 8:03 AM
iamsewhappy said...
I thought I was the only one left who still prefers the old-time buttonholes. I use an old Singer buttonholer attachment, the one in a green plastic case, with my "antique" Elna SU and it works great. Love your dress!!
3/9/07 10:52 PM
HenriettenDK said...
I can't tell you how much I like this dress - and you have such a presence in photos...
4/3/07 11:38 AM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful on you.
5/15/07 9:08 AM
shelley piser said...
thanks. I am looking for a shirtdress pattern for a silk. I was wondering about the waistline, but your review helped me choose...
6/18/07 1:32 AM
craftyshark said...
Wow, this is a great dress! It looks much better than the pattern picture. The stripes really add some visual pop. It definitely looks like a pattern worth trying out. Thanks for the review!
8/5/07 8:42 PM
Tonya Richard said...
I was trying to find a shirtdress pattern, so went and found this one on the Vogue site. Didn't want to buy it without seeing what everyone on patternreview had to say. When I saw that you had reviewed it, I was so excited!!! I LOVE your style and respect your opinion : ) You said you made a 12, do you wear a 12 in Simplicity as well? I just started sewing for myself and have only made tops from simplicity patterns, was wondering if the sizing was the same? I am a 12 in Simplicity. Also, I have the perfect fabric, a chocolate pinstriped shirting, didn't know what I was going to do with this fabric, now I do!!!!
8/13/07 10:46 AM
Olivia Sews said...
Fantastic dress!! Great idea for corduroy!
9/7/07 2:04 PM
CatSari said...
Love it! You made what looks like a complicated stripe pattern look WONDERFUL. *awe*
4/15/10 12:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

StyleArc Janet Jacket Janet Jacket
photo
Review by clothingen... on 2/4/14
Read Review

McCalls 6726 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6726 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1732 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1732 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-109 Pea Coat
photo
Review by myraminx on 7/30/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )
Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern
Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us