SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 575 (Sonya's Blouse)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1816 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 204 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/07 11:32 PM
Last Updated:3/6/07 10:39 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marny said...
This is really lovely, both the color and the style. Thanks for your review.
10/10/07 3:00 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Great review, Annette. Such a pretty color! I recently purchased several Silhouette patterns, including this one. I plan to make this in a short-sleeve version, from linen. Your comments concerning the cut of the pattern will be a great help when it comes to making mine. I'll be making a muslin first time around. French seams are a nice idea; I just might try them on this! Thanks for a thorough review.
5/17/07 11:52 PM
Annette1 said...
I KNOW ... it's that COLOR I love. :o)) Today I was in Walgreen's, and there was some ribbon in there exactly that same color. I carried it around for a while, until I finally decided I wasn't actually going to DO anything with it, that I just liked the color, so I put it back. :o) I remember when I was in junior high (MANY YEARSS AGO), my mom made me two swimming suits, one this color and one a hot pink. I still love those colors to this day. Thanks!
3/8/07 6:53 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a fabulous jacket! I love the color.
3/8/07 4:50 PM
Linda G said...
Very nice, good job on the construction and good review.
3/7/07 1:07 PM
rainycity said...
I just bought this pattern up at Expo after seeing it in the shows. You really did a good job. Sager's patterns have become popular with my sewing guild. I have sewn one, and bought four more. I got a pretty good fit but had to cut down length of body and arms. I believe she said they were for a person 5"7" and I am 5'4." Thanks for the good review. Hope my project comes out as good as yours.
3/7/07 10:15 AM
Annette1 said...
I noticed when I used her method of turning the collar point, it worked really slick! I guess she knows what she's doing. :o)
3/5/07 0:08 AM
Msews2 said...
I've been meaning to sew up a couple of my Silhouette patterns but I don't have this one. Just a comment to add about the 3/8" SA. I attended two seminars by Peggy Sagers and in both of them she emphasized that the 3/8" allowance helped in several areas: using the feed dogs ease in sleeves on flat construction, turning collar points (no need to trim the angles-I was a skeptic, but it works), facing points, and edgestitching collars directly to necklines. I suppose for other seams a French seam might be better, but I'd keep the 3/8" for those areas. I even trim my collars after cutting out the patterns now to allow a 3/8" SA.
3/4/07 11:43 PM
LiZ said...
Lovely Blouse.
3/4/07 2:40 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I love Silhouette patterns...they are a new exciting find for me. You did a fabulous job on this
3/3/07 6:34 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on your top. Perhaps you can adapt the collar from this one to use on the Kwik-Sew pattern, & get the best of both?
3/3/07 3:56 PM
FloraNature said...
This is gorgeous - such a fresh and vibrant colour! It looks like a very comfortable blouse to wear, yet smart too.
3/3/07 12:58 PM
cecelia said...
Very pretty--I love the color green--it's so "Springish" and happy looking.
3/3/07 12:26 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Nice clean lines. You did a nice job on this one.
3/3/07 11:22 AM
SarahWeb said...
Very cute, and nice work! Love the color.
3/3/07 10:49 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice - I had been wondering about this pattern so may add it to my stash - guess my New Year's resolution to stop increasing pattern and fabric stash has bit the dust!!
3/3/07 9:51 AM
suzanrossi said...
Beautifully sewn!
3/3/07 8:58 AM
Marji said...
Your work looks beautiful.
3/3/07 8:34 AM
blue mooney said...
Quite sharp! It looks like this blouse could make up well as a casual jacket, too.
3/3/07 7:57 AM
Cheryl Reeves said...
I love this blouse. I ordered this pattern a couple of months ago but have not made it yet. I really like yours.
3/3/07 1:38 AM
Riordan said...
Very pretty!! And a very helpful review, too! Thanks!
3/3/07 0:01 AM
KarmenG said...
Welcome Annette! (if this is your 1st review.) This looks very promising. I like the styling a lot. How is the fit of it in the corduroy? Is it tight, considering the firmness of your fabric? I'm just curious on how the Silhouette blouse pattern corresonds to the corduroy for my future reference. Let us know if you give this another try with french seams. By the way, your topstitching looks great!
3/2/07 11:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

McCall's 8524

photo
by: AK2012

Review
Silhouette Patterns 312

photo
by: annie11

Review
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

More Info