Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5314 (Misses' Wrap Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 4103 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 30 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/07 12:19 PM
Last Updated:5/5/08 1:58 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
56 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Really cool dress. Great tips on alterations...I need do those too re small bust. Great results !!
3/4/07 12:48 PM
Lisette said...
Great looking dress.
3/4/07 1:08 PM
Nancy K said...
Really nice dress! Looks great on you too which is always a good thing!
3/4/07 1:30 PM
madhatter said...
Very beautiful!
3/4/07 2:10 PM
Kay Romo said...
Really just too cute!
3/4/07 4:48 PM
Tiner W said...
It's so beautiful!
3/4/07 5:21 PM
Gsd said...
I was very happy to see another review for this dress I'm hoping to make this next. I love the dress and it looks great on you.
3/4/07 6:45 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice dress and top.
3/4/07 7:02 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Nicegirl !!!
3/4/07 7:05 PM
cindy-lou said...
I have the Simplicity version of this pattern and hope mine can look as nice in yellow eyelet as yours does in suiting fabric!
3/4/07 9:29 PM
LorelleD said...
You have style. You always make nice clothes. Thanks for the informative review.
3/5/07 2:31 AM
ryan's mom said...
Super! Email your pics to the pattern company so they can use one of your photos on the pattern envelope :) ! I love how you dealt with the make-one-for-me comments.
3/5/07 7:00 AM
Marhamner said...
Beautiful dress! Good job!
3/5/07 9:59 AM
jnamcd said...
Great job!! I'm behind in checking out what has been going on here! Anyways--you really worked hard on this--so many alterations--but really worth it! I think the muslin is cute too--I like the colors! And I loved the story about everyone wanting you to make one for them--great comebacks! Great review!
3/5/07 5:33 PM
AnneM said...
I've decided you are going to need a new closet with all the clothing you have been sewing. Fun dress, and it will span a number of seasons, I think.
3/5/07 9:12 PM
nicegirl said...
Thank you everyone! Of course now it's too cold to wear this, but hopefully by next week I can wear it to work. AnneM--it's not a matter of going to need a new closet, I already need a new one! And I have a big walk in one. Not to mention the good sized closet in my sewing room, which is devoted exclusively to costumes and dress up clothes. I can't imagine what I would do if I had to share a closet with someone.
3/5/07 10:09 PM
cathy45 said...
Great review! I really appreciated seeing the photos of your pattern adjustments.
3/7/07 9:17 AM
HenriettenDK said...
Fab!
3/14/07 4:24 PM
Soliel said...
Thanks for showing me this...I almost bought this pattern but didn't because it seemed too shirtdress, like. But I can see, from your review, how feminine it is. Thanks!
4/4/07 10:14 AM
LiZ said...
Ffabulous dress.
4/4/07 12:39 PM
janella said...
looks wonderful! How tall are you? I'm 5ft3 and am trying to work out if this pattern will be ok even though it is not a petite. I can shorten the length but was wondering about where the waist ends up/length of bodice.
4/28/07 1:57 AM
nicegirl said...
Hi Janella-I'm 5' 1.5" so you look like a giraffe compared to me. `-) I didn't shorten the bodice per se, though my SBA took a little length out of it. A pic of the altered front pattern piece is linked above, which might help you.
4/28/07 10:10 AM
carolynw said...
Nopt sure how I missed this review - love the top - looks good and thanks for all the tips on the problems and useful solutions
4/28/07 6:46 PM
janella said...
thanks!!! :)
4/29/07 6:24 AM
Marji said...
great dress, and you Really made this pattern work for you.
4/29/07 7:21 AM
morzel said...
Well, happy birthday to you then! Lucky you, getting such wonderful fabric. And worth it, as you turn it into a wonderful dress!
8/31/07 3:34 AM
Huldra said...
Wonderful dress! I think you matched the print really well. Happy birthday, btw. :)
8/31/07 6:24 AM
AnitaJ said...
Great birthday dress! Definitely worthy of your special fabric and worth the effort you put into this project. Happy Birthday and enjoy Greece! :)
8/31/07 6:33 AM
Sharon M said...
Happy Birthday! What a wonderful birthday gift! And a great use of fabric. All I can say is "WOW"!
8/31/07 8:33 AM
MissCelie said...
Oh. Ok. So, um, having some giver's remorse in only the best sense. I totally pictured this fabric as this dress. Gah. It's fantastic.
8/31/07 10:24 AM
OP Gal said...
Magnificent dress. Wonderful placement of the motif. Congratulations on an excellent job. Oh, and happy birthday!
8/31/07 11:00 AM
Tini said...
gorgeous!
8/31/07 11:32 AM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
You are so talented and creative, I tip my hat. Thank you for the detailed review. Oh and $25/hr for 6 hours plus materials, still puts the dress at around $200. A steal for custom couture! : )
8/31/07 1:07 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Wow. I'm speechless. Cutting it in a single layer really paid off.
8/31/07 1:13 PM
moss said...
25/hour is cheap cheap cheap... You would need to charge much more to really give them a sense of the sacrifice :)
8/31/07 1:54 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Wow, what a dress! Fantastic design placement.
8/31/07 2:04 PM
frame said...
Absolutely lovely. Happy Birthday!
8/31/07 2:22 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Happy birthday! Love the birthday dress. Love the pink and grey dress even more! Great job!
8/31/07 5:53 PM
DorothyK said...
What a great job. The dress is fantastic. Your meticulous attention to detail pays off. Happy birthday, and have a great trip.
8/31/07 7:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
Feliz compleanos, muchacha bonita! Tu vestida es muy linda! I am at a loss for words! What a breathtaking creation from such a stunning fabric (Thanks Cidell!). The girls at the party can only wish they have your adorable outfits! Enjoy your vacation!
8/31/07 8:12 PM
carolynw said...
Have a wonderful birthday and hope you enjoy your holiday as the news from Greece isn't all that good - however, my hairdresser is Greek and he says all is well. Looking forward to hearing from you when you get back - as said "enjoy' - DH and I loved it there.
8/31/07 9:48 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
oh my that is soooo cute! Love the boots too!
8/31/07 10:03 PM
Grammy Gin said...
You are just so talented! Hope you had a nice birthday & are having a wonderful vacation. Your dress is beautiful, btw.
9/1/07 10:28 AM
cindy-lou said...
Gorgeous, trena! You and cidell need to go out for great drinks at a hip restaurant. Have a wonderful birthday-- you're aging like fine wine! :)
9/1/07 11:52 AM
Sigrid. said...
Fabulous dress.
9/2/07 11:01 AM
Soliel said...
I really enjoyed looking at all your pics. I especially like the hot pink ribbon dress and the top you made with this pattern. Thank you for showing me, someone who has a very similar figure as you, how we can wear fitted white pants with a top like this and make it work. Sexy!
9/2/07 3:27 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Excellent job. I luv yr styling details. Cidell is far better friend that I would ever be :-). Great review as well. We can't wait to see what goodies u bring back frm Greece.!
9/12/07 5:10 PM
Karen6790 said...
Once again, I love what you did, and I WANT the fabric. Why didn't I see that at Paron's at PR Weekend? I would have bought a few yards of it myself. Looks great.
5/5/08 3:19 PM
pinkli said...
What a lovely job you made of this gorgeous top. Good for you! i love how it matches your dress form too. You make origami look so easy too!
5/5/08 3:30 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Nicegirl, I'm positively wild about your latest version blouse. Fabric, perfect. Collar and puff sleeves, charming and completely suited to your trim frame; but the origami trim is making me crazy! Trying desperately to figure out where on my body I could add it, without adding too many more lumps to the overall silhouette. There must be a way, and your tutorial will take me there. Thanks very much for that. You look gorgeous. -Lily
5/5/08 3:38 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
All of those are ADORABLE!!!! You are an excellent seamstress. I love seeing all of your work!!!!
5/5/08 8:04 PM
Heatherrique said...
Stunning blouse: enticing color, chic style and wonderfully constructed! I'll borrow your idea of making a blouse instead of a dress!
5/5/08 8:12 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Wow, your new top looks great. Seeing all the different looks you got out of just this one pattern is really inspirational. Just lovely - all of them!
5/5/08 8:45 PM
Pinkhibiscus said...
what a versatile pattern. very nice top!!
5/5/08 9:46 PM
vespabelle said...
luv it! I was totally inspired to make my muslin of htis pattern into a top. The green version is just gorgeous!
5/5/08 11:15 PM
EveS said...
Oh, this version is just KILLER! What an incredible fabric!!!
5/6/08 0:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Simplicity 2431
photo
Review by Lookingpas... on 9/9/11
Read Review

Butterick 4574 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )
Butterick 4574 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8887 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8887 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3887
photo
Review by angie.a on 7/8/08
Read Review

Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us