SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4044 (1940's Retro Suit)

15 more reviews
Viewed 2044 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 204 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/07 7:16 PM
Last Updated:3/21/07 1:22 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Futuralon said...
Have been thinking about making these so thanks for a clear review. I would like to pass on a tip. When using a loose weave such as linen or a fabric cut on the bias, reinforce the crotch curve with twill tape. I tried this with the other 40s retro pants and it was easy and I've had no drooping. I do think these patterns have deep crotches as a design element. I don't see ladies trousers fitted at the crotch in old movies. 40s underwear was also different - shorts in a woven, rather than the fitted knit panties or today - making the deep crotch more necessary.
9/24/12 5:23 PM
chunter said...
thanks for including the differences between what you thought *might* happen and what did -- allows the rest of us to learn from your assumptions, then make different mistakes ourselves.
10/19/09 1:49 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Tons of good information here! I bought the pattern last month - when JoAnne's was having a TO DIE FOR $1.00 per pattern sale! I am contemplating making the 40's style trouser, too!
6/5/08 5:51 AM
Laurie Lou said...
I made these pants and I too found them to be too big. And I can understand the crotch problem. Usually I need to lengthen mine but this one I didn't so at least they don't grab me in the crotch. I happen to have them on today as a matter of fact. I think it's just another Vanity Vogue. ..larger than the stated size on the envelope. But yours look nice!
3/21/07 2:00 PM
Annette1 said...
Yeah, why didn't I think of belt loops? :o)) I'll try going down a size, not adjusting the crotch length, and see what happens. Thanks!
3/21/07 12:10 PM
carolynw said...
Hi Anette - I do think going down a full size (not a 1/2 size as you suggest) would work well. The pants look really nice but a size smaller may solve the problems. Can you put belt loops on so you can wear with a belt - the falling down thing is a real pain inthe butt!! PARDON THE PUN!!
3/21/07 10:19 AM
Annette1 said...
Elona: Now that's a new one on me, about the boning, but now that you mention it, that's EXACTLY what it feels like it needs. Especially in the front, I feel like I'm constantly pulling them up (and I'm even long waisted). Thanks!
3/21/07 3:55 AM
Elona said...
I understand the falling-down thing on high-waisted pants without a waistband. Two things I remember reading somewhere about this (I think it may have been in an old Threads mag, maybe an article about Shermane Fouché?): 1. High-waisted pants do better with just a touch of boning. 2. You may need a ribbon waistline "stay," such as is used in formal gowns, to keep the waist where it belongs. Does anyone else remember reading something like this?
3/21/07 2:25 AM
cathy45 said...
I love this pattern but was wondering about the fit of the pants. Thank you for such a thorough review.
3/7/07 9:42 AM
KiwiWendy said...
great pants .. and so good that you got some empty bobbins after sewing it :D I must go back for the pattern and try it myself.
3/5/07 9:48 PM
Annette1 said...
Yeah, when I was cutting out the pattern pieces, I was noticing the jacket too. I really like the cut of it. I might try that sometime too. I'm going to make another pair of these pants though, while they're still fresh in my mind. I'll have to line these, though, because the fabric is rayon georgette (I think). I washed/dried it, whatever it is. It felt pretty stiff coming out of the washer, so I'm pretty sure it's rayon. You can whip up the jacket in the meantime -- ha!
3/5/07 9:08 PM
AnneM said...
I just bought this pattern. I also like that little dip (and the jacket style). Good info - I'll be careful on sizing, & shorten the front rise, I think, when I tackle this. (Time to get yourself a tripod! )
3/5/07 9:00 PM
Queendom said...
Annette, I think I'm becoming a big fan of your reviews! I was hoping someone would review this pattern, because I've already cut it out. My, what good taste we have!
3/5/07 7:36 PM
sarahb said...
i love the dip in the waistband! great pants!
3/5/07 4:08 PM
Nancy K said...
These pants look awesome on you. Wonderful fit. As to taking pictures. I use a tripod and the selftimer. I tilt it down a bit and it is trial and error and mangage to get some decent pictures. Sometimes better than DH takes
3/5/07 8:49 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking pants. I have this pattern and need to give it a try.
3/5/07 5:34 AM
Frosty772 said...
I have this pattern too and im waiting to make up the skirt (waiting for the right fabric lol) I agree the dip is really cute on the pants and is a great detail even if you are the only one to see it!! It adds so much femininty to the pants. Great job!!
3/4/07 11:22 PM
sewbehind said...
Annette, these look very slimming and flattering on you. Thank you for the review.
3/4/07 10:54 PM
Elona said...
Great review, and the pants look really pretty. The dip is CUTE, my dear. Keep the dip.
3/4/07 8:48 PM
mastdenman said...
I'm so glad you reviewed this pattern. It's been resting gently in my stash. I have a feeling it will be used. I do like wide legged pants. They look nice and dressy and are comfy at the same time.
3/4/07 7:42 PM
Annette1 said...
I HAVE a tripod somewhere, but do you think I can find it? :o) I sure hope it turns up. I just KNOW it's in the black hole (sewing room).
3/4/07 7:41 PM
Kay Y said...
I'm so glad to see these made up - I have this one in the pattern stash. They look very nice, and comfy too. I use a tripod for my camera which saves me a ton of twisting and irritation, and it's less shaky than holding it.
3/4/07 7:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Claire Handbag

Claire Handbag

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now