SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> OOP POST Cereal Offer (Misses' Tunic/Dress 1971)

Viewed 854 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/11/07 7:11 PM
Last Updated:3/11/07 7:11 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
This is so funny, a cereal pattern. Maybe they will start doing this again now that sewing is on the upswing?
3/23/07 3:20 PM
poplin said...
You rock. Great review!
3/13/07 3:36 AM
patsijean said...
"Y'all know by now, I love the 60's and 70's !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" So did I. This is a "brings back memories" dress. I love your version.
3/12/07 11:56 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for the sweet comments! Who would imagine sending cereal box tops for sewing patterns today? Cereal and sewing....Reading and analyzing cereal nutritional labels and reading and following directions of sewing patterns. Cereal is good for the body and sewing good for the creative spirit. So there is some correlation between a healthy breakfast, and activities that engage the mind and spirit....Home Economics (that's what it was called when I was growing up) is becoming an obsolete class in our public schools today. Many of my students envy me for taking that class years ago and the fact that I can sew some outfits! It is quite a shame that classes that teach children practical life skills are being eliminated. I think such classes motivate students to stay in school, give them a sense of accomplishment and achievement which readily transfer to the core classes - math, English, science.
3/12/07 2:30 PM
Josephine said...
I love it!! I'm a total 60's/70's nut, too. And I love that Marlo pic! :-D
3/12/07 2:13 PM
blue mooney said...
Very cute - and thanks for sharing your inspiration photos!
3/12/07 12:01 PM
Annette1 said...
Very cool! This looks great on you -- and I've never heard of a pattern being given away with cereal. I wish they'd do that now -- ha! Great job. :o)
3/12/07 12:00 PM
Irene Q said...
Thanks for sharing this vintage pattern with us - the "cereal company" part cracked me up!! And congratulations on sewing it up - it's still a really cute style.
3/12/07 11:24 AM
fuzzygalore said...
This looks really cool! And really good on you too. I would have chickened out at the thought of different buttons on the pockets, but you're right, it just makes it more interesting. Anyway, congratulations :-).
3/12/07 10:58 AM
quilter55 said...
What a cool dress and great fit! I also have a McCall's pattern made for Quaker Oats cereal; A-line dress or separates probably from about the same time.
3/12/07 8:24 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! This looks terrific on you, and what a great style!
3/12/07 7:24 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
I love your links.
3/12/07 4:27 AM
Nancywin said...
You will get a lot of wear out of this dress. Very cute!
3/12/07 1:28 AM
carolynw said...
I just had to read this review - a cereal offer pattern!! This looks real nice on you - you did a fantastic job.
3/11/07 10:39 PM
Tiner W said...
How cool--a pattern from a cereal company! Very cute!
3/11/07 10:32 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Very flattering on you.
3/11/07 7:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Jalie 2908

photo
by: Sugar Pie ...

Review

Pattern

Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

More Info
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

More Info