SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> OOP POST Cereal Offer (Misses' Tunic/Dress 1971)

Viewed 854 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/11/07 7:11 PM
Last Updated:3/11/07 7:11 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christina Sonja said...
Very flattering on you.
3/11/07 7:19 PM
Tiner W said...
How cool--a pattern from a cereal company! Very cute!
3/11/07 10:32 PM
carolynw said...
I just had to read this review - a cereal offer pattern!! This looks real nice on you - you did a fantastic job.
3/11/07 10:39 PM
Nancywin said...
You will get a lot of wear out of this dress. Very cute!
3/12/07 1:28 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
I love your links.
3/12/07 4:27 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! This looks terrific on you, and what a great style!
3/12/07 7:24 AM
quilter55 said...
What a cool dress and great fit! I also have a McCall's pattern made for Quaker Oats cereal; A-line dress or separates probably from about the same time.
3/12/07 8:24 AM
fuzzygalore said...
This looks really cool! And really good on you too. I would have chickened out at the thought of different buttons on the pockets, but you're right, it just makes it more interesting. Anyway, congratulations :-).
3/12/07 10:58 AM
Irene Q said...
Thanks for sharing this vintage pattern with us - the "cereal company" part cracked me up!! And congratulations on sewing it up - it's still a really cute style.
3/12/07 11:24 AM
Annette1 said...
Very cool! This looks great on you -- and I've never heard of a pattern being given away with cereal. I wish they'd do that now -- ha! Great job. :o)
3/12/07 12:00 PM
blue mooney said...
Very cute - and thanks for sharing your inspiration photos!
3/12/07 12:01 PM
Josephine said...
I love it!! I'm a total 60's/70's nut, too. And I love that Marlo pic! :-D
3/12/07 2:13 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for the sweet comments! Who would imagine sending cereal box tops for sewing patterns today? Cereal and sewing....Reading and analyzing cereal nutritional labels and reading and following directions of sewing patterns. Cereal is good for the body and sewing good for the creative spirit. So there is some correlation between a healthy breakfast, and activities that engage the mind and spirit....Home Economics (that's what it was called when I was growing up) is becoming an obsolete class in our public schools today. Many of my students envy me for taking that class years ago and the fact that I can sew some outfits! It is quite a shame that classes that teach children practical life skills are being eliminated. I think such classes motivate students to stay in school, give them a sense of accomplishment and achievement which readily transfer to the core classes - math, English, science.
3/12/07 2:30 PM
patsijean said...
"Y'all know by now, I love the 60's and 70's !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" So did I. This is a "brings back memories" dress. I love your version.
3/12/07 11:56 PM
poplin said...
You rock. Great review!
3/13/07 3:36 AM
AnneM said...
This is so funny, a cereal pattern. Maybe they will start doing this again now that sewing is on the upswing?
3/23/07 3:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Vogue Patterns 2463

photo
by: nanneke

Review
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now