SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3120 (Misses' Tops)

30 more reviews
Viewed 1730 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 368
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
patterns reviewed: 266
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/4/03 4:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said...
This is adorable on you! I am dying to make the one with the lacing (I think may put some kind of underlay in there though).
1/4/03 8:43 PM
said...
It looks beautiful, Deepika. Very becoming color and neckline.
1/4/03 7:06 PM
Deepika said...
Annette, thanks! The sleeve is just one piece.
1/4/03 6:53 PM
Snowkitty said...
Hi Deepika! Your top looks great. Is this sleeve one or two piece? Thanks!
1/4/03 6:46 PM
Deepika said...
It's always thrilling to read comments on one's work. Thanks everyone. Georgene, good idea for a contest! And yes, color blocking is the next thing I am going to go for. That's why I wanted to make sure this pattern is the right choice or not. Now that I have some confidence on this neckline technique, the next one I want to try is neckline binding and in that I could use the same color as the sleeves. I don't think this pattern has the binding instructions, but I don't think its that difficult.
1/4/03 6:14 PM
Nan said...
This looks so cute on you and very professional. Great job!
1/4/03 6:08 PM
Georgene said...
Good description of the neckline trimming technique, Deepika. That type of finish is also a good opportunity to use a contrast color fabric. And of course raglans are great for colorblocking. Endless combos! (new contest? how many ways to use the same pattern?)
1/4/03 4:51 PM
alex said...
Thanks for the review. I bought this pattern too when it came out because I like the look of the short sleeve version, but after seeing yours and Rustybobn's pictures, I may try the long sleeve version too!
1/4/03 4:49 PM
Teri said...
Deepika, what a nice looking top. Do you think the shaping is as nice as our favorite Burda Tee?
1/4/03 4:44 PM
LoriB said...
Very nice top Deepika! I like self fabric necklines also. I think they sometimes work better than "turn and stitch" because the grainline of the binding is all in the same direction whereas if you just turn the neckline under, the grainline changes as the neckline curves.
1/4/03 4:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-123A

photo
by: starryfish

Review
Maggie

Maggie

More Info
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

More Info