SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3120 (Misses' Tops)

30 more reviews
Viewed 1730 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 359
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 295 people
patterns reviewed: 259
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/4/03 4:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LoriB said...
Very nice top Deepika! I like self fabric necklines also. I think they sometimes work better than "turn and stitch" because the grainline of the binding is all in the same direction whereas if you just turn the neckline under, the grainline changes as the neckline curves.
1/4/03 4:42 PM
Teri said...
Deepika, what a nice looking top. Do you think the shaping is as nice as our favorite Burda Tee?
1/4/03 4:44 PM
alex said...
Thanks for the review. I bought this pattern too when it came out because I like the look of the short sleeve version, but after seeing yours and Rustybobn's pictures, I may try the long sleeve version too!
1/4/03 4:49 PM
Georgene said...
Good description of the neckline trimming technique, Deepika. That type of finish is also a good opportunity to use a contrast color fabric. And of course raglans are great for colorblocking. Endless combos! (new contest? how many ways to use the same pattern?)
1/4/03 4:51 PM
Nan said...
This looks so cute on you and very professional. Great job!
1/4/03 6:08 PM
Deepika said...
It's always thrilling to read comments on one's work. Thanks everyone. Georgene, good idea for a contest! And yes, color blocking is the next thing I am going to go for. That's why I wanted to make sure this pattern is the right choice or not. Now that I have some confidence on this neckline technique, the next one I want to try is neckline binding and in that I could use the same color as the sleeves. I don't think this pattern has the binding instructions, but I don't think its that difficult.
1/4/03 6:14 PM
Snowkitty said...
Hi Deepika! Your top looks great. Is this sleeve one or two piece? Thanks!
1/4/03 6:46 PM
Deepika said...
Annette, thanks! The sleeve is just one piece.
1/4/03 6:53 PM
said...
It looks beautiful, Deepika. Very becoming color and neckline.
1/4/03 7:06 PM
Gigi Louis said...
This is adorable on you! I am dying to make the one with the lacing (I think may put some kind of underlay in there though).
1/4/03 8:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Japanese Pattern Books

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Buy Now
Simplicity 2872

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review