SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3887 (pullover top)

42 more reviews
Viewed 1625 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 273
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 229
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/07 10:06 PM
Last Updated:9/22/07 9:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said...
That looks comfy and easy to wear! Great job!
3/15/07 10:25 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a pretty top! It looks lovely on you and I don't think it makes you look big at all.
3/15/07 10:38 PM
cindy-lou said...
Nancy, that SO does not make you look big! I also don't think it's too trendy or young. It's a great Spring Vacation top-- would be great with white capris. Great job!
3/15/07 11:22 PM
christine A said...
I think it is very cute on you.
3/16/07 0:03 AM
Christina Sonja said...
The blouse is very flattering on you, looks like a great warm weather piece. I have this pattern too and I'm looking forward to trying it out.
3/16/07 0:33 AM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous top, Nancy!
3/16/07 4:30 AM
cinnamon_toast said...
I have this pattern and have been waiting to make it - and how funny that this is the 2nd review of it in the last couple days. Your shirt came out wonderfully and I think this works better in a softer cotton fabric like you have done. Otherwise the gathering is too stiff. Do you think this would work nicely in cotton gauze?
3/16/07 8:30 AM
ryan's mom said...
Very pretty--I love the floral print!
3/16/07 8:35 AM
carolynw said...
Nancy thanks for this review - your top - despite any misgivings you may have - looks very, very nice and not at all big-big-big as you say. I was really interested to get your take on this pattern - I had picked it up and then put it back at the store as I thought too young for me and after the recent disaster with the yellow top (now being given away) I wasn't game to try again. Your review reinforces what I thought but I will say again - your's looks really nice.
3/16/07 8:51 AM
Nancywin said...
Thanks so much for all of your comments. I think this blouse would look really fabulous in a silk or other soft fabric. I think a gauze would be perfect, if not too heavy.
3/16/07 9:04 AM
Levone said...
Your top looks great on you! I definitely think that you should make it again.
3/16/07 9:14 AM
OP Gal said...
Sorry you didn't like the top. The fabric is so pretty.
3/16/07 11:25 AM
FloraNature said...
This is very pretty, and it looks wonderful on you!
3/16/07 3:53 PM
julierama said...
Nancy - I had the same problem with the yoke. Of course, I didnt realize this until AFTER I had finished the shirt! I may redraft the yoke if I make it again. I very much like your fabric choice. Well done!
3/16/07 4:34 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, this looks so bright and cheerful, and comfortable, too! I don't know where you come up with the "big, big, big" though. I think we're all more critical of ourselves than we should be. I hope you decide to wear it. :o)
3/16/07 10:46 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric.
3/18/07 8:11 AM
AnneM said...
It's not a bad style on you, really, just a casual summer style. I don't think you should hesitate to wear it out & about.
4/1/07 9:16 PM
LiZ said...
I think that your top looks lovely on you.
4/2/07 5:00 PM
Lori V said...
I really like your new version, it is so flattering.
9/22/07 9:40 PM
Annette1 said...
This really IS flattering, even without a belt. It drapes beautifully, and most CERTAINLY isn't "fattening." I'd say this one's a keeper.
9/22/07 9:54 PM
MissCelie said...
Very pretty. I can see why this is a favorite.
9/22/07 10:17 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I agree - this is really cute on you. Leave all hesitation behind!
9/22/07 11:26 PM
carolynw said...
Nancy I think you are selling me on gettign this pattern - your top looks super comfy and very pretty - you look great in it.
9/23/07 8:47 AM
JBsewmonster said...
I had the same thoughts as you when I saw this pattern. But now I'd like to make one for myself. The new version with contrast binding and yoke is fab! Removes any fat factor you may think is in this top. You look great!
9/23/07 8:56 AM
bunz said...
I honestly think it's flattering on you. And you don't have the preggers look. Well done.
9/23/07 2:50 PM
Sigrid. said...
Great blouse, you look good in it.
9/23/07 4:14 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I think it is a nice photo and you and the top look pretty good ;)
9/23/07 9:54 PM
EveS said...
I think this is a great top, Nancy...not at all fat or too young! Just breezy and summery! I love it!
9/28/07 11:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

McCall's 6264

photo
by: magpie57

Review
McCall's 6361

photo
by: wingamajig

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Buy Now