Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3887 (pullover top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1624 times 42 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 266
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/07 10:06 PM
Last Updated:9/22/07 9:27 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Em's Summer said...
That looks comfy and easy to wear! Great job!
3/15/07 10:25 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a pretty top! It looks lovely on you and I don't think it makes you look big at all.
3/15/07 10:38 PM
cindy-lou said...
Nancy, that SO does not make you look big! I also don't think it's too trendy or young. It's a great Spring Vacation top-- would be great with white capris. Great job!
3/15/07 11:22 PM
christine A said...
I think it is very cute on you.
3/16/07 0:03 AM
Christina Sonja said...
The blouse is very flattering on you, looks like a great warm weather piece. I have this pattern too and I'm looking forward to trying it out.
3/16/07 0:33 AM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous top, Nancy!
3/16/07 4:30 AM
cinnamon_toast said...
I have this pattern and have been waiting to make it - and how funny that this is the 2nd review of it in the last couple days. Your shirt came out wonderfully and I think this works better in a softer cotton fabric like you have done. Otherwise the gathering is too stiff. Do you think this would work nicely in cotton gauze?
3/16/07 8:30 AM
ryan's mom said...
Very pretty--I love the floral print!
3/16/07 8:35 AM
carolynw said...
Nancy thanks for this review - your top - despite any misgivings you may have - looks very, very nice and not at all big-big-big as you say. I was really interested to get your take on this pattern - I had picked it up and then put it back at the store as I thought too young for me and after the recent disaster with the yellow top (now being given away) I wasn't game to try again. Your review reinforces what I thought but I will say again - your's looks really nice.
3/16/07 8:51 AM
Nancywin said...
Thanks so much for all of your comments. I think this blouse would look really fabulous in a silk or other soft fabric. I think a gauze would be perfect, if not too heavy.
3/16/07 9:04 AM
Levone said...
Your top looks great on you! I definitely think that you should make it again.
3/16/07 9:14 AM
OP Gal said...
Sorry you didn't like the top. The fabric is so pretty.
3/16/07 11:25 AM
FloraNature said...
This is very pretty, and it looks wonderful on you!
3/16/07 3:53 PM
julierama said...
Nancy - I had the same problem with the yoke. Of course, I didnt realize this until AFTER I had finished the shirt! I may redraft the yoke if I make it again. I very much like your fabric choice. Well done!
3/16/07 4:34 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, this looks so bright and cheerful, and comfortable, too! I don't know where you come up with the "big, big, big" though. I think we're all more critical of ourselves than we should be. I hope you decide to wear it. :o)
3/16/07 10:46 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric.
3/18/07 8:11 AM
AnneM said...
It's not a bad style on you, really, just a casual summer style. I don't think you should hesitate to wear it out & about.
4/1/07 9:16 PM
LiZ said...
I think that your top looks lovely on you.
4/2/07 5:00 PM
Lori V said...
I really like your new version, it is so flattering.
9/22/07 9:40 PM
Annette1 said...
This really IS flattering, even without a belt. It drapes beautifully, and most CERTAINLY isn't "fattening." I'd say this one's a keeper.
9/22/07 9:54 PM
MissCelie said...
Very pretty. I can see why this is a favorite.
9/22/07 10:17 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I agree - this is really cute on you. Leave all hesitation behind!
9/22/07 11:26 PM
carolynw said...
Nancy I think you are selling me on gettign this pattern - your top looks super comfy and very pretty - you look great in it.
9/23/07 8:47 AM
JBsewmonster said...
I had the same thoughts as you when I saw this pattern. But now I'd like to make one for myself. The new version with contrast binding and yoke is fab! Removes any fat factor you may think is in this top. You look great!
9/23/07 8:56 AM
bunz said...
I honestly think it's flattering on you. And you don't have the preggers look. Well done.
9/23/07 2:50 PM
Sigrid. said...
Great blouse, you look good in it.
9/23/07 4:14 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I think it is a nice photo and you and the top look pretty good ;)
9/23/07 9:54 PM
EveS said...
I think this is a great top, Nancy...not at all fat or too young! Just breezy and summery! I love it!
9/28/07 11:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Peek-a-Boo Pattern Shop Sugar Plum Nightgown
photo
Review by MayenDesig... on 10/10/13
Read Review

Basic Top
Basic Top

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4786 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4786 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Au Bonheur des Petites Mains 40033
photo
Review by Noile on 4/10/12
Read Review

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us