SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3887 (pullover top)

42 more reviews
Viewed 1625 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 274
Favored by: 122 people
patterns reviewed: 230
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/07 10:06 PM
Last Updated:9/22/07 9:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EveS said...
I think this is a great top, Nancy...not at all fat or too young! Just breezy and summery! I love it!
9/28/07 11:46 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I think it is a nice photo and you and the top look pretty good ;)
9/23/07 9:54 PM
Sigrid. said...
Great blouse, you look good in it.
9/23/07 4:14 PM
bunz said...
I honestly think it's flattering on you. And you don't have the preggers look. Well done.
9/23/07 2:50 PM
JBsewmonster said...
I had the same thoughts as you when I saw this pattern. But now I'd like to make one for myself. The new version with contrast binding and yoke is fab! Removes any fat factor you may think is in this top. You look great!
9/23/07 8:56 AM
carolynw said...
Nancy I think you are selling me on gettign this pattern - your top looks super comfy and very pretty - you look great in it.
9/23/07 8:47 AM
Elemenopeo said...
I agree - this is really cute on you. Leave all hesitation behind!
9/22/07 11:26 PM
MissCelie said...
Very pretty. I can see why this is a favorite.
9/22/07 10:17 PM
Annette1 said...
This really IS flattering, even without a belt. It drapes beautifully, and most CERTAINLY isn't "fattening." I'd say this one's a keeper.
9/22/07 9:54 PM
Lori V said...
I really like your new version, it is so flattering.
9/22/07 9:40 PM
LiZ said...
I think that your top looks lovely on you.
4/2/07 5:00 PM
AnneM said...
It's not a bad style on you, really, just a casual summer style. I don't think you should hesitate to wear it out & about.
4/1/07 9:16 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric.
3/18/07 8:11 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, this looks so bright and cheerful, and comfortable, too! I don't know where you come up with the "big, big, big" though. I think we're all more critical of ourselves than we should be. I hope you decide to wear it. :o)
3/16/07 10:46 PM
julierama said...
Nancy - I had the same problem with the yoke. Of course, I didnt realize this until AFTER I had finished the shirt! I may redraft the yoke if I make it again. I very much like your fabric choice. Well done!
3/16/07 4:34 PM
FloraNature said...
This is very pretty, and it looks wonderful on you!
3/16/07 3:53 PM
OP Gal said...
Sorry you didn't like the top. The fabric is so pretty.
3/16/07 11:25 AM
Levone said...
Your top looks great on you! I definitely think that you should make it again.
3/16/07 9:14 AM
Nancywin said...
Thanks so much for all of your comments. I think this blouse would look really fabulous in a silk or other soft fabric. I think a gauze would be perfect, if not too heavy.
3/16/07 9:04 AM
carolynw said...
Nancy thanks for this review - your top - despite any misgivings you may have - looks very, very nice and not at all big-big-big as you say. I was really interested to get your take on this pattern - I had picked it up and then put it back at the store as I thought too young for me and after the recent disaster with the yellow top (now being given away) I wasn't game to try again. Your review reinforces what I thought but I will say again - your's looks really nice.
3/16/07 8:51 AM
ryan's mom said...
Very pretty--I love the floral print!
3/16/07 8:35 AM
cinnamon_toast said...
I have this pattern and have been waiting to make it - and how funny that this is the 2nd review of it in the last couple days. Your shirt came out wonderfully and I think this works better in a softer cotton fabric like you have done. Otherwise the gathering is too stiff. Do you think this would work nicely in cotton gauze?
3/16/07 8:30 AM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous top, Nancy!
3/16/07 4:30 AM
Christina Sonja said...
The blouse is very flattering on you, looks like a great warm weather piece. I have this pattern too and I'm looking forward to trying it out.
3/16/07 0:33 AM
christine A said...
I think it is very cute on you.
3/16/07 0:03 AM
cindy-lou said...
Nancy, that SO does not make you look big! I also don't think it's too trendy or young. It's a great Spring Vacation top-- would be great with white capris. Great job!
3/15/07 11:22 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a pretty top! It looks lovely on you and I don't think it makes you look big at all.
3/15/07 10:38 PM
Em's Summer said...
That looks comfy and easy to wear! Great job!
3/15/07 10:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

McCall's 5974

photo
by: sarah121ha...

Review
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 1801

photo
by: carrie1858...

Review