SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2007-104 (Short sleeve jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1260 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD United States
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 227 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/07 9:05 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
48 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Donna Likes Golf said...
Love it, love it, love it! Wish I had started subscribing to BWOF sooner! I would definately make this. You did a great job (as always) and it looks wonderful on you. Pretty smile, girlfriend!
4/26/09 3:00 PM
AlexaNJ said...
I LOVE your fabric choice! It looks awesome on you! Wonderful job!!
4/17/07 12:34 PM
Nancywin said...
I love this jacket on you! I didn't like it in the magazine, but now I will have to go back and have a second look. Your fabric choice is perfect!
4/10/07 10:21 AM
SandraB said...
Very cute jacket Cidell. You always do such a fabulous job.
3/30/07 5:53 PM
MissCelie said...
Wow. Thanks everyone. I was really nervous about making this style. You guys are the best at making a girl feel good about prefering her sewing machine to a late night out!

SewSewSew, I did find I could fold it down, but I kept it up because it let me have an upturned collar like 'the kids' are wearing these days.

That being said, I had to wash it the first day I wore it because my MAC NW50 was all over the collar edge.

By all means make it, fold the collar down or shorten the collar. Or you could end the placket at the collar edge and wear it down.
3/29/07 10:15 AM

SewSewSew said...
This looks fantastic! I saw this in the magazine & liked the look but I don't find a stand up collar very comfortable, and wondered if the collar would be easy enough to fold down and wear it that way. I'm so glad that you have made it, as now I can ask you! Does it look and feel ok with the collar turned down when you are wearing it, or does it really need to be worn up in the style that you are wearing it. (Looks great on you, btw) Thanks
3/29/07 0:45 AM
SewSewSew said...
This looks fantastic! I saw this in the magazine & liked the look but I don't find a stand up collar very comfortable, and wondered if the collar would be easy enough to fold down and wear it that way. I'm so glad that you have made it, as now I can ask you! Does it look and feel ok with the collar turned down when you are wearing it, or does it really need to be worn up in the style that you are wearing it. (Looks great on you, btw) Thanks
3/29/07 0:44 AM
Karen6790 said...
What a great jacket! I love how BWOF patterns can sometimes look so much better on a "real" person - I had no interest in this jacket from the magazine, but after seeing it on you, I'm mentally going through the fabric stash. Nice job, very nice review.
3/29/07 0:27 AM
Tany said...
Really good looking jacket! Wonderful job!
3/28/07 6:03 PM
jnamcd said...
Great looking jacket! I love it! I might have to give that pattern a second look --oh great --so many patterns, so little time!!!
3/28/07 5:01 PM
ChristineX said...
Great job on that jacket! It fits you perfectly! I wasn't interested in this pattern before either, but it really is a nice piece and looks fabulous. Thanks for the review.
3/28/07 12:35 PM
OP Gal said...
Your jacket is just adorable. I love the fabric. The collar frames your face and that amazing smile beautifully. Great job.
3/28/07 9:52 AM
SarahWeb said...
Very cute jacket. I also like your idea of making this up for fall in wool or tweed. This seems to be a nice versatile pattern. Thanks for reviewing it!
3/28/07 8:57 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, this looks fantastic, just like a picture from an upscale catalog. Bravo!
3/28/07 8:55 AM
Nancy K said...
Great job! Looks terrific on you
3/28/07 7:25 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Ooh! I like this one :-). Your fabric works great (you're right, crispness is a must to keep that collar up). I think the collar is meant to engulf half your face - think of the current big Wendy coat for instance, which would work well closed up in a blizzard. Maybe this one is good in case you forget your sunscreen ;-)? I don't think you should line cotton though, unless it's with organza or something really light and really crisp, I'd be afraid it'd get too soft otherwise. Good job :-)!
3/28/07 4:19 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Good match with pattern and fabric!
3/28/07 0:20 AM
AndSewOn said...
Soooo nice!
3/27/07 11:19 PM
Sew4Fun said...
What a great spring jacket. I didn't even notice this pattern in BWOF. I need to take a 2nd look.
3/27/07 7:54 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Another great piece. Serious envy: is there anything that doesn't look wonderfully stylish on you?
3/27/07 7:15 PM
Dr. Alice said...
Too cute - very flattering fit! Thanks for the great review!
3/27/07 7:04 PM
MeganJ said...
This is wonderful! Nice fit, and very Spring.
3/27/07 6:38 PM
poplin said...
Wow!
3/27/07 6:28 PM
sewbehind said...
Seriously cute. I like it.
3/27/07 6:22 PM
SewAriane said...
Cute jacket! I will have to add this to my list.
3/27/07 4:53 PM
LBJ said...
You look fabulous. Very nice!
3/27/07 4:03 PM
HenriettenDK said...
Love it - and you have a great smile!
3/27/07 3:54 PM
Lori V said...
This jacket is so cute, it looks great on you.
3/27/07 3:31 PM
Hilary said...
Your jacket is gorgeous and looks very well done! Amazing how that button thing works, huh? LOL. I like your version better than WOF's! Thanks for the review!
3/27/07 3:21 PM
regine said...
Your jacket is beautiful, suits you very well.
3/27/07 3:16 PM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely a stunning jacket, Cidell!
3/27/07 1:58 PM
Terri Smith said...
Adorable. Thanks so much for such a great review.
3/27/07 1:50 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your jacket could not be any cuter! I like the buttons better than snaps. Great review and great job on the jacket.
3/27/07 1:22 PM
Chris Kelly said...
This is so very cute on you! I love this fabric for the jacket....great idea!
3/27/07 12:45 PM
Erica B. said...
Great looking jacket... I love the fabric. It looks so "Spring-y"!
3/27/07 12:42 PM
QuantumLobster said...
This jacket is GORGEOUS! It looks amazing on you!!
3/27/07 12:41 PM
sewitfitsyou said...
That is such a great look on you! Love the fabric and the styling! I'm going to have to go look at that issue again.
3/27/07 12:08 PM
mochalover said...
Great jacket and I love your choice of fabric!
3/27/07 10:47 AM
Elona said...
Funny review! And a great-looking jacket.
3/27/07 10:47 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
I like yours better than Burda's. The buttons make it.
3/27/07 10:23 AM
nicegirl said...
I love the fabric print! Very stylish shape and polished look.
3/27/07 10:22 AM
CarolynGM said...
Nice spring look, and it fits you so perfectly! I love that fabric.
3/27/07 10:19 AM
Cowtown Karen said...
Another great review from you! Love it!
3/27/07 10:17 AM
Gold said...
Nice summer jacket and great colors.Well made. Love the clearance rack.
3/27/07 10:17 AM
LauraM62 said...
Really love it! Looks so classic on you, yet so fun!
3/27/07 10:15 AM
Levone said...
Great looking jacket!
3/27/07 10:12 AM
madhatter said...
this jacket looks wonderful on you - it's beautifully sewn and your fabric is lovely!
3/27/07 10:10 AM
Re Becca said...
I love it too! It looks very fun and very spring. I like the details like the belt carriers, and the collar/front placket. great job with some "left-over" fabric.
3/27/07 9:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Butterick 4684

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review

Pattern

PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 1779

photo
by: StefanieSC...

Review