Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8301 (Misses jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1217 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:SarahWeb
photo
Friend of PR
About SarahWebstar
MT USA
Member since: 11/24/05
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/17/07 1:59 AM
Last Updated:3/17/07 2:06 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Carolyndh said...
Very nice! I have this pattern and will have to make it up similarly to yours. Thanks for the pointers on top stitching, underlining, and adding a lining.
3/17/07 2:24 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Really nice jacket! I love the style on you.
3/17/07 2:55 AM
Karen8320 said...
Sarah, you look like a million bucks in this! You have done a fabulous job and I'm sure you will receive many compliments on this garment. This really is very snazzy! Thanks for the advice about adding a lining. I, too, love the feel of linings on jackets and these days am not inclined to wear unlined jackets. Well done!
3/17/07 3:17 AM
SansSouci572 said...
I would have never thought of making this..now I must! What a jacket!
3/17/07 3:44 AM
jlg said...
Very cool jacket.
3/17/07 5:46 AM
Jeans said...
Well done Sarah.....I do agree with you 100% on linning jackets as I'm in the process of making one myself but, a different pattern....I really love your Jacket.... the bottons go with it so well....I'm from Down Under here in Australia and we are entering Autumn and I'm in the prosess of making Warmer clothes for myself and like you it's great fun when your making a garment that fits well and you feel proud of yourself....Love your Jacket and love your review , well done :-)
3/17/07 6:44 AM
blue mooney said...
Oooh, nice. Very classy.
3/17/07 7:57 AM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful jacket. Appreciate the tip on topstiching.
3/17/07 8:47 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great job your chic, stylish jacket. I see what you mean about the closures. I agree it might help moving the hooks farther inside.
3/17/07 9:09 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great jacket and a wonderful review to read. I like your writing style!
3/17/07 9:23 AM
Lori V said...
Very classy jacket, thanks for the topstitching hing.
3/17/07 9:35 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket and very helpful review - do see what you mean about the hook and eyes and maybe moving them in would help. I had quite a chuckle as I to would be in the same place trying to hook those up! Must say - lovely background too!!
3/17/07 10:18 AM
Kay Y said...
Very very lovely - your topstitching looks perfect as do the buttons.
3/17/07 10:25 AM
cindy-lou said...
Sarah, this jacket ROCKS! I love it. I think the closures look just fine from an aesthetic standpoint, but I bet it's hard to find them and close them-- I dislike hook-and-eyes for that reason. Great jacket!!!
3/17/07 10:31 AM
CSY said...
Supurb!
3/17/07 10:49 AM
moushka said...
Aren't Nancy's fabrics fantastic? I drool over every newsletter. Your jacket looks awesome. I think you deserve to upgrade your sewing level to "Advanced" :-) Sue
3/17/07 12:07 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Do I ever love this jacket!
3/17/07 12:08 PM
PegL said...
I love your jacket and the buttons are fantastic! Great review!
3/17/07 12:12 PM
suzanrossi said...
You LOOK like a million bucks in this jacket, too. Beautifully done! - Yeah, put those hooks in a bit more, you'll want to be able to close it from time to time, don't you think?
3/17/07 12:27 PM
Puddin Pop said...
This jacket is so gorgeous. I would love to have something like this. You did a beautiful job, the fabric and buttons go great together.
3/17/07 12:37 PM
lmg said...
Beatiful jacket. I have this pattern and I love what you did with it. I will be using all your tips when I make mine. Thanks!
3/17/07 1:34 PM
fuzzygalore said...
You do look like a million bucks :-). And I totally agree about the lining. But I wonder about those hooks... Is there any way you could replace them with snaps, say by adding a small flap? I'd feel like mere thousands in a jacket I had to fasten in the morning and leave as is..
3/17/07 1:59 PM
SarahWeb said...
Fuzzygalore, that's a great suggestion. I'll have to think it over. Maybe if I can secure the flaps back to the inside for when I want to leave the jacket open, that might be a good solution. Thanks for the idea!
3/17/07 2:46 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Those buttons and closure really make this jacket--beautiful on you!! Thank you for sharing. Carla
3/17/07 7:11 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Those buttons and closure really make this jacket--beautiful on you!! Thank you for sharing. Carla
3/17/07 7:11 PM
Linda G said...
Extremely beautiful...and I love the buttons.
3/17/07 9:53 PM
Tany said...
Just beautiful!
3/18/07 7:03 AM
ryan's mom said...
So nice! It looks so stylish too!!
3/18/07 8:08 AM
crisford said...
Excellent job, looks great on you! The buttons really make it. I have had the same experience with fittting before and after lining.
3/18/07 12:01 PM
cecelia said...
Your jacket is beautiful and fits well, a real "keeper." Love the buttons, and nice to know about FSG fabrics!
3/18/07 2:20 PM
AnneM said...
Excellent. Great buttons. Well worth lining.
3/18/07 5:30 PM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful job, Sarah. A cantilevered snap at the front might work better than the hook and eye. I think it would pull that part of the jacket closer together and wouldn't show. Also, you could do that by feel - wouldn't have to actually see it.
3/18/07 8:39 PM
LiZ said...
Fabulous jacket, the button detail looks great.
3/19/07 3:51 PM
SarahKatharine said...
So helpful--thank you!!
10/17/07 10:32 PM
GrammaSewn said...
I love the military look to this!
8/24/08 9:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2010-109
photo
Review by Elizabeth ... on 3/17/12
Read Review

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6460
photo
Review by irem on 9/9/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3487 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3487 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6015 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 6015 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us