SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8301 (Misses jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1230 times 
Reviewed by:SarahWeb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SarahWebstar
MT United States
Member since: 11/24/05
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/17/07 1:59 AM
Last Updated:3/17/07 2:06 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 31 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GrammaSewn said...
I love the military look to this!
8/24/08 9:24 PM
SarahKatharine said...
So helpful--thank you!!
10/17/07 10:32 PM
LiZ said...
Fabulous jacket, the button detail looks great.
3/19/07 3:51 PM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful job, Sarah. A cantilevered snap at the front might work better than the hook and eye. I think it would pull that part of the jacket closer together and wouldn't show. Also, you could do that by feel - wouldn't have to actually see it.
3/18/07 8:39 PM
AnneM said...
Excellent. Great buttons. Well worth lining.
3/18/07 5:30 PM
cecelia said...
Your jacket is beautiful and fits well, a real "keeper." Love the buttons, and nice to know about FSG fabrics!
3/18/07 2:20 PM
crisford said...
Excellent job, looks great on you! The buttons really make it. I have had the same experience with fittting before and after lining.
3/18/07 12:01 PM
ryan's mom said...
So nice! It looks so stylish too!!
3/18/07 8:08 AM
Tany said...
Just beautiful!
3/18/07 7:03 AM
Linda G said...
Extremely beautiful...and I love the buttons.
3/17/07 9:53 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Those buttons and closure really make this jacket--beautiful on you!! Thank you for sharing. Carla
3/17/07 7:11 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Those buttons and closure really make this jacket--beautiful on you!! Thank you for sharing. Carla
3/17/07 7:11 PM
SarahWeb said...
Fuzzygalore, that's a great suggestion. I'll have to think it over. Maybe if I can secure the flaps back to the inside for when I want to leave the jacket open, that might be a good solution. Thanks for the idea!
3/17/07 2:46 PM
fuzzygalore said...
You do look like a million bucks :-). And I totally agree about the lining. But I wonder about those hooks... Is there any way you could replace them with snaps, say by adding a small flap? I'd feel like mere thousands in a jacket I had to fasten in the morning and leave as is..
3/17/07 1:59 PM
lmg said...
Beatiful jacket. I have this pattern and I love what you did with it. I will be using all your tips when I make mine. Thanks!
3/17/07 1:34 PM
Puddin Pop said...
This jacket is so gorgeous. I would love to have something like this. You did a beautiful job, the fabric and buttons go great together.
3/17/07 12:37 PM
suzanrossi said...
You LOOK like a million bucks in this jacket, too. Beautifully done! - Yeah, put those hooks in a bit more, you'll want to be able to close it from time to time, don't you think?
3/17/07 12:27 PM
PegL said...
I love your jacket and the buttons are fantastic! Great review!
3/17/07 12:12 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Do I ever love this jacket!
3/17/07 12:08 PM
moushka said...
Aren't Nancy's fabrics fantastic? I drool over every newsletter. Your jacket looks awesome. I think you deserve to upgrade your sewing level to "Advanced" :-) Sue
3/17/07 12:07 PM
CSY said...
Supurb!
3/17/07 10:49 AM
cindy-lou said...
Sarah, this jacket ROCKS! I love it. I think the closures look just fine from an aesthetic standpoint, but I bet it's hard to find them and close them-- I dislike hook-and-eyes for that reason. Great jacket!!!
3/17/07 10:31 AM
Kay Y said...
Very very lovely - your topstitching looks perfect as do the buttons.
3/17/07 10:25 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket and very helpful review - do see what you mean about the hook and eyes and maybe moving them in would help. I had quite a chuckle as I to would be in the same place trying to hook those up! Must say - lovely background too!!
3/17/07 10:18 AM
Lori V said...
Very classy jacket, thanks for the topstitching hing.
3/17/07 9:35 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great jacket and a wonderful review to read. I like your writing style!
3/17/07 9:23 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great job your chic, stylish jacket. I see what you mean about the closures. I agree it might help moving the hooks farther inside.
3/17/07 9:09 AM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful jacket. Appreciate the tip on topstiching.
3/17/07 8:47 AM
blue mooney said...
Oooh, nice. Very classy.
3/17/07 7:57 AM
Jeans said...
Well done Sarah.....I do agree with you 100% on linning jackets as I'm in the process of making one myself but, a different pattern....I really love your Jacket.... the bottons go with it so well....I'm from Down Under here in Australia and we are entering Autumn and I'm in the prosess of making Warmer clothes for myself and like you it's great fun when your making a garment that fits well and you feel proud of yourself....Love your Jacket and love your review , well done :-)
3/17/07 6:44 AM
jlg said...
Very cool jacket.
3/17/07 5:46 AM
SansSouci572 said...
I would have never thought of making this..now I must! What a jacket!
3/17/07 3:44 AM
Karen8320 said...
Sarah, you look like a million bucks in this! You have done a fabulous job and I'm sure you will receive many compliments on this garment. This really is very snazzy! Thanks for the advice about adding a lining. I, too, love the feel of linings on jackets and these days am not inclined to wear unlined jackets. Well done!
3/17/07 3:17 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Really nice jacket! I love the style on you.
3/17/07 2:55 AM
Carolyndh said...
Very nice! I have this pattern and will have to make it up similarly to yours. Thanks for the pointers on top stitching, underlining, and adding a lining.
3/17/07 2:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Simplicity 3673

photo
by: lauramae

Review
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

More Info