Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4020 (Batwing 80s Knit Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1715 times 70 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:3/21/07 1:04 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fern said...
Looks great, Nicegirl! I really like the fabric. Now I can see that some of these large-scale patterns might work for me, in a top like this.
3/21/07 1:23 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Very cute and hip. Your necklace is a perfect enhancement.
3/21/07 1:41 PM
squirrellypoo said...
That's really cute, even if it is just a short-term thrill. I made a different view on this patterns and LOVED it - I was shocked when it wasn't in the top patterns of 2006!
3/21/07 1:44 PM
Gold said...
Love the colors. Great details you did.
3/21/07 1:48 PM
frame said...
Cute top on you. I like the fabric. It's nice that in your reviews, you mention the time it took to make the garment, where you purchased your fabric and an approximate cost. Even if you don't sew to save money (although I do), you have to appreciate how much you can save by making something yourself.
3/21/07 2:23 PM
j222b said...
The song was "1985", I think. I like your reviews (& your taste in music).
3/21/07 3:13 PM
kiddo said...
Great job!
3/21/07 3:27 PM
nicegirl said...
Oh man, you're right j22b. It is 1985 (I originally wrote 1984). In my defense, the song was actually about 1984, but 1985 rhymes with "preoccupied." OK, I didn't really know that before but it's on the official Bowling for Soup website in their bio.
3/21/07 3:29 PM
jnamcd said...
I really like this! I really like your fabric, too! I admit, Deb's RTW knock-off was great --and I have this pattern too, but didn't even think that it was similar to her awesome creation! Actually, I've been eyeing that pattern in my stash and was wondering why I bought it, but now after being reminded of Deb's, and after seeing your great creation, I'm going to have to give it a try! Thanks!
3/21/07 3:49 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice top. I like how you altered the neckline.
3/21/07 7:07 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous top and fabric Nicegirl !!!
3/21/07 7:57 PM
Linda G said...
I think it looks great
3/21/07 8:46 PM
SusiM said...
i really like your style and the info you share in your reviews. Thanks. The top is cute.
3/22/07 0:23 AM
ryan's mom said...
Looks great on you! I would not buy this based on the pattern envelope pics--just not my style, but your version makes it look terrific and with a great print too.
3/22/07 6:33 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
I think this is a real winner: perfect for the Spring weather that's on it's way. Love the colors and the style on you.
3/22/07 12:11 PM
SarahWeb said...
Very, very hip. I love the fabric and I think the style looks great on you!
3/24/07 9:35 AM
AnneM said...
Nice top. I picked up this pattern for view D, but this view is turning out well in the reviews.
3/25/07 5:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 4384 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by lizziwhizz on 10/24/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )
Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 3097 Sweatshirt
photo
Review by Margaret on 2/17/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2478 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2478 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us