SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Storm Mountain Designs> 14 (Tunnel Mountain Tights)

Viewed 782 times 
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo

 
 
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 134
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/07 3:45 PM
Last Updated:8/24/14 10:17 AM
Project Photo:Storm Mountain Designs: 14 by Seamingly Simple

  
Pattern Photo: Storm Mountain Designs Pattern Info

More Info provided by Seamingly Simple

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Updated to provide a link for a current source for Storm Mountain Designs. My original light cycling tights needed to be replaced after so many years of service, so I made these "Blue Hawaiian" ones, again out of swimsuit lycra. I'd forgotten how great this pattern is: so quick and easy to sew and unlike a lot of new patterns, this one has a rise high enough to cover my belly and sway back. Nice for a maturing figure. Original review below.
-------------

The story: Yes, these are a little bright! I ride my bicycle to work year-round and wanted something that would repel motorists. I really liked the brightly coloured flowers on the basic black background of this swimsuit lycra: perfect for springtime biking!

Pattern description: "The basic unisex Tunnel Mountain Tights pattern is ideal for use for running or cycling tights, fashion leggings, aerobic wear, and they even make great long underwear."

Pattern sizing and alterations you made: The pattern comes in sizes XS-XXL. I made size M (hip 36.5-42"; inseam 29-31") and shortened the leg 1" (I am 5'2").

What did you particularly like about the pattern? There is only one pattern piece and this goes together quickly. Including tracing my size, the whole project took an hour.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy: serge one leg's inseam, serge the other leg's inseam, pop one leg inside the other and serge the front and back crotch seams. Serge and hem the legs, serge elastic onto the waist and topstitch down. That's it. There are diagrams that show each step.

Did it look like the drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Well, no. My muscles aren't that well developed!

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? This is a versatile, basic pattern. I have also used it to make fleece tights to wear under ski pants.

Conclusion: This is a fast sewing project. I'll just have to make sure that I ride faster than the bumblebees....

Fabric soucrce: (In response to query by Kay Y). This fabric was in the discount bin beside a cutting table at Fabricland last fall. The line up to get fabric cut that day was long, and I stood in line long enough to get the nerve to buy it. The flowers kind of grew on me (no pun intended). The selvedge identifies the fabric as Christina swimwear 2003 collection.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Does this pant pattern come with firm body parts?? Tee! Hee! Go for you--for both sewing and biking.
3/18/07 4:00 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Ah, no, it doesn't. That's what all the lycra is for!
3/18/07 4:10 PM
khurtdvm said...
Those tights are great! Motorists won't be able to miss you!
3/18/07 4:30 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
khurtdvm, I hope the motorists DO miss me, if you know what I mean :-)
3/18/07 4:37 PM
Kay Y said...
Wow, those are great! Can you share your fabric source?
3/18/07 4:41 PM
Em's Summer said...
WOW! This is great! Thanks for this review!
3/18/07 5:03 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Great tights--and what a wild print choice for them! You'll definitely be visible on the road. :-)
3/18/07 6:00 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very shapely and excellent motorist repellent. You might have to watch out for bees though.
3/18/07 6:39 PM
Janime said...
Love 'em!!!
3/18/07 8:54 PM
Frogstitcher said...
I would save these for spring, I can't imagine they'd be warm enough for winter biking. Although, in the winter when it's dark they would probably help to keep you visible. Don't you just love your serger for these fast-sew lycra projects!
3/18/07 9:25 PM
hongkongshopper said...
lol......
3/18/07 10:41 PM
Heatherrique said...
Groovy darling!
3/18/07 11:33 PM
pamici said...
Dang I wish I had a serger --- these are awesome!
3/19/07 9:39 PM
AnneM said...
ROFLOL - repel motorists. Great pants, and nice to know that serging worked well. I haven't tried these because I keep thinking I should use a coverstitch machine, which I don't own.
3/20/07 2:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Kwik Sew 3300

photo
by: myraminx

Review
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now