SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2605 (Girls swimsuits)

13 more reviews
Viewed 634 times 
Reviewed by:purpleseamstress
photo

 
 
About purpleseamstressstar
TX
Member since: 6/9/05
Reviews: 43 (patterns: 30)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/07 6:11 PM
Last Updated:3/18/07 6:15 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Lauri Jean said... (4/12/07 11:23 AM) Reply
oHHH....wish I had read your review before making my daughter's suit. I ran into the same exact sizing problem. Thanks for the good review.
sewmom3 said... (3/19/07 7:03 AM) Reply
Something I recently found out - I'm so used to cutting on the grain that I did the same with something I made with swimsuit nylon/lycra. I later found out the these fabrics are made with the greater stretch going with the grain and should be cut accordingly.
Heatherrique said... (3/18/07 11:32 PM) Reply
Nice swim/dance wear! Thanks for the heads up on the sizing! I might try this pattern sometime soon!
CaraSkates said... (3/18/07 6:51 PM) Reply
I've always found Kwik Sew's girls activewear patterns to run at least one size small. Example - when my tiny little sister wore 7 & 8 slim RTW I made KS size 10 leotard/swimsuits. I'm intending on buying this pattern (in the bigger sizes) to make her swim suits this summer and I will be making probably a 10 with 12 length. She is now 11 and still fits into a Limited Too size 7 bathing suit. I hope that helps!
CarolynGM said... (3/18/07 6:41 PM) Reply
Adorable swimsuits. Maybe you just need to lengthen the pieces if the circumference is ok?
RuthieSews said... (3/18/07 6:18 PM) Reply
Purpleseamstress, I think from the phots that your daughter may be long waisted, particularly at the front which is why the fit is not what you expect, as the briefs come lower on her than the drawing too in addition to the takini top not coming down as far as the drawing.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Pattern Work
Pattern Work

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2010-115

photo
by: GeoP

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2010-145

photo
by: Kabunta

Review
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Pattern Details