SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2605 (Girls swimsuits)

13 more reviews
Viewed 632 times 
Reviewed by:purpleseamstress
photo

 
 
About purpleseamstressstar
TX
Member since: 6/9/05
Reviews written: 43
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/07 6:11 PM
Last Updated:3/18/07 6:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
Purpleseamstress, I think from the phots that your daughter may be long waisted, particularly at the front which is why the fit is not what you expect, as the briefs come lower on her than the drawing too in addition to the takini top not coming down as far as the drawing.
3/18/07 6:18 PM
CarolynGM said...
Adorable swimsuits. Maybe you just need to lengthen the pieces if the circumference is ok?
3/18/07 6:41 PM
CaraSkates said...
I've always found Kwik Sew's girls activewear patterns to run at least one size small. Example - when my tiny little sister wore 7 & 8 slim RTW I made KS size 10 leotard/swimsuits. I'm intending on buying this pattern (in the bigger sizes) to make her swim suits this summer and I will be making probably a 10 with 12 length. She is now 11 and still fits into a Limited Too size 7 bathing suit. I hope that helps!
3/18/07 6:51 PM
Heatherrique said...
Nice swim/dance wear! Thanks for the heads up on the sizing! I might try this pattern sometime soon!
3/18/07 11:32 PM
sewmom3 said...
Something I recently found out - I'm so used to cutting on the grain that I did the same with something I made with swimsuit nylon/lycra. I later found out the these fabrics are made with the greater stretch going with the grain and should be cut accordingly.
3/19/07 7:03 AM
Lauri Jean said...
oHHH....wish I had read your review before making my daughter's suit. I ran into the same exact sizing problem. Thanks for the good review.
4/12/07 11:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 1317

photo
by: Erica B.

Review
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now
Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

Buy Now