Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2006-121 (Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1015 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 267
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/26/07 8:43 PM
Last Updated:3/26/07 8:45 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kay Romo said...
Just wondering if back crotch part of U needs to be hollowed out?
3/27/07 0:20 AM
ElsaD said...
The pants look very good. Congratulations!
3/27/07 0:30 AM
RuthieSews said...
The pants look great. Not sure if you really want them in your travel wardrobe if they wrinkle terribly. I try to wash and wear everything for trips before going and anything that crinkles or creases gets left at home.
3/27/07 3:34 AM
Margie T said...
Great looking pants. Excellent review-thank you.
3/27/07 3:51 AM
mochalover said...
Your pants look great. You have inspired me to try this pattern for myself.
3/27/07 6:00 AM
JuliaS said...
You crack me up! :) I think it's very funny that the fabric you picked for your travel wardrobe wrinkles terribly. So sorry about that! Maybe it would be better suited to staying close to home where the iron lives...
3/27/07 8:19 AM
Nancywin said...
I think this is going to have to be a "practice" travel wardrobe since this fabric is such a bear. It will be perfect for here anyway since it gets so hot in the summer. Our trip to Hawaii is not until December, so I have plenty of time to do it again!
3/27/07 9:43 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
This looks like a good basic trousers pattern. I might be able to help with the fit. According to the wrinkle chart in the Minott Method book on skirts and pants, the diagonal wrinkles at the back are caused by the inseam being positioned too far out. To address it you should cut the pattern off just above the knee, slide the lower leg inward, and redraw the inseam and outseams. They say this is common for women with wide hips because unless we stand with our legs apart, the line of the fabric must bend inward, creating the lower half of a diamond between our hips and ankles. HTH.
3/27/07 10:42 AM
Chris Kelly said...
Thanks for a great review..
3/27/07 1:05 PM
cindy-lou said...
Love the pants and the review! Personally, I think these will be great travel-to-Hawaii pants because 1) it's hot there, and 2) all hotels have irons now. If you're camping out, you might have to re-think them; otherwise, pack 'em, baby! BEAUTIFUL WORK!
3/27/07 1:18 PM
Nancywin said...
SS - thanks, I'll give it a try!
3/27/07 1:43 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sizzling pants!
3/28/07 0:53 AM
ChristineX said...
The pants look great--they were already on my list of things to make. Thanks for the review!
3/28/07 12:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

New Look 6429
photo
Review by JuanitaVA on 7/3/11
Read Review

Burda 8501 Pattern
Burda 8501 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2890 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2890 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6284
photo
Review by Andreahg on 12/21/11
Read Review

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us