Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2007-106 (Sleeveless Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1270 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Tany
photo
About Tanystarstarstar
PORTUGAL
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/07 6:55 PM
Last Updated:3/28/07 7:43 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
breathless said...
What a beautiful dress!! I love the style! I love your shoes too!
3/28/07 7:05 PM
MissCelie said...
I've been watching you put this together on your blog! What a fabulous dress. I've got the muslin for this one cut out. You did a tremendous job!
3/28/07 7:29 PM
Gold said...
Very very elegant. You did a great job.
3/28/07 7:35 PM
Linda G said...
Beautiful...I have looked at that dress pattern several times...you have inspired me to get it done!!
3/28/07 7:49 PM
2BSewing said...
I agree with you...your dress is very elegant. Love the fabric you chose. Great fit.
3/28/07 8:19 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Beautiful Tany. I bet it looks great with the Orwell coat.
3/28/07 8:27 PM
Karen8320 said...
Tany, what a lovely dress! This is so stylish and, wow, those shoes look fantastic and such a perfect match for this garment! I couldn't agree more about the value of sewing up a muslin before commencing. I love your advice about being meticulous with the hidden details because that's what really makes special clothes really special.
3/28/07 8:40 PM
Dmd4106 said...
fab dress. gorgeous shoes. u did a excellent job on yr review.
3/28/07 8:57 PM
Heatherrique said...
What a showstopper! Well made and you look sizzling hot in it! You convinced me to get this pattern!
3/28/07 8:59 PM
judy_m said...
Fabulous dress.
3/28/07 9:13 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very stylish dress
3/28/07 10:12 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Another fantastic creation that you've made! Beautiful work - I loved seeing you put this one together.
3/28/07 10:40 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Very nice looking dress, the muslin was totally worth it in terms of fit. But I really don't understand the value of interfacing either an entire dress, or a poly blend??
3/29/07 3:37 AM
Tany said...
fuzzygalore: The fabric I used is really thin, it wrinkles a lot and I thought that underlining the dress to provide more body to it would be a good idea. I could have used traditional methods to underline the dress but this very thin knit fusible interfacing produced the effect that I had in mind. With another fabric or with another pattern (more fluid dress) this procedure wouldn't be necessary. Thank you all for your kind words!
3/29/07 4:06 AM
trinicity said...
you make pinstripes look HOT, I am loving this dress
3/29/07 5:31 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow. Yours is sooo much better than the one in the magazine. Thank you for a very helpful review.
3/29/07 7:31 AM
SarahWeb said...
This is a very elegant dress!
3/29/07 8:42 AM
Nancy K said...
Looks fab on you!
3/29/07 8:50 AM
carolynw said...
Very stylish - great job
3/29/07 8:57 AM
Zaneta said...
Tany...I love your detail!! I can't wait for my jan edition
3/29/07 9:13 AM
Sewliz said...
Very pretty dress. It would be nice to have a full review here rather than a synopsis with a link to another site.
3/29/07 9:13 AM
cindy-lou said...
Tany, the inside work on your dress is just gorgeous! I bet it makes you feel just as beautiful inside and out. Great work!
3/29/07 9:33 AM
cmarie12 said...
Tany ~ I have been following along with your construction on your blog. It is a beautiful and well made dress!
3/29/07 9:56 AM
Marji said...
Tany, the results are fantastic. I need to respectfully disagree with Liz, the documentation on your blog of putting this dress together is so thorough that it would be impractical and impossible to put it all into the scope of a review here. Thank-you for all the time you put into documenting the process making this.
3/29/07 10:34 AM
pungsnotded said...
Gorgeous! This dress will be in style for ever!
3/29/07 11:07 AM
jdrose said...
what a beautiful dress.!!! Great job!!!
3/29/07 11:09 AM
madhatter said...
woo-hoo! beautiful dress, perfecly fitting and with gorgeous details - love it!
3/29/07 12:16 PM
ConnieBJ said...
there is some stunning detail work in this dress! wonderfull
3/29/07 7:03 PM
Maychi said...
Fabulous!
3/30/07 10:16 AM
blue mooney said...
This looks great on you, and I really enjoyed seeing how beautifully you finished the insides.
3/31/07 9:05 AM
SewTwin said...
What a dress! Looks like just came off the runway! I myself, appreciate the dress, your review, and the blog. I take help anyway, I can get it..
4/4/07 2:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Petite Plus Patterns 601
photo
Review by mlt on 7/1/07
Read Review

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Full Bust DVD
Full Bust DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by rmomontrea... on 5/30/13
Read Review

Vogue 8877 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8877 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8732 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8732 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us