SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2007-106 (Sleeveless Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1270 times 
Reviewed by:Tany
photo

 
 
About Tanystarstarstar
PORTUGAL
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/07 6:55 PM
Last Updated:3/28/07 7:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewTwin said...
What a dress! Looks like just came off the runway! I myself, appreciate the dress, your review, and the blog. I take help anyway, I can get it..
4/4/07 2:37 AM
blue mooney said...
This looks great on you, and I really enjoyed seeing how beautifully you finished the insides.
3/31/07 9:05 AM
Maychi said...
Fabulous!
3/30/07 10:16 AM
ConnieBJ said...
there is some stunning detail work in this dress! wonderfull
3/29/07 7:03 PM
madhatter said...
woo-hoo! beautiful dress, perfecly fitting and with gorgeous details - love it!
3/29/07 12:16 PM
jdrose said...
what a beautiful dress.!!! Great job!!!
3/29/07 11:09 AM
pungsnotded said...
Gorgeous! This dress will be in style for ever!
3/29/07 11:07 AM
Marji said...
Tany, the results are fantastic. I need to respectfully disagree with Liz, the documentation on your blog of putting this dress together is so thorough that it would be impractical and impossible to put it all into the scope of a review here. Thank-you for all the time you put into documenting the process making this.
3/29/07 10:34 AM
cmarie12 said...
Tany ~ I have been following along with your construction on your blog. It is a beautiful and well made dress!
3/29/07 9:56 AM
cindy-lou said...
Tany, the inside work on your dress is just gorgeous! I bet it makes you feel just as beautiful inside and out. Great work!
3/29/07 9:33 AM
Sewliz said...
Very pretty dress. It would be nice to have a full review here rather than a synopsis with a link to another site.
3/29/07 9:13 AM
Zaneta said...
Tany...I love your detail!! I can't wait for my jan edition
3/29/07 9:13 AM
carolynw said...
Very stylish - great job
3/29/07 8:57 AM
Nancy K said...
Looks fab on you!
3/29/07 8:50 AM
SarahWeb said...
This is a very elegant dress!
3/29/07 8:42 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow. Yours is sooo much better than the one in the magazine. Thank you for a very helpful review.
3/29/07 7:31 AM
trinicity said...
you make pinstripes look HOT, I am loving this dress
3/29/07 5:31 AM
Tany said...
fuzzygalore: The fabric I used is really thin, it wrinkles a lot and I thought that underlining the dress to provide more body to it would be a good idea. I could have used traditional methods to underline the dress but this very thin knit fusible interfacing produced the effect that I had in mind. With another fabric or with another pattern (more fluid dress) this procedure wouldn't be necessary. Thank you all for your kind words!
3/29/07 4:06 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Very nice looking dress, the muslin was totally worth it in terms of fit. But I really don't understand the value of interfacing either an entire dress, or a poly blend??
3/29/07 3:37 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Another fantastic creation that you've made! Beautiful work - I loved seeing you put this one together.
3/28/07 10:40 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very stylish dress
3/28/07 10:12 PM
judy_m said...
Fabulous dress.
3/28/07 9:13 PM
Heatherrique said...
What a showstopper! Well made and you look sizzling hot in it! You convinced me to get this pattern!
3/28/07 8:59 PM
Dmd4106 said...
fab dress. gorgeous shoes. u did a excellent job on yr review.
3/28/07 8:57 PM
Karen8320 said...
Tany, what a lovely dress! This is so stylish and, wow, those shoes look fantastic and such a perfect match for this garment! I couldn't agree more about the value of sewing up a muslin before commencing. I love your advice about being meticulous with the hidden details because that's what really makes special clothes really special.
3/28/07 8:40 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Beautiful Tany. I bet it looks great with the Orwell coat.
3/28/07 8:27 PM
2BSewing said...
I agree with you...your dress is very elegant. Love the fabric you chose. Great fit.
3/28/07 8:19 PM
Linda G said...
Beautiful...I have looked at that dress pattern several times...you have inspired me to get it done!!
3/28/07 7:49 PM
Gold said...
Very very elegant. You did a great job.
3/28/07 7:35 PM
MissCelie said...
I've been watching you put this together on your blog! What a fabulous dress. I've got the muslin for this one cut out. You did a tremendous job!
3/28/07 7:29 PM
breathless said...
What a beautiful dress!! I love the style! I love your shoes too!
3/28/07 7:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now
Go To Patterns Go To Gift Bags

photo
by: kidmd

Review