SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7975 (jacket)

62 more reviews
Viewed 5727 times 
Reviewed by:Marji
photo

 
 
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/07 5:02 PM
Last Updated:4/9/07 12:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 51 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
61 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Truly stunning. The quality really shows up. Hard work really pays off, doesn't it.
4/2/07 5:23 PM
Re Becca said...
Very beautiful! It looks every minute of 70 hours. Your labor of love is going to be a source of pride for years to come. Thanks for all of your help on the jacket sew along!
4/2/07 5:29 PM
Sewliz said...
It's beautiful!
4/2/07 5:30 PM
VelmaRooster said...
Wow! This jacket is beautiful! Your artistic eye and sewing talent is truly an inspiration for those of us who are new to the world of sewing. You help bring out the best in Pattern Review!
4/2/07 5:33 PM
Pinkytoo said...
You're killing me! Next SWAP please send me this one which you won't need anymore...Beautiful job all the way around!
4/2/07 5:35 PM
Riordan said...
What a lovely jacket--truly exquisite work!!
4/2/07 5:55 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous jacket.
4/2/07 6:04 PM
Donna H said...
OOOHHHHH...Marji...awesome jacket! Mine looks like yours without the trim and pockets. I need trim! Yours is gorgeous!! Great job.
4/2/07 6:06 PM
Tany said...
Outstanding!! Thank you for this very helpful review!
4/2/07 6:18 PM
CarolynGM said...
Spectacular! And your review is so inspiring with all the detailed pictures of your process.
4/2/07 6:52 PM
slanden99 said...
Beatiful and cute at the same time
4/2/07 6:55 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
This is a luscious, delicious jacket. The fabric, lining, trim, buttons - all of it - it's all beautiful. Fabulous job!
4/2/07 7:21 PM
Jan B. said...
Oh my gosh, that is truly a gorgeous jacket!
4/2/07 7:22 PM
j222b said...
I wish I could think of the right compliments...I'm speechless. Beautiful!!
4/2/07 7:23 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful piece of work! Truly drop dead gorgeous jacket--Move over Mdse Chanel
4/2/07 7:26 PM
Jodi B. said...
This is absolutely stunning, Marji. Beautiful jacket and beautiful workmanship.
4/2/07 7:52 PM
Elona said...
What a beautiful, beautiful jacket! It is gorgeous in every detail--and I love looking at every little detail! Marvelous work.
4/2/07 8:18 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Stunning! Thanks for all the photos etc. I want to make one of these too, but 70 hours? Mmmm, may make my TV viewing time more productive. lol
4/2/07 8:40 PM
Mardi2 said...
Beautiful, love the color and love the detail!
4/2/07 9:32 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful jacket - your trims have made this jacket high end couture. Lovely.
4/2/07 11:08 PM
Karen8320 said...
Marji, all I can say is WOW! This is just beautiful work! I am so impressed by your workmanship and the time that you have put into this garment. Thank you for all of your added advice about your entire sewing process. I am hoping to embark on a similar sewing project and your advice is invaluable. Just fantastic!
4/3/07 2:29 AM
Jane S said...
Marj, thanks for sharing these and your details. Susan passed her jackets around at the ASG conference class I took and that soft, sweater like feel is what made me say I want one too. Thanks for keeping me inspired!
4/3/07 7:30 AM
SarahWeb said...
What a stunning jacket. I especially enjoy looking at your fabric and trim. I visit San Francisco annually with my family but none of them could stomach a shopping interlude at Britex. I can only stand on the sidewalk and look in. Boohoo! Anyway, enjoy your beautiful jacket. You will get many compliments, I am quite sure.
4/3/07 9:18 AM
yummymummy38 said...
the superlatives have been all used. Absolutely haute couture, inspiring colour choices in trims etc make this a work of art. Enjoyed the SWAP album too, thanks for sharing.
4/3/07 9:48 AM
cathy45 said...
Exquisite. Your work is always so beautiful and inspiring.
4/3/07 9:48 AM
ribbit2jen said...
I can't thank you enough for this review. I've just been going on and on about how I'm planning on making this type of jacket myself on my blog, so your review is so timely. Thanks!!! It looks so awesome!
4/3/07 11:58 AM
LiZ said...
A beautiful, stunning jacket. Great review and all those photos are really helpful.
4/3/07 4:32 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
What a great jacket and review: I feel as if you've given all us a tutorial in couture sewing. All the hours you spend on this have resulted in a fantastic result.
4/3/07 6:32 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Your many hours of work shows! Lovely in every way!
4/3/07 6:39 PM
SandraB said...
What a lovely jacket. Very nice work.
4/3/07 9:52 PM
Nancywin said...
Excellent. I have thought about doing this process as well. I wish you would have said something like 20 hours! LOL It is absolutely fabulous. where did you get the chain for the hem?
4/3/07 10:57 PM
OP Gal said...
Absolutely stunning. Your work is truly inspiring. Thank you for sharing it with us.
4/3/07 10:58 PM
Em's Summer said...
I love this jacket! Just love it!
4/3/07 11:59 PM
kathi s said...
Beautiful job! I am green with envy! I took Susan's class in San Francisco in January, but have not yet finished my jacket. They are truely a labor of love and as soon as the family problems I came home to subside, I will get back to it. I really admire your ability to work from the Threads article- I needed to be talked through everything. Everyone agreed with Susan that after all that handwork we could understand why a custom Chanel jacket costs $10,000.00!
4/4/07 2:08 AM
Marji said...
KathiS, I should explain, 2 years ago I did take the jacket class from Susan, that was before she wrote the article for Threads. In fact one of the members of our class used the same fabric as she used (the black/white popcorn boucle) to make the jacket featured in the article. I use the article now as reference, but did have the benefit of the class the first time. I've made several now.
4/4/07 8:50 AM
KempCorr said...
Marji - absolutely beautiful. I haven't done one yet, but have been thinking about it. You are an inspiration. Thank you for the review
4/4/07 8:35 PM
KempCorr said...
Marji - absolutely beautiful. I haven't done one yet, but have been thinking about it. You are an inspiration. Thank you for the review
4/4/07 8:52 PM
Sharon M said...
Wow! Absolutely beautiful! I enjoyed seeing the detailed photos. 70+ hours of time well spent - the jacket is stunning.
4/4/07 10:01 PM
dbsewer said...
Marji, what a gorgeous jacket and your construction is superb.
4/5/07 8:15 AM
Nancy K said...
Really wonderful jacket. The construction and details are wonderful. Is there a picture of you in it?
4/6/07 7:49 PM
SewTwin said...
Coco would be envious!More hours than I have patience for. I will just stand in awe!
4/7/07 0:30 AM
Rhoda K said...
All I can say is ditto to all the above - just beautiful! Love your red walls, too ;-)
4/9/07 1:25 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for sharing these glorious jackets and the process involved in making such gorgeous work! Kudos to you and your diligence!!
4/9/07 2:23 PM
carolynw said...
A lot of work but it paid off in spades - two absolutely beautiful jackets - you truly inspire us!!
4/9/07 3:03 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Wow, Marji!! You can be SO proud!! A real Coco!!
4/9/07 5:07 PM
PhyllisC said...
And - aren't they sooo comfortable? Marji, how do you store your jackets? I fold mine like a sweater and keep it in a drawer. I wore it to work today, and I just love it.
4/9/07 5:42 PM
Zaneta said...
Marji, I love your jacket it looks like a designer RTW
4/10/07 1:14 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful Marji. I especially like the colour and the trim you chose really makes the jacket.
4/10/07 3:07 AM
carnelian said...
Coco! Your photograph gave me a delicious shock of recognition! The drape on the body, the texture, the lines...check out a photo of Chanel wearing one of her own!
4/11/07 10:01 AM
Annette1 said...
THANK YOU for letting us see all the detailed pictures of the sewing process and your STUNNING jackets. I love every single detail. I really appreciate you talent and your willingness to share with all of us. :o)
4/13/07 2:09 AM
AnneM said...
Great jacket. If it took you 70 hours, I can't imagine how long it would take me! I love the concept of couture and hand sewing, but I'm so slow at it that I opt for other methods. I want to make some 'soft jackets'; they are so useful in today's business casual environment.
4/13/07 7:38 AM
Membear said...
I have enjoyed yoyr pics so much . I have made the same jacket with the same inspiration from the Threads article .I must learn how to set up pictures on the net and post it too. I really enjoyed the process and it did take such alot of work. I love your SWAPgarments Its a terrific set of colours and designs you have chosen GREAT WORK
5/29/07 10:24 PM
LindsayT said...
Looking forward to making this jacket using your fabulous instructions!
8/4/07 10:36 PM
PatriciaM said...
Your photos are excellent! Your entire review is exceptionally helpful to me. Thank you.
8/19/07 4:32 PM
inkstain said...
I made this jacket, but felt a little let down by the sloppy feel until I added 1/2" shoulder pads. It made just that little bit of difference to the drape of a very soft wool weave. Great-looking finish on your jacket and I love the two-pocket variation. I tried to make a tie using the braid that rimmed the edges. Not entirely authentic but just enough to set it off in a bow for the evening. www.dinahleekung.com
10/22/07 3:31 AM
WJean said...
Your work is exquisite. The boucles that are pictured in your jackets are very, very pretty. The detailed photos that you kept and shared are priceless. I hope this stays on the site for a very long time. This is one of the best reviews I have seen. Now, it's time for me to take the plunge and make my Chanel-like jacket using Susan Khalje's wonderful directions. Thank you so much.
11/12/07 8:08 PM
FloraNature said...
Awesome results! Thanks for sharing the process and especially for the photos which are most informative.
12/12/07 7:53 PM
AncientElna said...
Marji, Thanks very much for documenting your process and work with fantastic detail. I will do a Kathryn Brenne workshop on this jacket style, and have enjoyed comparing your review with Susan Khalje's Threads article. Keep up all your wonderful sewing!!
3/9/08 9:24 PM
Peggy L said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Thank you for all the great pictures. I have the fabric and buttons - hope to get to work in a couple of months. I'm sure I'll refer back to your review.
4/2/08 4:20 PM
Birgitte said...
Magnificent. 70 hours sounds fast to me. Incredible details and workmanship. And it looks fantastic with jeans. Awesome job Marji, and such a well-documented review, thank you.
8/16/08 1:57 PM
Terri Kelly said...
Hi, I'm having difficulty accessing the photos? flickr says i don't have permission?
10/8/11 7:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 7264

photo
by: wilsonlej

Review
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now
Butterick 5600

photo
by: nickelc624

Review