SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7975 (jacket)

62 more reviews
Viewed 5742 times 
Reviewed by:Marji
photo

 
 
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/07 5:02 PM
Last Updated:4/9/07 12:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 51 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
61 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri Kelly said...
Hi, I'm having difficulty accessing the photos? flickr says i don't have permission?
10/8/11 7:42 PM
Birgitte said...
Magnificent. 70 hours sounds fast to me. Incredible details and workmanship. And it looks fantastic with jeans. Awesome job Marji, and such a well-documented review, thank you.
8/16/08 1:57 PM
Peggy L said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Thank you for all the great pictures. I have the fabric and buttons - hope to get to work in a couple of months. I'm sure I'll refer back to your review.
4/2/08 4:20 PM
AncientElna said...
Marji, Thanks very much for documenting your process and work with fantastic detail. I will do a Kathryn Brenne workshop on this jacket style, and have enjoyed comparing your review with Susan Khalje's Threads article. Keep up all your wonderful sewing!!
3/9/08 9:24 PM
FloraNature said...
Awesome results! Thanks for sharing the process and especially for the photos which are most informative.
12/12/07 7:53 PM
WJean said...
Your work is exquisite. The boucles that are pictured in your jackets are very, very pretty. The detailed photos that you kept and shared are priceless. I hope this stays on the site for a very long time. This is one of the best reviews I have seen. Now, it's time for me to take the plunge and make my Chanel-like jacket using Susan Khalje's wonderful directions. Thank you so much.
11/12/07 8:08 PM
inkstain said...
I made this jacket, but felt a little let down by the sloppy feel until I added 1/2" shoulder pads. It made just that little bit of difference to the drape of a very soft wool weave. Great-looking finish on your jacket and I love the two-pocket variation. I tried to make a tie using the braid that rimmed the edges. Not entirely authentic but just enough to set it off in a bow for the evening. www.dinahleekung.com
10/22/07 3:31 AM
PatriciaM said...
Your photos are excellent! Your entire review is exceptionally helpful to me. Thank you.
8/19/07 4:32 PM
LindsayT said...
Looking forward to making this jacket using your fabulous instructions!
8/4/07 10:36 PM
Membear said...
I have enjoyed yoyr pics so much . I have made the same jacket with the same inspiration from the Threads article .I must learn how to set up pictures on the net and post it too. I really enjoyed the process and it did take such alot of work. I love your SWAPgarments Its a terrific set of colours and designs you have chosen GREAT WORK
5/29/07 10:24 PM
AnneM said...
Great jacket. If it took you 70 hours, I can't imagine how long it would take me! I love the concept of couture and hand sewing, but I'm so slow at it that I opt for other methods. I want to make some 'soft jackets'; they are so useful in today's business casual environment.
4/13/07 7:38 AM
Annette1 said...
THANK YOU for letting us see all the detailed pictures of the sewing process and your STUNNING jackets. I love every single detail. I really appreciate you talent and your willingness to share with all of us. :o)
4/13/07 2:09 AM
carnelian said...
Coco! Your photograph gave me a delicious shock of recognition! The drape on the body, the texture, the lines...check out a photo of Chanel wearing one of her own!
4/11/07 10:01 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful Marji. I especially like the colour and the trim you chose really makes the jacket.
4/10/07 3:07 AM
Zaneta said...
Marji, I love your jacket it looks like a designer RTW
4/10/07 1:14 AM
PhyllisC said...
And - aren't they sooo comfortable? Marji, how do you store your jackets? I fold mine like a sweater and keep it in a drawer. I wore it to work today, and I just love it.
4/9/07 5:42 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Wow, Marji!! You can be SO proud!! A real Coco!!
4/9/07 5:07 PM
carolynw said...
A lot of work but it paid off in spades - two absolutely beautiful jackets - you truly inspire us!!
4/9/07 3:03 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for sharing these glorious jackets and the process involved in making such gorgeous work! Kudos to you and your diligence!!
4/9/07 2:23 PM
Rhoda K said...
All I can say is ditto to all the above - just beautiful! Love your red walls, too ;-)
4/9/07 1:25 PM
SewTwin said...
Coco would be envious!More hours than I have patience for. I will just stand in awe!
4/7/07 0:30 AM
Nancy K said...
Really wonderful jacket. The construction and details are wonderful. Is there a picture of you in it?
4/6/07 7:49 PM
dbsewer said...
Marji, what a gorgeous jacket and your construction is superb.
4/5/07 8:15 AM
Sharon M said...
Wow! Absolutely beautiful! I enjoyed seeing the detailed photos. 70+ hours of time well spent - the jacket is stunning.
4/4/07 10:01 PM
KempCorr said...
Marji - absolutely beautiful. I haven't done one yet, but have been thinking about it. You are an inspiration. Thank you for the review
4/4/07 8:52 PM
KempCorr said...
Marji - absolutely beautiful. I haven't done one yet, but have been thinking about it. You are an inspiration. Thank you for the review
4/4/07 8:35 PM
Marji said...
KathiS, I should explain, 2 years ago I did take the jacket class from Susan, that was before she wrote the article for Threads. In fact one of the members of our class used the same fabric as she used (the black/white popcorn boucle) to make the jacket featured in the article. I use the article now as reference, but did have the benefit of the class the first time. I've made several now.
4/4/07 8:50 AM
kathi s said...
Beautiful job! I am green with envy! I took Susan's class in San Francisco in January, but have not yet finished my jacket. They are truely a labor of love and as soon as the family problems I came home to subside, I will get back to it. I really admire your ability to work from the Threads article- I needed to be talked through everything. Everyone agreed with Susan that after all that handwork we could understand why a custom Chanel jacket costs $10,000.00!
4/4/07 2:08 AM
Em's Summer said...
I love this jacket! Just love it!
4/3/07 11:59 PM
OP Gal said...
Absolutely stunning. Your work is truly inspiring. Thank you for sharing it with us.
4/3/07 10:58 PM
Nancywin said...
Excellent. I have thought about doing this process as well. I wish you would have said something like 20 hours! LOL It is absolutely fabulous. where did you get the chain for the hem?
4/3/07 10:57 PM
SandraB said...
What a lovely jacket. Very nice work.
4/3/07 9:52 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Your many hours of work shows! Lovely in every way!
4/3/07 6:39 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
What a great jacket and review: I feel as if you've given all us a tutorial in couture sewing. All the hours you spend on this have resulted in a fantastic result.
4/3/07 6:32 PM
LiZ said...
A beautiful, stunning jacket. Great review and all those photos are really helpful.
4/3/07 4:32 PM
ribbit2jen said...
I can't thank you enough for this review. I've just been going on and on about how I'm planning on making this type of jacket myself on my blog, so your review is so timely. Thanks!!! It looks so awesome!
4/3/07 11:58 AM
cathy45 said...
Exquisite. Your work is always so beautiful and inspiring.
4/3/07 9:48 AM
yummymummy38 said...
the superlatives have been all used. Absolutely haute couture, inspiring colour choices in trims etc make this a work of art. Enjoyed the SWAP album too, thanks for sharing.
4/3/07 9:48 AM
SarahWeb said...
What a stunning jacket. I especially enjoy looking at your fabric and trim. I visit San Francisco annually with my family but none of them could stomach a shopping interlude at Britex. I can only stand on the sidewalk and look in. Boohoo! Anyway, enjoy your beautiful jacket. You will get many compliments, I am quite sure.
4/3/07 9:18 AM
Jane S said...
Marj, thanks for sharing these and your details. Susan passed her jackets around at the ASG conference class I took and that soft, sweater like feel is what made me say I want one too. Thanks for keeping me inspired!
4/3/07 7:30 AM
Karen8320 said...
Marji, all I can say is WOW! This is just beautiful work! I am so impressed by your workmanship and the time that you have put into this garment. Thank you for all of your added advice about your entire sewing process. I am hoping to embark on a similar sewing project and your advice is invaluable. Just fantastic!
4/3/07 2:29 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful jacket - your trims have made this jacket high end couture. Lovely.
4/2/07 11:08 PM
Mardi2 said...
Beautiful, love the color and love the detail!
4/2/07 9:32 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Stunning! Thanks for all the photos etc. I want to make one of these too, but 70 hours? Mmmm, may make my TV viewing time more productive. lol
4/2/07 8:40 PM
Elona said...
What a beautiful, beautiful jacket! It is gorgeous in every detail--and I love looking at every little detail! Marvelous work.
4/2/07 8:18 PM
Jodi B. said...
This is absolutely stunning, Marji. Beautiful jacket and beautiful workmanship.
4/2/07 7:52 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful piece of work! Truly drop dead gorgeous jacket--Move over Mdse Chanel
4/2/07 7:26 PM
j222b said...
I wish I could think of the right compliments...I'm speechless. Beautiful!!
4/2/07 7:23 PM
Jan B. said...
Oh my gosh, that is truly a gorgeous jacket!
4/2/07 7:22 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
This is a luscious, delicious jacket. The fabric, lining, trim, buttons - all of it - it's all beautiful. Fabulous job!
4/2/07 7:21 PM
slanden99 said...
Beatiful and cute at the same time
4/2/07 6:55 PM
CarolynGM said...
Spectacular! And your review is so inspiring with all the detailed pictures of your process.
4/2/07 6:52 PM
Tany said...
Outstanding!! Thank you for this very helpful review!
4/2/07 6:18 PM
Donna H said...
OOOHHHHH...Marji...awesome jacket! Mine looks like yours without the trim and pockets. I need trim! Yours is gorgeous!! Great job.
4/2/07 6:06 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous jacket.
4/2/07 6:04 PM
Riordan said...
What a lovely jacket--truly exquisite work!!
4/2/07 5:55 PM
Pinkytoo said...
You're killing me! Next SWAP please send me this one which you won't need anymore...Beautiful job all the way around!
4/2/07 5:35 PM
VelmaRooster said...
Wow! This jacket is beautiful! Your artistic eye and sewing talent is truly an inspiration for those of us who are new to the world of sewing. You help bring out the best in Pattern Review!
4/2/07 5:33 PM
Sewliz said...
It's beautiful!
4/2/07 5:30 PM
Re Becca said...
Very beautiful! It looks every minute of 70 hours. Your labor of love is going to be a source of pride for years to come. Thanks for all of your help on the jacket sew along!
4/2/07 5:29 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Truly stunning. The quality really shows up. Hard work really pays off, doesn't it.
4/2/07 5:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Colette Patterns Meringue

photo
by: VeroSewsSt...

Review
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

More Info
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info