SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2816 (Unisex Vests)

2 more reviews
Viewed 999 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 360
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 295 people
patterns reviewed: 260
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/03 5:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said...
The vest came out great! I know your BIL will be thrilled!
1/12/03 5:15 PM
Star said...
Deepika, I love the look of that binding. I'm going to have to try it. Thanks!
1/12/03 5:16 PM
Diane E said...
Deepika, this is a wonderful vest, and a very very helpful review! My husband lives in zip-front polarfleece vests, and I can't wait to try this pattern and get some really nice MM fleece to try it with.
1/12/03 5:16 PM
Diane E said...
Thanks again, Deepika ;)
1/12/03 5:33 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks guys. I can't wait to give this to BIL! He's already seen the pic and he can't wait. Diane I removed that rating like you asked me to...
1/12/03 5:33 PM
Diane E said...
Phew! I pressed the right button this time!
1/12/03 6:44 PM
kerina said...
That vest is truely awesome. I don't feel like I'm up to the challenge of a zipper yet but I'm going to mark that pattern for a present for my husband sometime soon when I get more gutsy. It's a really beautiful job Deepika!
1/12/03 7:58 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Wow, Deepika, this vest looks like RTW! You did a great job with the lycra binding, thanks for the tips.
1/12/03 11:37 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Even better than RTW! :)
1/12/03 11:40 PM
Deepika said...
wow! you all are so kind. Actually believe it or not before this vest, I was not so sure about my binding skills. I had only done it once before last year, but by the time I was done with it, I was having so much fun with it! Great pattern to practice this technique.
1/13/03 0:06 AM
NancyDaQ said...
Wow! Very nicely done.
1/13/03 4:08 AM
Holly said...
Very well done, Deepika. Looks like good projects for next Christmas. ;-). Thanks for all the useful tips. You are such an inspiration.!
1/13/03 2:27 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Deepika, you did a great job with the zipper and the binding looks very good too, if you keep improving in this speed, you'll outmaster all the rest of us any day now!!
1/13/03 4:54 PM
Mbarkle said...
Deepika, Next time give satin foldover elastic a try instead of binding. (Not that yours doesn't look great.) You just fold it and zigzag it on. One step -- so much faster. You can see it on the polarfleece toddler's vest I made from KS 2911 (review posted). I really like it.
1/13/03 6:40 PM
Deepika said...
Mary, actually as a matter of fact I am interested in trying that. Seems simpler also. Where do you get that?
1/13/03 9:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

New Look 6309

photo
by: Verosews

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2006-21

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Buy Now
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now