Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3827 (One or two-piece dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1785 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:mlt
photo
Friend of PR
About mltstar
NC USA
Member since: 5/25/04
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/07 5:35 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kismet007 said...
That's very flattering on you. What a great print. I like the idea of a jacket with it. How about the short version of the Built by Wendy jacket (Simplicity 4019)? The bias bell sleeves would not crush the flutter sleeves of your dress.
4/8/07 7:09 PM
lmg said...
I like this print on you as well. Nice dress. I second the BBW jacket. It's an easy sew and looks great.
4/8/07 10:58 PM
Quesie said...
you look soooooo cute. i was nonplussed by the pattern illustration, but now that I've seen you, I want it!
4/9/07 2:44 AM
Jane S said...
Thanks for your review. I didn't see this discussion on the boards but I'm a huge fan of these Smplicity patterns...although I do have to make shoulder, back and hip alterations. I'm thinking of making this as a top and your idea of changing that bodice dart to several smaller darts will be one I'm sure to use.
4/9/07 8:33 AM
slanden99 said...
Looks great on you. I love the design lines on this dress--wish it came in smaller sizes too
4/9/07 12:24 PM
greenmommie said...
Love your dress! I've never given this pattern a second look but it's going on my wish list now.
4/9/07 12:46 PM
OP Gal said...
You look lovely in your dress. Don't you just love that vintage sewing site for great tips? I'm glad you were able to solve your "pointy dart" problem. I'll keep your solution in mind.
4/9/07 1:29 PM
ryan's mom said...
Very pretty! Love the style and print!!
4/9/07 3:44 PM
Marie_P. said...
You look absolutely gorgeous in that dress.
4/9/07 6:41 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great job with those alterations. Dresses look good on you. You are so lucky. I would love to live in dresses inthe summer.
4/9/07 10:25 PM
SewTwin said...
The print is great on you, and I find prints hide my (ahem) sewing errors. Speaking from the short person-5.1"; I might suggest dark sandals as the dark boots cut you shorter.This does look like a very light, sitting by the water reading a book type of dress. At least you persevered, and got something useful made, which is more than I can say, lately....
4/10/07 2:21 AM
Annette1 said...
Thank you for a great review! I have this pattern and haven't made it yet. All of your suggestions will be very helpful when the time comes. Yours turned out great!
4/13/07 2:22 AM
quiltsammon said...
Ohhh, so pretty!!
5/10/07 1:19 AM
squinchy said...
It looks great! Thanks for the review
7/18/09 12:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

HotPatterns 1047
photo
Review by Debra H on 7/27/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 2718
photo
Review by lelliebunn... on 7/15/13
Read Review

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1292 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1292 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1427 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1427 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us