SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2962 (Misses Swimsuit)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1607 times 
Reviewed by:Lauri Jean
photo

 
 
About Lauri Jeanstar
SD USA
Member since: 1/11/06
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/9/07 3:41 PM
Last Updated:4/9/07 3:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lady_Mame said...
Looks FAB! The tan, the pearls, the suit! Now I want to do a swimsuit :)
4/9/07 4:01 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Very, very cute and you do look like da bomb in this swimsuit!
4/9/07 4:01 PM
Soliel said...
Awesome! I am so excited to make my first swim suit. It looks great on you!!! I just wish there were more higher cut suits on the market.
4/9/07 4:01 PM
Stephanie C. said...
That looks great and I love your fabric!
4/9/07 4:18 PM
frame said...
Great job. It looks terrific.
4/9/07 4:19 PM
Elona said...
Great looking suit! This pattern seems to be a real winner.
4/9/07 4:20 PM
newlywedws said...
Wow...you did an excellent job on the swimsuit- you can't tell it was sewn at home...it looks RTW! Oh and kudos to you for the modeling job...I would have been frightened!
4/9/07 4:38 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Wow!! If I looked as great in a bathing suit as you, I wouldn't be "allergic" to them!! Wonderful fabric & sewing!
4/9/07 5:05 PM
lmg said...
Gorgeous suit! Very RTW. Wished I looked as good in a bathing suit.
4/9/07 5:43 PM
carolynw said...
Well this is just too beautiful for words! If I had a body like you (used to but it went off somewhere) I would certainly start making swimsuits for myself - you look just wonderful in yours!
4/9/07 5:51 PM
Nancywin said...
Super, super, super! Your suit is fantastic.
4/9/07 5:56 PM
jnamcd said...
Love the fabric! The suit looks awesome on you! Great job!
4/9/07 6:11 PM
MareeAlison said...
I felt the same way when I first sewed a swimsuit. It was so easy, I couldn't understand why I hadn't done it before. And my unpicker worked overtime too. The suit is fantastic. Welcome to the swimsuit club.
4/9/07 6:45 PM
Erica B. said...
Gorgeous swin suit and the fit is superb! Just add water! ;-)
4/9/07 6:48 PM
sewbehind said...
Your swimsuit looks great on you. Terrific job.
4/9/07 6:49 PM
Linda G said...
Wow, it looks like you paid $70.00 for it like the cost at the store.
4/9/07 6:50 PM
Karen8320 said...
Lauri Jean, this is just gorgeous and you look absolutely fantastic!!! If this was selling in the stores, I'm sure it would be flying off the racks. Some great advice here in your review. Thanks and well done!
4/9/07 8:45 PM
Lauri Jean said...
I must say that you all are just so kind. You've made my day!! HUGS!
4/9/07 9:08 PM
daff said...
Your swimsuit is so pretty and really flatters you. I love your daughter's pink sparkly version as well--adorable!
4/9/07 9:52 PM
brrmm said...
I make ALL my own swimwear and my 2 DDs as well. Yours look fabulous - enjoy making more and more. You'll find lots of lycra sellers on ebay too.
4/10/07 0:52 AM
Zaneta said...
You have done a wondeful job!! Can I please ask you went about the elastic attachment around the leg...what type of elastic did you use?
4/10/07 1:12 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous swimsuit! Yes once you have made a KS swimsuit there is no going back to RTW. :)
4/10/07 2:57 AM
Marji said...
Very professional results! Looks fabulous
4/10/07 4:24 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great swimsuits! One of these days I'm going to make myself one. I shake my head every time I look for one, because I usually don't like the colors.
4/10/07 7:06 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, you did a wonderful job on this swimsuit, very RTW.
4/10/07 8:18 AM
Lauri Jean said...
Zaneta, I used swimsuit elastic which seems readily available at fabric stores. You cut the elastic the required size; sew the ends together; then apply exactly as described in the directions. I used a 4.5 width and length zig zag to apply and then a 2.4 length and width to finish. Try a practice piece and see how easy it is.
4/10/07 10:37 AM
nanraj said...
Great work on the swimsuit. I loved it. Like some others have said, it looks RTW and really well done. I have a question. I tried making a skating costume for my 5 year old daughter with KS pattern. When I tried finishing the outer edges with elastic, I found that the stitches bunched up in one area more than once without the needle moving forward like it should. Any idea what I could be doing wrong ? Thanks !!
4/10/07 5:22 PM
Terri Smith said...
Wow, your suit looks great on you. Congratulations on sewing your first swim suit.
4/10/07 9:26 PM
SewTwin said...
Double Ditto on the FAB Swimsuit! After I hem 4 pairs of RTW jeans, I am doing this next! You have inspired me to GIT it Done!That's why I need to, since "My" bod added more without my approval, and it won't go Away?? PS..nanraj are using a Walking Foot, and putting a hand at front and back stretch the fabric as you go seems to feed stretchy fabrics better. Also, I am going to try experiment with starch on my swimsuit fabric.You can also ask on the boards, and get PR'ers help!! Practice, it can't hurt.
4/11/07 0:45 AM
Puddin Pop said...
Wow, that suit fits great and it is a very flattering color on you. Mini Me looks adorable, also.
4/11/07 5:22 PM
sewistObsessed said...
Wow, maybe you should start a swimsuit boutique. That really looks great and you did a great job working with the busy pattern in the fabric!
4/12/07 12:10 PM
Shirleyjoy said...
Great job! Love the fabric.
4/12/07 8:31 PM
Annette1 said...
You acheived a great fit, and I so agree with your comment about $70 (and up) swimsuits. Just think, you can make seven of these for that price. :o)
4/13/07 2:03 AM
AnneM said...
Congratulations. Very professional looking suit. I should probably consider this, but I'm still in the 'afraid' camp. (I do need a new swimming suit, though.) (Your DD is adorable.)
4/20/07 9:12 PM
cindy-lou said...
Wowsie Wow Wow! Awesome job. That does it. I'm so done with RTW suits. You DO look like da bomb-- way to go!
4/22/07 8:45 PM
Cristina_TC said...
Great Jobs!!!
5/31/07 3:28 AM
LauraAnn12 said...
If that isn't the cutest fabric and the best looking fit, I don't know what is! I'm impressed! Thanks for the review!
6/30/07 10:12 PM
sewingfordolls said...
Wow you did a fabulous job...both suits look great...you get an A+
11/20/07 11:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Kitschy Coo Skater Dress

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Buy Now