SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8232 (Very Easy Jacket and Dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1241 times 
Reviewed by:moss
photo

 
 
About mossstar
Member since: 8/23/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/07 8:21 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
I cant see a good shot of the dress, so I'm not sure how well it fits you. If you had to take in that much, you definitely need a smaller size - maybe with a FBA. If you use the pivot and slide method (Nancy Zeiman's book "Fitting Finesse" it's not nearly as scary as it sounds. I always use a smaller pattern and then do the FBA. Makes the fit much nicer. Did you make the jacket too?
4/10/07 10:07 AM
moss said...
yep I made the jacket too. There are more shots in the album although my camera is not very good. :) Thanks !
4/10/07 10:22 AM
fuzzygalore said...
From the little we can see of you, it definitely looks like you have enough bust that you should always be using the high bust measurement and making an FBA...
4/10/07 11:56 AM
Hilary said...
Your dress is really pretty (I love that fabric!); I agree, I think you should have gone down at least one size (maybe even two) I second the Nancy Ziemans "Fitting Finesse" recommendation-I have used her methods with great success-I even sewed my own wedding dress with them, and my 3 bridesmaids, and they ALL fit perfectly. And using your upperbust measurement is what she recommends for chosing a size. Naturally you most likely will need alterations in other areas, but they are much easier to alter than the shoulders and neck. Your dress really does look well put together, once you take it in a bit more it will fit well too! Great review!
4/10/07 11:56 AM
Sherril Miller said...
definitely need to go down a couple of sizes in the neck and sleeve area. It does fit well in the bust and waist, so if you can combine sizes on your pattern, that may work. another option is to do the FBA to a smaller size like others have suggested. It's a nice color and when fitted correctly will look really great on you.
4/10/07 12:20 PM
moss said...
Thanks everyone for all your help! I will look up that book, and next time I make this I will go down a size. or two :) Thanks!
4/10/07 2:03 PM
Annette1 said...
Smart aleck ... wish somebody'd tell me to go down a size or two. :o) I agree (about the neck). Otherwise, it looks GREAT!! And now, I will go forth and sew-sew-sew.
4/13/07 1:36 AM
AnneM said...
I fits nicely, overall. Very wearable. I'll agree that you could go down a bit; the back looks to be a bit wide. Don't hesitate to use multiple sizes (I agree w/ Sherril that the size you used looks right in some areas).
4/22/07 9:24 AM
mlsews said...
thanks, I've made the jacket and it turned out so cute I was wanting to make the dress. I really like the simple style.
9/13/07 10:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Decades of Style 1926 One Piece Negligee

photo
by: GrimWeeper

Review
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2007-16

photo
by: SewMentalM...

Review