SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 60432-1007 (Tank Top)

Viewed 783 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 313 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/07 5:55 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
didda said...
cute top! i think i might have a go at that myself. of course, i would have to make mine longer, i am not a spring chicken anymore. but i would like to have something similar to go out dancing. i stopped a girl at the club saturday night so i could sketch the top she was wearing. LOL gonna make me one of those too.
4/16/07 9:45 PM
Karen6790 said...
Cute top and nice commonsense explanation of draping. I've been meaning to try it, but your knit top makes so much sense on Violet that I'm going to have to experiment now. Thanks!
4/16/07 9:51 PM
frame said...
Great review as always. Cute top.
4/17/07 0:42 AM
popoagiesmiles said...
Nicegirl, I'd go for a fitting from made from scratch just for you instead of using one that has boobs that you need to reduce. Why not get an old floor lamp to use as a base and make a duct tape dummy? You do so much sewing, it would be more worth it for you than for someone who only occasionally sews.
4/17/07 1:34 AM
LorelleD said...
Very creative. thanks for the review.
4/17/07 3:05 AM
kv said...
hi, I was about to get that same dress form to pad out for my petite DD, who is a "B" cup. She isn't really a Junior, but a bona fide petite--I am wondering if that form will work....any advice??
4/18/07 7:39 PM
kv said...
Oh, btw, check out Kathryn's (fzxdoc) tutorial on customizing dress forms--it's right here on PR--she says you can add booty with quilt batting. I bet you could take a saw to that form--it's only paper mache and then put on your own bra over what's left.
4/18/07 7:44 PM
nicegirl said...
kv-The dress form should be great for you B cup DD. The waist gets small enough and the ribcage almost small enough for me. The torso length works well for me too. I tried padding her out but since I don't have anybody to measure me I can't get the super accurate measurements needed to get it right.
4/19/07 9:07 AM
AnneM said...
Draping - cool! Congrats. Without the sweater it's a bit too "street" for my taste, but the sweater adds a lot. (How'd you get tights that match your sweater?)
4/25/07 6:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now