SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8949 (Jacket)

Viewed 1437 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 272
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 228
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/07 2:28 AM
Last Updated:4/23/07 2:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindy-lou said...
Oh, Nancy, what a beautiful jacket! You have wonderful technique and it shows so well here. If I were you I'd never go to a clothing store again! :)
4/23/07 6:56 AM
CarolynGM said...
The trim, buttons, and fabric choice turned this simple style into a stunner! I'm so glad you were able to get the sleeves to work for you.
4/23/07 7:43 AM
carolynw said...
Nancy this is georgeous - have the pattern so will give it a go - your review will be very helpful. You sure are on a sewing marathon and doing wonderful work!!
4/23/07 8:26 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Very, very pretty jacket! Love the fabric/trim/buttons combo! And thanks for the heads up about the sleeves; I've got this pattern in the 'maybe someday' pile and I'll certainly check the sleeve fit!
4/23/07 9:12 AM
Marji said...
Nancy, you got it done! :) It looks fabulous. Would love to see a pic of it on you. I do like that trim the best. Question: Why did you choose to fuse the fronts and underline the back with organza? Is there a significant difference in the way the fabric drapes?
4/23/07 11:18 AM
Nancywin said...
I think the organza gives it a softer drape because the front seems a little firmer than the back. Actually, I would have done the whole thing with organza, but I didn't have enough. None of our stores here sell it and I didn't want to wait to order it online.
4/23/07 11:44 AM
Enid E said...
Nancy, as I commented on your blog, you have a jacket that is classic and you will find you will wear it for a long time. Great job! And I admire you patience...
4/23/07 12:17 PM
Englebert said...
Your jacket is lovely!! Thanks for the review!
4/23/07 12:33 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I just love your beaded trim. It was well worth your effort, as it really takes this jacket to the next dimension.
4/23/07 1:01 PM
2BSewing said...
Your jacket is absolutely beautiful. Love the fabric. You did a great job with adding beads to the trim and buttons. Wow!
4/23/07 6:16 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Gorgeous! The trim is just right. Love it.
4/24/07 4:35 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I have had this pattern forever. Your review was helpful. Even with your challenges you have alovely jacket. Love the trim!
4/24/07 5:29 AM
Karine said...
Good review - loved the pictures. Your jacket is beautiful!
4/24/07 11:50 AM
lmg said...
A beautiful jacket with stunning trim. I overlooked this pattern for a chanel type jacket. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.
4/24/07 10:00 PM
Bellydancing said...
Nice work! You can pick up a chain for the hem at any hardware store. I go to Home Depot where I have several choices.
4/24/07 11:40 PM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for the tip. Actually, I went to our local OSH the other day and bought some chain for .99 a foot. I will post pix when I sew it in
4/25/07 9:29 AM
Ody said...
Lovely jacket and great review.
4/26/07 10:38 AM
AnneM said...
Congratulations! That came out very nicely.
5/3/07 4:49 PM
bbbeebe said...
Can someone tell me what an "FBA" is ..."an FBA to fit my bust" is the description in the body of the review. Thanks! B Beebe
7/17/09 11:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Simplicity 4275

photo
by: Renren

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now