SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8949 (Jacket)

Viewed 1443 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 273
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 229
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/07 2:28 AM
Last Updated:4/23/07 2:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $8.96 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindy-lou said...
Oh, Nancy, what a beautiful jacket! You have wonderful technique and it shows so well here. If I were you I'd never go to a clothing store again! :)
4/23/07 6:56 AM
CarolynGM said...
The trim, buttons, and fabric choice turned this simple style into a stunner! I'm so glad you were able to get the sleeves to work for you.
4/23/07 7:43 AM
carolynw said...
Nancy this is georgeous - have the pattern so will give it a go - your review will be very helpful. You sure are on a sewing marathon and doing wonderful work!!
4/23/07 8:26 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Very, very pretty jacket! Love the fabric/trim/buttons combo! And thanks for the heads up about the sleeves; I've got this pattern in the 'maybe someday' pile and I'll certainly check the sleeve fit!
4/23/07 9:12 AM
Marji said...
Nancy, you got it done! :) It looks fabulous. Would love to see a pic of it on you. I do like that trim the best. Question: Why did you choose to fuse the fronts and underline the back with organza? Is there a significant difference in the way the fabric drapes?
4/23/07 11:18 AM
Nancywin said...
I think the organza gives it a softer drape because the front seems a little firmer than the back. Actually, I would have done the whole thing with organza, but I didn't have enough. None of our stores here sell it and I didn't want to wait to order it online.
4/23/07 11:44 AM
Enid E said...
Nancy, as I commented on your blog, you have a jacket that is classic and you will find you will wear it for a long time. Great job! And I admire you patience...
4/23/07 12:17 PM
Englebert said...
Your jacket is lovely!! Thanks for the review!
4/23/07 12:33 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I just love your beaded trim. It was well worth your effort, as it really takes this jacket to the next dimension.
4/23/07 1:01 PM
2BSewing said...
Your jacket is absolutely beautiful. Love the fabric. You did a great job with adding beads to the trim and buttons. Wow!
4/23/07 6:16 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Gorgeous! The trim is just right. Love it.
4/24/07 4:35 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I have had this pattern forever. Your review was helpful. Even with your challenges you have alovely jacket. Love the trim!
4/24/07 5:29 AM
Karine said...
Good review - loved the pictures. Your jacket is beautiful!
4/24/07 11:50 AM
lmg said...
A beautiful jacket with stunning trim. I overlooked this pattern for a chanel type jacket. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.
4/24/07 10:00 PM
Bellydancing said...
Nice work! You can pick up a chain for the hem at any hardware store. I go to Home Depot where I have several choices.
4/24/07 11:40 PM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for the tip. Actually, I went to our local OSH the other day and bought some chain for .99 a foot. I will post pix when I sew it in
4/25/07 9:29 AM
Ody said...
Lovely jacket and great review.
4/26/07 10:38 AM
AnneM said...
Congratulations! That came out very nicely.
5/3/07 4:49 PM
bbbeebe said...
Can someone tell me what an "FBA" is ..."an FBA to fit my bust" is the description in the body of the review. Thanks! B Beebe
7/17/09 11:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Burda 8379

photo
by: knitsewmuc...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1027

photo
by: Salymander...

Review
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now