SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1305 (Capri Jacket)

16 more reviews
Viewed 1864 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 275
Favored by: 122 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/07 2:03 AM
Last Updated:9/21/07 8:39 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
amkws said...
I purchased the red fabric for the same jacket and found your review very helpful. I just finished it a couple days ago. I used Emma Seabrooke's fusible knit interfacing on the 2 fronts. I also used some poly mesh between fabrics on the buttonholes. It pretty much looks like yours and I am very happy. Thanks for doing the groundwork!!
9/23/07 7:42 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous jacket!
9/21/07 11:21 PM
bunz said...
What an incredibly gorgeous knit!!
9/21/07 6:16 PM
AngieC said...
Love your jacket! I have the Garbo jacket pattern and it is very similar.
9/21/07 4:48 PM
Deepika said...
Gorgeous jacket. I have this pattern too and I have a similar knit fabric :)
9/21/07 1:36 PM
mmemagpie said...
The pattern and fabric are beautiful and you did a great job of putting them together. I'm still learning about the characteristics of various interfacings, so the comments in your review about LH not using it were interesting, but I wish you had given a bit more detail on your decision to use tricot and why sew-in interfacing would have given a better drape than fusible. I appreciate your mentioning the stay-stitching and needle size/type. Thanks.
9/20/07 5:09 PM
SewTwin said...
WOW Jacket! Great fabric, and sewing..
5/13/07 1:14 AM
AnneM said...
That is beautiful. Great pattern to show off yourl ovely fabric. Good info on your interfacing experience as well.
5/4/07 7:56 PM
Beve said...
Pretty, pretty! I have this pattern and thanks to you I am encouraged to use it..
4/25/07 12:50 PM
Karine said...
Great review and great jacket. I love your fabric - a perfect choice for this pattern!
4/25/07 11:04 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice jacket. I like the idea of using a sweater knit with this pattern.
4/25/07 8:31 AM
ryan's mom said...
Awesome jacket! I saw this fabric on their website and it didn't initially catch my eye, but it looks terrific with your jacket. I have this pattern in my stash so I must might have to pull it out soon :) .
4/25/07 6:53 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice jacket
4/25/07 5:23 AM
LBJ said...
Gorgeous!
4/24/07 4:57 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Oooh, the fabric is such a perfect fit for the jacket. Thanks for sharing your review.
4/24/07 3:14 PM
j222b said...
I love it. I love it. A perfect marriage of a gorgeous fabric and a simple pattern style.
4/24/07 12:43 PM
nancymm said...
This is similar to Loes' Garbo pattern. When I was in her class, I made the Garbo and had a little gappage, as you did. She had me cut a piece of FO elastic down the middle line, one inch less than the "V" measurement, and stitch it along the edge, stretching slightly to fit the edge, just like a waistband, then turn and stitch down the edge as per the pattern instructions. That very delicate elastic kept the edge from gapping - a good technique for a generous (or not so generous) figure.
4/24/07 10:30 AM
Nancywin said...
I made view A, the shorter version. I would like to lengthen it a bit next time, but not as much as view b
4/24/07 9:54 AM
carolynw said...
Another beauty. I have made this several times too and like the fit. Nancy did you use the longer length? I have only done the shorter length so far - not sure if yours is the longer or an in-between.
4/24/07 8:57 AM
Marji said...
very pretty. Looks like a chenille yarn in that sweater knit. Thanks for the source, think I'll go have a look.
4/24/07 8:32 AM
cindy-lou said...
Nancy, just beautiful. I agree that with this beautiful a fabric, 'less is more' in pattern construction-- clean, simple lines. Beautiful!
4/24/07 7:43 AM
JudyP said...
Your jacket looks great! This pattern is perfect for a sweater knit. I made it in a very similar fabric and also interfaced the facings so that the buttons & button holes would have some support. The facings did seem to affect the drape of the front, but not so much as to ruin the jacket. I love the colors of your fabric!
4/24/07 7:24 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Nice - very nice. I really do have to try one of Loes Hinse's patterns - this could be the one.
4/24/07 6:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

McCall's 6650

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
brerrabbit.com 0000

photo
by: MayenDesig...

Review
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

More Info