Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1305 (Capri Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1861 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 266
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/07 2:03 AM
Last Updated:9/21/07 8:39 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Doris Stewart said...
Nice - very nice. I really do have to try one of Loes Hinse's patterns - this could be the one.
4/24/07 6:28 AM
JudyP said...
Your jacket looks great! This pattern is perfect for a sweater knit. I made it in a very similar fabric and also interfaced the facings so that the buttons & button holes would have some support. The facings did seem to affect the drape of the front, but not so much as to ruin the jacket. I love the colors of your fabric!
4/24/07 7:24 AM
cindy-lou said...
Nancy, just beautiful. I agree that with this beautiful a fabric, 'less is more' in pattern construction-- clean, simple lines. Beautiful!
4/24/07 7:43 AM
Marji said...
very pretty. Looks like a chenille yarn in that sweater knit. Thanks for the source, think I'll go have a look.
4/24/07 8:32 AM
carolynw said...
Another beauty. I have made this several times too and like the fit. Nancy did you use the longer length? I have only done the shorter length so far - not sure if yours is the longer or an in-between.
4/24/07 8:57 AM
Nancywin said...
I made view A, the shorter version. I would like to lengthen it a bit next time, but not as much as view b
4/24/07 9:54 AM
nancymm said...
This is similar to Loes' Garbo pattern. When I was in her class, I made the Garbo and had a little gappage, as you did. She had me cut a piece of FO elastic down the middle line, one inch less than the "V" measurement, and stitch it along the edge, stretching slightly to fit the edge, just like a waistband, then turn and stitch down the edge as per the pattern instructions. That very delicate elastic kept the edge from gapping - a good technique for a generous (or not so generous) figure.
4/24/07 10:30 AM
j222b said...
I love it. I love it. A perfect marriage of a gorgeous fabric and a simple pattern style.
4/24/07 12:43 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Oooh, the fabric is such a perfect fit for the jacket. Thanks for sharing your review.
4/24/07 3:14 PM
LBJ said...
Gorgeous!
4/24/07 4:57 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice jacket
4/25/07 5:23 AM
ryan's mom said...
Awesome jacket! I saw this fabric on their website and it didn't initially catch my eye, but it looks terrific with your jacket. I have this pattern in my stash so I must might have to pull it out soon :) .
4/25/07 6:53 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice jacket. I like the idea of using a sweater knit with this pattern.
4/25/07 8:31 AM
Karine said...
Great review and great jacket. I love your fabric - a perfect choice for this pattern!
4/25/07 11:04 AM
Beve said...
Pretty, pretty! I have this pattern and thanks to you I am encouraged to use it..
4/25/07 12:50 PM
AnneM said...
That is beautiful. Great pattern to show off yourl ovely fabric. Good info on your interfacing experience as well.
5/4/07 7:56 PM
SewTwin said...
WOW Jacket! Great fabric, and sewing..
5/13/07 1:14 AM
mmemagpie said...
The pattern and fabric are beautiful and you did a great job of putting them together. I'm still learning about the characteristics of various interfacings, so the comments in your review about LH not using it were interesting, but I wish you had given a bit more detail on your decision to use tricot and why sew-in interfacing would have given a better drape than fusible. I appreciate your mentioning the stay-stitching and needle size/type. Thanks.
9/20/07 5:09 PM
Deepika said...
Gorgeous jacket. I have this pattern too and I have a similar knit fabric :)
9/21/07 1:36 PM
AngieC said...
Love your jacket! I have the Garbo jacket pattern and it is very similar.
9/21/07 4:48 PM
bunz said...
What an incredibly gorgeous knit!!
9/21/07 6:16 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous jacket!
9/21/07 11:21 PM
amkws said...
I purchased the red fabric for the same jacket and found your review very helpful. I just finished it a couple days ago. I used Emma Seabrooke's fusible knit interfacing on the 2 fronts. I also used some poly mesh between fabrics on the buttonholes. It pretty much looks like yours and I am very happy. Thanks for doing the groundwork!!
9/23/07 7:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-124
photo
Review by Heatherriq... on 7/24/11
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Tiny Pocket Tank
Tiny Pocket Tank

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1059 MISSES' PANTS
photo
Review by kidmd on 10/7/12
Read Review

New Look 6777 Pattern
New Look 6777 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6854 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6854 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us