SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5314 (Wrap Dress (View A))

19 more reviews
Viewed 2084 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 149
Favored by: 222 people
patterns reviewed: 128
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/07 6:16 PM
Last Updated:4/28/07 6:17 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 28 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
54 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
Great dress, great review......though with your fabulous shape and those toned arms, save yourself the trouble of that wide hem. Wear a burlap sack. Fringe the hem.... Ignore my envy. Great dress.
4/28/07 6:32 PM
carolynw said...
Lovely in every way - thanks for your review which made me chuckle a lot - have been looking for a nice wrap style dress so will consider this and make lots of time for the hem that never ends!! It is really a FULL WRAP skirt!!
4/28/07 6:38 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Very pretty dress - you are too funny.
4/28/07 7:04 PM
maryfrana said...
Gorgeous and fits beautifully.
4/28/07 7:10 PM
Nancywin said...
This is one of the nicest looking wrap dresses I've ever seen. Thanks for the great review. I'm too lazy to make this pattern if it has that many pieces in the bodice!
4/28/07 7:14 PM
EveS said...
Beautiful dress...just love it!!! And I thoroughly enjoyed your review...I'm going to have to read some more from you just for a few more giggles! :) As for the that-costs-how-much?!?!? issue, I was just there on the last dress I did and can feel your pain! For what it's worth, your dress looks like it's worth every penny and more - way more...AWESOME!!!
4/28/07 7:19 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Cidell ! ! ! !
4/28/07 7:19 PM
didda said...
cute dress! i bought this pattern more than a month ago and i am still looking in my stash for something that is 5 yards so i can make it. the only ones i have found so far are some vintage "kettle cloth", which is a little bit heavy, i think, for this style. all the other reviews are for the ones with sleeves. i want to make the sleeveless one like yours. do you think it would be suitable for dancing?
4/28/07 7:24 PM
didda said...
oops!
4/28/07 7:27 PM
didda said...

4/28/07 7:28 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Great dress. It looks wonderful on you.
4/28/07 7:33 PM
Enid E said...
Love this dress on you!
4/28/07 9:22 PM
beangirl said...
Well as usual I agree completely with Karla, Jealousy Abounds. ;-) And, as usual, you've made a fabulous garment to fit your fabulous figure and written a fabulously nice review that makes it very hard to despise you and your fabulous figure. LOL! Really nice dress!
4/28/07 9:38 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your dress is gorgeous!!!! Now I'm kicking myself I didn't buy this when it was .99 last week at Joann's. Your review was fun to read - soon it will be hot and you'll wish it was only 65 out - lol!
4/28/07 11:02 PM
SandraB said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
4/28/07 11:29 PM
ribbit2jen said...
Great fabric with that pattern!! Love it!
4/29/07 0:29 AM
gaby said...
Wow, the dress looks fabulous on you!
4/29/07 0:41 AM
Leora said...
Great dress! That is one full skirt. Looks so nice on you!
4/29/07 2:02 AM
sweetviolets said...
Wonderful dress! I would bet it has a great swish when you walk. Great work!
4/29/07 2:15 AM
Shazza B said...
Nice dress, nice model. Somehow it wouldn't look quite the same on me!
4/29/07 2:29 AM
LorelleD said...
I enjoyed your review, this dress looks very nice on you, the fabric is lovely, well worth the cost.
4/29/07 4:53 AM
janella said...
gorgeous gorgeous dress! wishing you some 65 degree weather! I got some yesterday! I am considering this pattern! What was your fabric made of? It looks slightly silky?
4/29/07 6:20 AM
Marji said...
lovely dress and your fit is fabulous!
4/29/07 7:25 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great dress!
4/29/07 7:34 AM
Huldra said...
Beautiful! Thank you for your great review. That's a really nice pattern.
4/29/07 7:52 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Bet you can't find a dress that fits so well in this style for the price of the fabric ... I think you have a top quality dress for a great price!
4/29/07 9:37 AM
MissCelie said...
Karla and Beangirl, thanks for a good laugh! If it makes you feel better, I am immobile today after 90 minutes at hot yoga on Friday.

Didda, it's great for dancing. I was twirling and twriling in it when it was done.

Janella, it's a cotton shirting with some lycra. Very thin, almost see through. I wrote a little about it on my

MissCelie said...
Karla and Beangirl, thanks for a good laugh! If it makes you feel better, I am immobile today after 90 minutes at hot yoga on Friday.

Didda, it's great for dancing. I was twirling and twriling in it when it was done.

Janella, it's a cotton shirting with some lycra. Very thin, almost see through. I wrote a little about it on my blog because I wasn't quite sure how to work on it.
4/29/07 9:55 AM

cindy-lou said...
Cidell, beautiful dress. I did the Threads version (Simplicity) at 10 bucks a yard x 6 yards and it made me nauseus for days after buying the fabric-- but Lorna is right-- it would run you about $140 retail (I've priced it out in the same eyelet that I used at $139). GORGEOUS, baby!
4/29/07 10:54 AM
Em's Summer said...
I love wraps and yours looks so pretty in the cool and happy print that you chose! You did a great job! I've been resisting this pattern, but I think I'm going to break down and buy it!
4/29/07 11:31 AM
LBJ said...
Lovely!
4/29/07 2:08 PM
Gold said...
Love the dress and fabric. Looks good on you.
4/29/07 3:34 PM
Erica B. said...
I left comments at your blog... I must say again how fabulous you look.
4/29/07 4:15 PM
OP Gal said...
Oh, but all that hemming was so worth it. Your dress is fabulous. It looks like it fits like a glove and the review was very helpful--and amusing. Thanks.
4/29/07 5:54 PM
mochalover said...
Love your dress. It looks amazing!
4/29/07 7:05 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Mile-long hems - one of the things we don't think about when we are in the middle of a pattern buying frenzy at the store. Well the result is totally worth it!
4/29/07 7:30 PM
Linda G said...
You did a great job it looks wonderful on you.
4/29/07 9:32 PM
JeanetteE said...
Wow! That dress looks amazing on you! Thanks for the funny review.
4/30/07 0:28 AM
Jane S said...
This dress is soooo beautiful on you; it was well worth the investment in fabric from the wonderful Fabric Place.
4/30/07 7:54 AM
nicegirl said...
Love it! That fabric is so cute. Where are you in MD? If you're near DC we should totally get together and walk around being all cute and everything.
4/30/07 4:32 PM
FuzzyNavelPeach said...
Absolutely Gawjus! I love it.
5/2/07 11:56 AM
amyf said...
Remarkable dress. Well worth the money put into it.
5/5/07 5:56 PM
AnneM said...
You go, girl! That dress just looks spectacular on you. Great color for you, the white with the blue/yellow/kiwi flowers. Very cute about the hem; I still have a skirt sitting waiting to be hemmed because of this very issue. (It is a goodwill skirt so I haven't been very motivated about it).
5/6/07 3:12 PM
Phaedra28 said...
Sorry, this is off topic -- Cidell, you do very good work, and if I were as gorgeous as you are, I'd post my picture, too! You look really great in all your pictures. Thanks for your reviews.
5/7/07 2:40 AM
Kiwi Girl said...
what a lovely dress ; looks great on you. Love the style and fabric
6/2/07 0:35 AM
QueenZ said...
Gorgeous dress!!!
6/13/07 1:29 PM
roseofsharon said...
Thank you for a great review. I like the way the dress fits you. I'm in the middle of making this for my daughter and I'm so thankful for your warning about the hem. I think I'll machine sew mine as well. Thanks.
6/27/07 4:03 PM
PhyllisC said...
Zexy!
6/27/07 7:44 PM
Hilary said...
Gorgeous dress! I just added this to my wish list-you did a great job and it looks beautiful on you.
7/22/07 11:43 AM
indianajoni said...
"low bust" *snort*
9/22/07 9:00 PM
EdnaW said...
Another winner!!
9/28/07 1:54 PM
Bobinator said...
As always Cidell, another cute dress!!!
5/16/09 4:38 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Just thinking about making this one (when did I purchase this pattern?), and was glad to read in your very entertaining review that it has an ample return: I was afraid of unwittingly becoming an exhibitionist at church.
6/1/09 12:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now