Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2007-103B (Tunic) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1027 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/07 8:34 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh I just love that fabric! Great job on your new top.
4/30/07 8:36 AM
frame said...
Your top looks great.
4/30/07 9:27 AM
MissCelie said...
Just stunning! I felt nothing for it in the mag, but looove your version.
4/30/07 9:31 AM
F and L said...
That is darling! I love that you used a knit with it. What great fabric.
4/30/07 10:38 AM
Soliel said...
It's adorable. That's weird how low the neckline is.
4/30/07 11:07 AM
Levone said...
I love your top! I've been wanting to make this one up since I first saw it in the magazine.
4/30/07 12:02 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Thanks for the important tip about the low v-neck. Looks great on you!
4/30/07 12:10 PM
colormefun said...
it looks great sewed in the middle! and cool pic!
4/30/07 12:43 PM
Linda G said...
I love your top, you did a great job...now for a couple of questions...I was worried about the sleeves...yours look so much better than the pictures on the modes...did you make yours a little narrower by taking a bigger side seam on the sleeve portion? I was thinking about lengthening the top for a dress would that work with the way the pleats are in the front...I was thinking of a fairly straight skirt. I was thinking of sewing in a "dickie" I guess that would be a triangle because I know it would be too low and I had a dress once that had one of them that buttoned in. I was thinking of putting an invisible zipper on the side of a woven dress would that work? If I have you answer enough of my questions...my muslin will be wearable!!! Thanks for your great review.
4/30/07 1:01 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Linda - I made the sleeves as directed with the usual 5/8 inch seam allowance. And I can't see why you wouldn't be able to use a side zipper, frankly... But yeah, lengthening it to a dress is a great idea, I can't wait to see yours!
4/30/07 1:27 PM
nicegirl said...
That is fab! I love your colors. And somebody is looking very skinny these days.
4/30/07 4:24 PM
Erica B. said...
Love that top and your choice of fabric.
4/30/07 4:45 PM
zazzie said...
That is one nice top ! I love the fabric.
4/30/07 6:21 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful top. That large scale fabric made up beautifully in a top. Great job and great review.
4/30/07 8:11 PM
Heatherrique said...
What a breathtaking blouse!
4/30/07 9:54 PM
jnamcd said...
Great top!
5/1/07 0:18 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Fabulous fabric. I like the length on yr tunic.
5/1/07 1:39 AM
MichelleE said...
Great job! I'm working on the same top myself. I wondered what it would look like done in a knit, now I know!
5/1/07 12:00 PM
yummymummy38 said...
love the fabric and the contrasting bands on your top.
5/2/07 1:27 AM
majnets3s said...
I liked that pattern too but the fabric makes it just wonderfull!!
5/3/07 6:51 AM
alviana said...
beautiful! love the colorful look
12/22/08 2:02 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Folkwear 258
photo
Review by Annika on 6/28/08
Read Review

Burda 9491 Pattern
Burda 9491 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 63953-1000 Judy Jetson
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 10/30/06
Read Review

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us