SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4792 (Vintage 1950s Shrug)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1166 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 318 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/07 3:55 PM
Last Updated:4/30/07 3:55 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
The shrug looks great, even if the fit feels off. Good length on you.
5/8/07 7:38 AM
EastwoodFan said...
Your reviews are always a must read. I like your sense of style and you have a lot of talent. This shrug is really cute!
5/1/07 10:16 PM
nicegirl said...
Thank you for the compliments, everyone. Maybe I am starting to like it more. ;-) I lined it with the cotton to give some body to the lifeless poly brocade. And because it was already in my stash. It's a polished cotton so it slides on and off well.
5/1/07 5:14 PM
ryan's mom said...
Looks great even though you have fitting issues with it. The dress isn't at the top of your list??? Gosh, I'd love to see you make that one up :) !!!
5/1/07 7:37 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Cute shrug.
5/1/07 1:06 AM
Karen6790 said...
It looks cute on you. The lining probably does account for some of the tightness, but you can't see it. We can't love every project - at least this wasn't a complex one with expensive fabric. There, that's my Pollyanna thought for the day.
4/30/07 11:26 PM
Schnauzer said...
A really cute little shrug and it looks so nice on you!
4/30/07 10:17 PM
frame said...
I'm sorry your shrug isn't that comfortable, but it sure does look cute! Do you think it's the dolman sleeves?
4/30/07 10:10 PM
Nancywin said...
Your Jackette is very cute - but I know that if it is not comfortable, you wll probably never wear it. Considering all the cute things you make, I guess 1 "not so great" is not so bad. Why did you choose to use a heavy cotton for the lining instead of something more slippery?
4/30/07 8:58 PM
OP Gal said...
Very cute shrug. Too bad you don't love it. At least you have something you can wear without investing a lot of money to sew it.
4/30/07 8:07 PM
mochalover said...
I agree with Reggie's Mom I too am amazed at how you constantly turn out cute pieces. Where do you get the time? I need to know your secret! Anyway I think the shrug is still a keeper.
4/30/07 8:07 PM
Reggies Mom said...
Sorry you're not so pleased with your shrug, but they all can't be winners. I'm always amazed at how prolific a sewer you are, constantly turning out really cute pieces. Glad you pointed this out because that dress has a really unique neckline....can't wait until you get around to whipping that up. (Oh, your link to the McCall 5045 doesn't work. You've got an extra "htt" at the beginning.)
4/30/07 7:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

More Info
McCall's 6480

photo
by: MayenDesig...

Review

Pattern