SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> HP-104 (Cowl Butterfly Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1207 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 383 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/07 3:17 PM
Last Updated:5/2/07 3:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kathy_AZ said...
I disagree - I think you look lovely in this top. Beautiful job as usual.
5/2/07 2:18 PM
Hilary said...
I like it too! Very pretty.
5/2/07 2:47 PM
MissCelie said...
I totally disagree. I think it looks marvelous.
5/2/07 3:02 PM
STACEYWILSON said...
Great top! Did you make the pants also? If so, what is the pattern #.
5/2/07 3:07 PM
Ann Smith said...
Stacey: I purchased the pants, at Cosco of all places!
5/2/07 3:35 PM
CarolynGM said...
I would love to try this, but if it drapes that much on someone who normally does an FBA, I fear it would hang to the knees on flat-chested me. Actually, I think it looks better on you than you think it does. Maybe the look will grow on you.
5/2/07 3:43 PM
OP Gal said...
I don't think you look a bit frumpy in this top. The fabric is wonderful--such a beautiful color.
5/2/07 5:58 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Another winner, I luv the print too. I will hv to add to pattern stash.
5/2/07 6:05 PM
gabrielle said...
Both tops look lovely on you, and vice versa. It's a very graceful look, not at all matronly. You should be the HP model!
5/2/07 6:32 PM
kim*brown said...
Wonderful!
5/2/07 6:46 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Ann, I think it's the length of the sleeves that are making it look frumpy. I do like the other version much better on you, but this one is certainly not ugly or unwearable!!
5/2/07 7:37 PM
Diane E said...
Ann, this is a lovely top! Great inspiration!
5/2/07 7:38 PM
Karen8320 said...
Ann, you certainly don't look matronly or frumpy in this. I think it looks quite lovely. The drape of the sleeves looks as though they might have some movement in them which I think always adds a bit of femininity to garments. At the end of the day, only you know whether you feel good in something you've made.
5/2/07 8:50 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I think you look lovely too! But if you are not happy then it is probably the busy - ness of the bust, print and the cowl. But in the photos it looks fine. Very pretty!
5/2/07 11:39 PM
Soliel said...
I really think it's Okay. I know I would not be used to big cowl neck...sometimes it just takes getting used to.
5/2/07 11:50 PM
KarmenG said...
Not seeing Frumpy in this one Ann - I like it!
5/3/07 0:32 AM
majnets3s said...
I like it
5/3/07 6:43 AM
marjenann said...
Stunning and sophisticated!!
5/3/07 7:47 AM
Skymom said...
You never look less than wonderful in the garments you sew--I can't imagine anyone EVER thinking you look frumpy! I love this and the cape top.
5/3/07 9:12 AM
carolynw said...
Ann with yur smile the word "frumpy" cannot be applied to you and it definitely does not apply to this top. Nice looking top!
5/3/07 9:29 AM
Jennifer Young said...
Beautiful! Your projects are always inspiring. Thanks for calling our attention to this fun pattern and for your great review.
5/3/07 11:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Butterick 5815

photo
by: Kristine K...

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now